a/f ratio connection

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

muddgutts

a/f ratio connection

Postby muddgutts » October 2nd, 2008, 4:10 pm

tuners jus wanted to know which oxygen sensor is the best to use for the most efficient reading the upstream or the downstream

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2008, 4:25 pm

please explain what you mean by upstream and downstream?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » October 2nd, 2008, 5:26 pm

what kinda engine also?

reddo_tuner

Re: a/f ratio connection

Postby reddo_tuner » October 2nd, 2008, 9:52 pm

muddgutts wrote:tuners jus wanted to know which oxygen sensor is the best to use for the most efficient reading the upstream or the downstream

I have this same gauge to hook up...what you guys have to say. well fellas, allyuh know I have the 4e-fte.

Postby gt4tified » October 2nd, 2008, 10:04 pm

Upstream or downstream? Yuh feel is ah salmon sensor or what? :lol:

For replacing the stock sensor, replace only with OEM. If for a wideband, the Bosch works fine and is pretty affordable - around 600.00.

droppa

Postby droppa » October 3rd, 2008, 7:29 am

nah wah the fella trying to ask is which 02 sensor is better to use for the air/fuel guage in the 4e-fte :roll:

mine still eh wukking, i not sure if is the guage or the sensor, but most ppl tap off the top one, or they use the white wire from the ecu..... :evil:

muddgutts

Postby muddgutts » October 3rd, 2008, 7:58 am

sorry for not explaining properly i am trying to install an a\f guage autometer. i would like to know which one of the oxygen sensors to tap off from the upper or lower? btw 4e-fte engine

Postby gt4tified » October 3rd, 2008, 5:52 pm

I would say if its not a wideband, sell it and don't waste your time. Do some research on wideband afr readers and invest in one....here read this:
www.scienceofspeedtt.com/wideband.html

Altezza576

Postby Altezza576 » October 7th, 2008, 8:35 pm

Upstream sensor is the one you want to use for A/F's.

downstream sensor is located after the catalytic converter and it just compares the difference in reading between the upstream reading and the reading after gases pass thru the cat.

Down stream is just used for cat conv functionality checking (in most cases)

use upstream for tuning.

muddgutts

Postby muddgutts » October 8th, 2008, 6:20 am

Altezza576 wrote:Upstream sensor is the one you want to use for A/F's.

downstream sensor is located after the catalytic converter and it just compares the difference in reading between the upstream reading and the reading after gases pass thru the cat.

Down stream is just used for cat conv functionality checking (in most cases)

use upstream for tuning.
thanx man, I was able to get my hands on a wideband so I will be installing this instead. Did some research though and it was stated that the bosch sensor gives problems after a while (AEM)

Postby gt4tified » October 9th, 2008, 10:54 pm

Well you can shell out twice as much to buy the NTK sensor.

4eterc

Postby 4eterc » October 9th, 2008, 11:18 pm

good info

Return to “TOYOTA”