starlet turbo upgrade question

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

starlet turbo upgrade question

Postby Hook » November 10th, 2008, 12:18 pm

iite, a guy here's considering swapping out his ct12 for a t3...methinx Chicken Run has a similar setup but I wanna know more about it...sounds interesting...what'll he need to do something like this? bigger injectors, FPR, SAFC? or full management?

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » November 10th, 2008, 1:40 pm

Hook,if he does, is he selling the ct12?

Thanks

droppa

Postby droppa » November 10th, 2008, 3:20 pm

was talking this wit my cuz yesterday.....

chiken run and i think erica is on T3/T4 and he was saying they using spray to spool, dont take my word for it, but i personally find the T3 turbo too large for the 4E, i will prefer a TD04 for circuit and dex, or a T25 for street and strip.....

my list, T25, E-manage, 2.5" exhaust, 1G-GTE injectors, FMIC, Propper clutch setup, Phantom grip, and water inj..... :roll:

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » November 10th, 2008, 3:37 pm

I have a 1G-GTE to scrap... injectors, CT12's available...

zryfle

Postby zryfle » November 10th, 2008, 8:54 pm

jed t25 t28 is usable late spooling but good on top end .t3 is to large application
because the 4efte is a 1.3 and spooling a t3 is Farly impossible to spool .ct 26 a good application and proper injectors is necessary if using any turbos .good tuning apex i neo or greddy emanage is necessary as well.

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » November 11th, 2008, 8:23 am

~Street Sleeper~ wrote:I have a 1G-GTE to scrap... injectors, CT12's available...

Price... :wink:

droppa

Postby droppa » November 11th, 2008, 10:12 am

t25 spool real late in 4E, better on top, max boost is like 4500rpm

the T3 will be real tears to spool, bottle is needed

Postby AllTrac » November 11th, 2008, 10:19 am

tell him get the td04 from the subaru, he would love it, many 13sec starlets use that turbo, so its proven. The t3 would be a bit laggy, so would the td04, but thats the trade off.

droppa

Postby droppa » November 11th, 2008, 10:26 am

AllTrac wrote:tell him get the td04 from the subaru, he would love it, many 13sec starlets use that turbo, so its proven. The t3 would be a bit laggy, so would the td04, but thats the trade off.

ah feel yuh mean to say the T3 and T25 are laggy horse.....

td04 spools faster, than the T25, but the T25 boost stronger

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » November 12th, 2008, 7:35 pm

CT12 compressor and CHRA modified to fit CT9 turbine housing.
AP Engineering Power FC calibrated live.
Greddy Profec B 2 boost control
Engine Stock 4EFTE with custom made exhaust manifold.
180ps@6400rpm 170lft@5500rpm. @ 1.3bar of boost, 1 bar from 3800rpm

Here it is on the rolls.

There have been cal and hardware updates to this vehicle. So we will visit AmD again to validate the new improvements experienced on the road.

We had a RB26DETT unit on it before and full boost of 1 bar was achieved at 4500rpm felt a bit slowwer too.
TD04 great if you are running a built 5E motor or a 4E built motor with cams as it will spool from 4000rpm to 8000rpm and pass more more air than all metioned above. Will have to have larger injectors as well.
"T3/T4" is too large for this little engine.

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » November 14th, 2008, 3:00 pm

~Street Sleeper~ wrote:I have a 1G-GTE to scrap... injectors, CT12's available...

what size injectors?

zryfle

Postby zryfle » November 15th, 2008, 7:35 am

reddo them 1G gte injector are 315cc injector I have some for the the 5e project ,550cc
willgo in after proper tuning and breaking in of the engine .

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » November 20th, 2008, 8:51 am

question, at my current stock setup, by changing to the CT12 turbo, I would need the 315cc injectors and what other upgrade for the car to run without problems...

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » November 20th, 2008, 11:33 am

Reddo d ct12 is a minor upgrade and does not need bigger injectors.

droppa

Postby droppa » November 20th, 2008, 12:48 pm

Reddo, CT12 @12psi, NGK iridium 7s, FPR and a FMIC and yuh gettin on real bad.... :mrgreen:

new tranny :twisted:

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » November 20th, 2008, 1:36 pm

1. what's FPR and why a new tranny, whats wrong with mine?

2. What would a small intercooler setup cost (no cutting of my front bumper!)

droppa

Postby droppa » November 20th, 2008, 3:07 pm

FPR- Fuel Pressure Regulator (adjustable).......

with the increase in boost and happy feelings, i sure the tranny would not hold out too long :mrgreen:

yuh mite get a used cooler for about $500, and it would depend on the piping u choose, muffler pipe(crush bends) or Alumin piping (mandrel bent) :roll: i cant give cost, u can prolly hail out BCR, he supplies and installs, its costly, but damn neat, or check Imraj bros muffler shop in cross crossing for a pricing :idea:

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » November 20th, 2008, 4:22 pm

I want an intercooler where i dont need to cut my front bumper and it looks like something they have in front of a fork lift.

xtech

Postby xtech » November 20th, 2008, 5:34 pm

i heard auto tranny will fail after 220ps

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » November 20th, 2008, 10:28 pm

ok, that means...

zryfle

well

Postby zryfle » November 21st, 2008, 7:59 am

reddo no problem little cutting of the bumper .The intercooler will fit is piping and hoses u have to worry about the thingcost money if u want it to look and work well. Check out mine this might inspire u

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » November 21st, 2008, 8:31 am

I dont want any cutting! but I think an intercooler could fit comfortably between the rad and the front bumper if done correctly.

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » November 21st, 2008, 8:49 am

Invest in a good tranny cooler and use quality fluids and your tranny will hold up...

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » November 23rd, 2008, 12:02 pm

Reddo u not makin sense u want a FMIC or not ? Is only minor cutting if u use a small intercooler. u must b d only person dat find a FMIC doesnt make a tercel look good. D tranny will last as long as u dont use 1 then 2 then D.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » November 23rd, 2008, 1:48 pm

shinakuma,ur tercel is look reall sweet, real simple and almost sleepish

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » November 24th, 2008, 8:32 am

ok, if the cutting is minor, it is ok. :)

4eterc

Postby 4eterc » November 24th, 2008, 10:07 am

reddo u auto?

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » November 24th, 2008, 12:03 pm

^^^yes

xtech

Postby xtech » November 24th, 2008, 1:29 pm

duh!!