Super gas in 3zz 1.6 Corolla engine

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

maZdaspeed6

Super gas in 3zz 1.6 Corolla engine

Postby maZdaspeed6 » September 22nd, 2008, 11:08 pm

So has anyone tried super gas in a 1.6 3zz fe corolla engine? Is this advisable or will it clog injectors & fuel pump etc.
Discuss...
Last edited by maZdaspeed6 on October 13th, 2008, 9:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » September 23rd, 2008, 12:23 am

might not clog, just make ur engine ping like mad if it happens try an octane booster till u burn it off

Postby buzz » September 23rd, 2008, 12:39 am

the bugdet did not hit THAT hard man

use premium as normal sheesh

Civic Dude

Postby Civic Dude » September 24th, 2008, 4:49 pm

i used super on my NZE a day from work cuz i couldnt get premium at a gas station. it worked like normal man.. is no biggie.. prolly a very slight power loss and i prolly got very slight less milage to the tank.. but nothing significant

dmitc

Postby dmitc » September 25th, 2008, 10:03 am

Civic Dude wrote:i used super on my NZE a day from work cuz i couldnt get premium at a gas station. it worked like normal man.. is no biggie.. prolly a very slight power loss and i prolly got very slight less milage to the tank.. but nothing significant

i have a bredren who runs his NZE1.5 strickly on super says that he does a gas treatment every time he does an oil change and he has no problems with injecters/power or anyother thing

maZdaspeed6

Postby maZdaspeed6 » September 26th, 2008, 4:16 pm

okay ...will test it..... 0X

ztune

Postby ztune » September 26th, 2008, 7:30 pm

1.6 3zz fe...altis?

maZdaspeed6

Postby maZdaspeed6 » October 13th, 2008, 10:05 pm

So...super works fine just a Very slight decrease in acceleration (hardly noticable)
With $100 u get 37 L & between 400 to 500 kms with AC on & in & out of traffic.

toy_cor_1

Postby toy_cor_1 » May 23rd, 2009, 12:27 pm

i have a 3zz-fe engine and let me tell you a lot of people are saying: use premium cause you get pinging when you use super, man that's horse____#$. I use super, no problems, no pinging whatsoever. the owners manual says to use gasoline with a octane level of 91 or higher. so i use super duper, i let the airheads use premium cause it doesn't make their engine perform better it just makes the owner feel better.

neoise

Postby neoise » May 24th, 2009, 5:43 am

I use it all the time on my 3zzfe- no problem ....... the 1NZFE must use premium cuz its a higher compression engine
Last edited by neoise on June 7th, 2009, 9:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

ztune

Postby ztune » May 24th, 2009, 7:03 am

The car works perfectly with the super.

neoise

Postby neoise » May 24th, 2009, 8:46 am

crazy_ztune wrote:The car works perfectly with the super.

The 1nzfe? 1.5 engine?

ronniesingh12

Postby ronniesingh12 » May 30th, 2009, 7:49 am

now with all that explanation tell me what happens to our catalytic converter in the NZE because its a three stage converter some time down the road your engine exhaust going to clog. please confirm

toyotajumbie
Location: GOD without man is still GOD but man without GOD is nothing

Postby toyotajumbie » May 30th, 2009, 5:49 pm

Doh worry bout dat now, when we reach dat bridge we go jump off.

ztune

Postby ztune » May 31st, 2009, 4:44 am

neoise wrote:
crazy_ztune wrote:The car works perfectly with the super.

The 1nzfe? 1.5 engine?

No, the 3zz 1.6, Altis

neoise

Postby neoise » May 31st, 2009, 5:18 pm

Go figure - apparently the 3zzfe was designed to work in places with poor quality gas (low octane and higher sulfur ).

trdboy

Postby trdboy » May 31st, 2009, 6:50 pm

ronniesingh12 wrote:now with all that explanation tell me what happens to our catalytic converter in the NZE because its a three stage converter some time down the road your engine exhaust going to clog. please confirm

well when u running on a lower than recommended ron gasoline ur ecu retards ur timing to prevent detonation as a result it dumps more gas, so u will be running a lil rich now........the rest i will copy and paste from a previous thread

Rich air-fuel ratios cause less than 100% of the fuel to be burned, increasing hydrocarbon emissions (unburned gasoline) and reducing heat. Excessive fuel may wash away some lubricating oil, causing scoring damage to the combustion cylinders. It may cause fuel to burn in the exhaust manifold, raising exhaust temperatures and damaging catalytic converters

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » June 6th, 2009, 10:15 pm

Orr so that is what causes the pops of fire coming through my exhaust now and then with Super.. With premium the exhaust note is different too.. But for a stock daily driver with all the catalytic converter etc, you'd "almost" never even know the difference.

There are engines from Singapore that are designed to be used with lower octane unleaded fuel. For example my 318i, so it's safe to run on cheap super. If your 3ZZ-FE is then don't waste money on premium.
If your JDM engine was designed for 100RON fuel then you decide, it's car.

By the way when an octane boost treatment claims that it raises your octane by 3 points, it does not mean 91RON +3= 94RON it means 91RON + .3= 91.3RON :roll: Waste of money just put the money in gas and drive then professionally clean your injectors based on your driving distance.

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » June 8th, 2009, 9:49 am

The manual recommends 91 octane for 3zz-fe and 90 octane for 1zz-fe. Using premium is a waste of money fore these engines.

The gas id filtered at the pump and in your tank, it has no lead, just a red dye to distingush from Premium gas (RON 95).

Enjoy super, and save money.

Silvafoxx

Re: Super gas in 3zz 1.6 Corolla engine

Postby Silvafoxx » March 18th, 2011, 10:59 pm

I have 2 Altis and both manuals state

3zz-fe use 95 RON
1zz-fe uses 91 RON
for Vehicles sold in Thai

Outside Thai
91 RON

Scoop

Postby Scoop » March 22nd, 2011, 3:56 pm

using super in an altis over a year now....no probles
I get about 450km per $110 super

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » March 25th, 2011, 8:03 pm

what about mixing? Fill with premium one day then super the next. What disadvantage is there to that?

Return to “TOYOTA”