The 4AGE maintainence/mod thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

The 4AGE maintainence/mod thread

Postby eliteauto » November 1st, 2008, 12:16 am

Ok I'm seeing a lil smoke coming out when I rev up top, i'm suspecting that the rings may be going bad, engine is a 4AGE 20V Silvertop doing around 165000 KM.
Has anyone ever changed their rings and where were they sourced, wanna get an average of what this will cost me in terms of cash and downtime
Last edited by eliteauto on February 13th, 2009, 10:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » November 1st, 2008, 8:45 am

Hmmm..... I was watchin the smoke at dex and was wondering if your valve seals were bad.

Ralph is going to Barbados at the end of November he should be able to pick them up from Nasco.

Other than that order from Toyota here and wait ah 4-6 weeks.

sadique

Postby sadique » November 1st, 2008, 9:37 am

padna u dont hav to wait dat long... u cud get rings in any parts place..im tlkin about RIK-rings..STD 4AFE normally for d AE101...iv tried it & it works..it costs bout $350.-$400!

Postby eliteauto » November 2nd, 2008, 7:28 pm

sadique, I'll look into that, thanks

sadique

Postby sadique » November 2nd, 2008, 7:51 pm

0X :oops: :oops:

rolling_hard

Postby rolling_hard » November 4th, 2008, 2:46 pm

sadique, where exactly u getting those ring i need a set

Postby Dave » November 4th, 2008, 5:36 pm

most of the times its the valve seals and if oil loss is non-existent then valve seals could be the culprit

yes i also know someone who used 4afe rings on the 4age and the RIK brand is a Japanese one and works very well

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » November 4th, 2008, 6:08 pm

from my recent experience if u get smoke while reving hard or when u start could be valve seals, if u get smoke constantly while driving it will be rings.....downtime could be a couple days, depends on mechanic! check gobins or a1 auto supplies for the parts.

turboturtle

Postby turboturtle » November 5th, 2008, 3:53 pm

padna u dont hav to wait dat long... u cud get rings in any parts place..im tlkin about RIK-rings..STD 4AFE normally for d AE101...iv tried it & it works..it costs bout $350.-$400!

Would this work for the 4age black top as well?
Last edited by turboturtle on November 6th, 2008, 12:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » November 6th, 2008, 11:16 am

as this thread is up maybe I could expand my database, so next question
Outside of Toyota has anyone sourced the valve seals for the 20V?

TRD_FACTORY

Postby TRD_FACTORY » November 6th, 2008, 12:25 pm

I have a new set of forged pistons with rings for the 16v 4age 8.9cr. Not sure if it will work on the 20v?

Postby eliteauto » November 6th, 2008, 4:33 pm

doubtful the cr on a 20V is 10. and 11.0

Postby eliteauto » November 10th, 2008, 10:11 am

corollalover101 wrote:as this thread is up maybe I could expand my database, so next question
Outside of Toyota has anyone sourced the valve seals for the 20V?

Postby eliteauto » November 17th, 2008, 12:50 pm

Right so I'll be changing the valve seals, rings, head gasket and grinding the valves. Hopefully I'll get another 16 years out the engine :fadein:

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » November 17th, 2008, 8:26 pm

What bout bearings, timing belt, water pump?

Postby eliteauto » November 17th, 2008, 11:09 pm

timing belt, cam seals, front seals, thermostat were changed already, might change water pump , doubtful about bearings, some items a bit difficult to source

Anton

Postby Anton » November 18th, 2008, 8:02 am

The water pump change is a good addition to your already stellar list.

Postby eliteauto » November 18th, 2008, 8:40 am

thanks 33 hertz, and Anton, this is the purpose of the thread to allow for brainstorming and for those who've gone before to share their experience, I know that for my other 'rollas I get water pumps outside, is any pump from the more popular engines compatible with the 4AGE?

I've also decided to swap the stock fuel pump with one from the Supra Turbo, it's a straight drop in and I'll add an HKS FCD, to eliminate fuel cut, the car is by no means intended to be a speed demon, just a reliable daily driver with all creature comforts and it's still automatic :)

dmitc

Postby dmitc » November 18th, 2008, 9:01 am

corollalover101 wrote:thanks 33 hertz, and Anton, this is the purpose of the thread to allow for brainstorming and for those who've gone before to share their experience, I know that for my other 'rollas I get water pumps outside, is any pump from the more popular engines compatible with the 4AGE?

I've also decided to swap the stock fuel pump with one from the Supra Turbo, it's a straight drop in and I'll add an HKS FCD, to eliminate fuel cut, the car is by no means intended to be a speed demon, just a reliable daily driver with all creature comforts and it's still automatic :)

Let me know how this workes, I am considering going this route

Anton

Postby Anton » November 18th, 2008, 11:40 am

the pump for the 20v is readily available. I had gotton mines at Gobin's in St Augustine. The 16 v pump will line up, but the impellar, gasket and pulley is different.

turboturtle

Postby turboturtle » November 18th, 2008, 12:04 pm

I really need to get the piston ring set for the 4age black top engine. Toyota has it for 1200TT but will have to wait 3 weeks.

Has anyone ever rebuitl there Blacktop

Pls Help

Postby Hook » November 18th, 2008, 12:29 pm

group buy on the FCD?

AE92 hatch

Postby AE92 hatch » November 22nd, 2008, 1:42 am

hav a set of new rings available....pm me if interested.

Bigmanbandy

Postby Bigmanbandy » January 6th, 2009, 1:17 am

Timing belt $110 in south, Princess Town Auto. And the quality looks good too. A place in P'town have st belt for $75.

Bigmanbandy

Postby Bigmanbandy » January 9th, 2009, 9:29 am

Simmons have rebuilt many of them. He is known as a Toyota guru. Even the DK of Trinidad Kerry Phillip relies on his guidance. He is based in St. James.

Postby eliteauto » January 9th, 2009, 10:15 am

^^any contact# or directions?

Postby eliteauto » January 28th, 2009, 3:00 pm

ok I've gotten my head gasket, valve seals ( 12 intake, 8 exhaust) brake master cylinder rubber kit, gonna change em on Monday :fadein:

Postby eliteauto » February 13th, 2009, 10:25 am

Has anyone ever been able to stop the "tap tap" lifter noises of the 20V? I was told it may be the buckets but it seems almost every 20V I hear makes that noise ( what we call noisy tappets). Heard there are mechs who have successfully quieted down the noise.. Anyone?

rolling_hard

Postby rolling_hard » February 13th, 2009, 10:30 am

turboturtle wrote:I really need to get the piston ring set for the 4age black top engine. Toyota has it for 1200TT but will have to wait 3 weeks.

Pls Help

is it to late to answer this.................but i build over mine jus a few weeks ago ne thing i can help u with

turboturtle

Postby turboturtle » February 13th, 2009, 10:42 am

rolling_hard wrote:
turboturtle wrote:I really need to get the piston ring set for the 4age black top engine. Toyota has it for 1200TT but will have to wait 3 weeks.

Pls Help

is it to late to answer this.................but i build over mine jus a few weeks ago ne thing i can help u with

Not to late... I'm about to finish gathering the parts but still :

Did you change your bearings...?price place
Did you change timing belt? price place
Did you rebore your block ?
How long does it take to break in if you re-bored?

Thanks

Return to “TOYOTA”