Super gas in 3zz 1.6 Corolla engine
Posted: September 22nd, 2008, 11:08 pm
by maZdaspeed6
So has anyone tried super gas in a 1.6 3zz fe corolla engine? Is this advisable or will it clog injectors & fuel pump etc.
Discuss...
Posted: September 23rd, 2008, 12:23 am
by Zeriam
might not clog, just make ur engine ping like mad if it happens try an octane booster till u burn it off
Posted: September 23rd, 2008, 12:39 am
by buzz
the bugdet did not hit THAT hard man
use premium as normal sheesh
Posted: September 24th, 2008, 4:49 pm
by Civic Dude
i used super on my NZE a day from work cuz i couldnt get premium at a gas station. it worked like normal man.. is no biggie.. prolly a very slight power loss and i prolly got very slight less milage to the tank.. but nothing significant
Posted: September 25th, 2008, 10:03 am
by dmitc
Civic Dude wrote:i used super on my NZE a day from work cuz i couldnt get premium at a gas station. it worked like normal man.. is no biggie.. prolly a very slight power loss and i prolly got very slight less milage to the tank.. but nothing significant
i have a bredren who runs his NZE1.5 strickly on super says that he does a gas treatment every time he does an oil change and he has no problems with injecters/power or anyother thing
Posted: September 26th, 2008, 4:16 pm
by maZdaspeed6
okay ...will test it.....

Posted: September 26th, 2008, 7:30 pm
by ztune
1.6 3zz fe...altis?
Posted: October 13th, 2008, 10:05 pm
by maZdaspeed6
So...super works fine just a Very slight decrease in acceleration (hardly noticable)
With $100 u get 37 L & between 400 to 500 kms with AC on & in & out of traffic.
Posted: May 23rd, 2009, 12:27 pm
by toy_cor_1
i have a 3zz-fe engine and let me tell you a lot of people are saying: use premium cause you get pinging when you use super, man that's horse____#$. I use super, no problems, no pinging whatsoever. the owners manual says to use gasoline with a octane level of 91 or higher. so i use super duper, i let the airheads use premium cause it doesn't make their engine perform better it just makes the owner feel better.
Posted: May 24th, 2009, 5:43 am
by neoise
I use it all the time on my 3zzfe- no problem ....... the 1NZFE must use premium cuz its a higher compression engine
Posted: May 24th, 2009, 7:03 am
by ztune
The car works perfectly with the super.
Posted: May 24th, 2009, 8:46 am
by neoise
crazy_ztune wrote:The car works perfectly with the super.
The 1nzfe? 1.5 engine?
Posted: May 30th, 2009, 7:49 am
by ronniesingh12
now with all that explanation tell me what happens to our catalytic converter in the NZE because its a three stage converter some time down the road your engine exhaust going to clog. please confirm
Posted: May 30th, 2009, 5:49 pm
by toyotajumbie
Doh worry bout dat now, when we reach dat bridge we go jump off.
Posted: May 31st, 2009, 4:44 am
by ztune
neoise wrote:crazy_ztune wrote:The car works perfectly with the super.
The 1nzfe? 1.5 engine?
No, the 3zz 1.6, Altis
Posted: May 31st, 2009, 5:18 pm
by neoise
Go figure - apparently the 3zzfe was designed to work in places with poor quality gas (low octane and higher sulfur ).
Posted: May 31st, 2009, 6:50 pm
by trdboy
ronniesingh12 wrote:now with all that explanation tell me what happens to our catalytic converter in the NZE because its a three stage converter some time down the road your engine exhaust going to clog. please confirm
well when u running on a lower than recommended ron gasoline ur ecu retards ur timing to prevent detonation as a result it dumps more gas, so u will be running a lil rich now........the rest i will copy and paste from a previous thread
Rich air-fuel ratios cause less than 100% of the fuel to be burned, increasing hydrocarbon emissions (unburned gasoline) and reducing heat. Excessive fuel may wash away some lubricating oil, causing scoring damage to the combustion cylinders. It may cause fuel to burn in the exhaust manifold, raising exhaust temperatures and damaging catalytic converters
Posted: June 6th, 2009, 10:15 pm
by M-Tech
Orr so that is what causes the pops of fire coming through my exhaust now and then with Super.. With premium the exhaust note is different too.. But for a stock daily driver with all the catalytic converter etc, you'd "almost" never even know the difference.
There are engines from Singapore that are designed to be used with lower octane unleaded fuel. For example my 318i, so it's safe to run on cheap super. If your 3ZZ-FE is then don't waste money on premium.
If your JDM engine was designed for 100RON fuel then you decide, it's car.
By the way when an octane boost treatment claims that it raises your octane by 3 points, it does not mean 91RON +3= 94RON it means 91RON + .3= 91.3RON

Waste of money just put the money in gas and drive then professionally clean your injectors based on your driving distance.
Posted: June 8th, 2009, 9:49 am
by drdroutermaster
The manual recommends 91 octane for 3zz-fe and 90 octane for 1zz-fe. Using premium is a waste of money fore these engines.
The gas id filtered at the pump and in your tank, it has no lead, just a red dye to distingush from Premium gas (RON 95).
Enjoy super, and save money.
Re: Super gas in 3zz 1.6 Corolla engine
Posted: March 18th, 2011, 10:59 pm
by Silvafoxx
I have 2 Altis and both manuals state
3zz-fe use 95 RON
1zz-fe uses 91 RON
for Vehicles sold in Thai
Outside Thai
91 RON
Posted: March 22nd, 2011, 3:56 pm
by Scoop
using super in an altis over a year now....no probles
I get about 450km per $110 super
Posted: March 25th, 2011, 8:03 pm
by Toyopet
what about mixing? Fill with premium one day then super the next. What disadvantage is there to that?