Toyota Double Piston Brake??

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

droppa

Toyota Double Piston Brake??

Postby droppa » September 15th, 2008, 11:46 am

recently i went to see a 101 and the car had on some sweet double piston calipers and nicely sized rotors, with a 20V. :twisted:

what id like to know is what vehicle this came from, i have altezza calpiers and rotors at home, they are double pistons, but not the same as the ones on the 101..... :roll:

anyone know where i can get a set complete with spindles to buy and what price..... :?:

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » September 15th, 2008, 1:06 pm

Caldina gt might have to switch to 16 or bigger. i know of 1 ae80 that had it installed and the 15's didnt work.

Postby eliteauto » September 15th, 2008, 1:54 pm

you get double piston brakes on the AE101 Levin/Trueno GTZ model that is the ones that came with the 4AGZE supercharged engine, also on some of those with the superstrut suspension

zryfle

aye

Postby zryfle » September 15th, 2008, 2:27 pm

well I am upgrading to st 185 celica front dic breaks .I have drill the rota dic for four whole .But the caliper bolting on I tried it and it fit .It is d upgreade for d 5efte project .

Since it can hold back a s185 celica with an 3s gte it go stop the 5e fte real good .

corolladude

Postby corolladude » September 16th, 2008, 12:50 am

i got Caldina gt double piston calipers and rotors on my AE80, small mods on the rota to fit and 15's did work. Z! :wink:

toyotajumbie
Location: GOD without man is still GOD but man without GOD is nothing

Postby toyotajumbie » September 16th, 2008, 6:04 am

corolladude wrote:i got Caldina gt double piston calipers and rotors on my AE80, small mods on the rota to fit and 15's did work. Z! :wink:
Where exactly did you get those,that is a mod for my AE80 I would willingly spend time and money to obtain.

droppa

Postby droppa » September 16th, 2008, 11:48 am

well its to fit the AE80 self.... :mrgreen:

where and what price pal........ :?:

rifle yuh have this, what price......and will my same CV work.... :roll:

corolladude

Postby corolladude » September 16th, 2008, 12:37 pm

toyotajumbie, droppa,,,,,i guess u just got to look for "Caldina double piston " brake set up, the calipers will bolt up exact, then u have to cut off 1/4 inch from circumference of the rotas, flex line bolt up exact too. an yuh on like goat balls! lol

heshere2001

Postby heshere2001 » September 16th, 2008, 9:59 pm

Wait.wait.wait....

It have Caldina GT Parts in Trinidad?? :shock: :shock:

So if I wanted Axel, Engine, Tranny, dash etc for a 4wd conversion, it possible??

droppa

Postby droppa » September 17th, 2008, 3:13 pm

yup yuh may be able to find it :roll:

outrider

Postby outrider » September 17th, 2008, 8:26 pm

you get double piston brakes on the AE101 Levin/Trueno GTZ model that is the ones that came with the 4AGZE supercharged engine, also on some of those with the superstrut suspension

lookin fuh dis to install in meh dx wagon..........so if anyone has it fuh sale pm please....thanx brothers.......

droppa

Postby droppa » September 18th, 2008, 12:12 pm

the Ae111 suppose to work up bolt for bolt too, but i dont think that is double piston... :roll:

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » September 18th, 2008, 12:14 pm

it have 2 kinds of ae111 brakes a big 1 and smaller 1

outrider

Postby outrider » September 18th, 2008, 4:30 pm

zeriam i tink i was behind yuh in macbean about 11:30 so........d car runnin nice brother.......

Postby gt4tified » September 18th, 2008, 8:53 pm

Guys, my brakes from the ST185 will be for sale soon....taking offers. I have mintex pads on all four like 5 months ago.

heshere2001

Postby heshere2001 » September 18th, 2008, 9:55 pm

^^How are the Mintex pads? I'm considering trying them out. What are your impressions of them?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » September 18th, 2008, 11:25 pm

outrider,yeah sounds about the time i woke up to take a trek by D&D looking for shocks.u had a white dx wagon double barrel exhaust?

Postby gt4tified » September 19th, 2008, 12:51 am

heshere2001 wrote:^^How are the Mintex pads? I'm considering trying them out. What are your impressions of them?

Quite good actually. A lot of dust during the break-in period, but most good pads are like that anyway. The break-in layer is severe on rotors though so make sure that they are over the specification for minimum thickness by at least 3mm. You should also have the rotors turned by a good machine shop prior to installing.

As for performance, they hold good when cold and even better when hot, but the aggresiveness bite almost never changes...very smoothe action, that is, it doesn't clamp over-aggressively when hot, but it provides the stopping power when needed.

Just this evening I had to hit a hard brake on the intersection by Grand Bazaar as the idiot in a civic in front of me started accelerating onto the vehicle in front of him as he was bending the corner. Obviously I started accelerating too, but the cars in front of both of us came to a dead stop. I actully chirped tyres in stopping but it did the job!!!

outrider

Postby outrider » September 19th, 2008, 10:27 am

outrider,yeah sounds about the time i woke up to take a trek by D&D looking for shocks.u had a white dx wagon double barrel exhaust?

yea man dais me.......yuh really pull in by D&D.......we go drink ah beer nex time....lol.......I must admit .......d car impress meh.......ting shootin fast....wen yuh was ova takin .........

heshere2001

Postby heshere2001 » September 19th, 2008, 9:13 pm

gt4tified wrote:
heshere2001 wrote:^^How are the Mintex pads? I'm considering trying them out. What are your impressions of them?

Quite good actually. A lot of dust during the break-in period, but most good pads are like that anyway. The break-in layer is severe on rotors though so make sure that they are over the specification for minimum thickness by at least 3mm. You should also have the rotors turned by a good machine shop prior to installing.

This worries me.... So not recommended unless my rotors in good condition?

corolladude

Postby corolladude » September 20th, 2008, 1:45 am

Caldina double piston brake set up on my AE80....

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » September 20th, 2008, 1:48 am

so that is wut yuh was doing today

Postby gt4tified » September 21st, 2008, 1:23 am

Oh yeah corolladude.....dat is de shizznit rite dere!!!

corolladude

Postby corolladude » September 22nd, 2008, 12:43 pm

OH yeh! it is! :mrgreen:

droppa

Postby droppa » September 22nd, 2008, 1:04 pm

ralph wat yuh looing for $$ the brakes :?:

Postby gt4tified » September 25th, 2008, 2:08 am

Asking $1000.00 (slightly neg. if yuh serious) for de front. 10.5" rotors with dual piston calipers and vgc Mintex pads on them. Will be available by next weekend. :mrgreen:

outrider

Postby outrider » September 25th, 2008, 4:22 pm

^^^^2 questions bro...
1. are these d same size as d AE101 Levin/Trueno GTZ ? and.....
2. will it work up on meh dx wagon?

thanx fuh yuh patience brother....

Postby gt4tified » September 25th, 2008, 8:09 pm

outrider, jed...

1. I have no idea; and
2. I still have no idea, but they are 5x100 hubs so you might have to do a conversion or re-drill to suit.

But tell you what, I should have them off the car so if for the next TEC meeting you can make it, I'll bring them along and you can see for yourself.

droppa

Postby droppa » September 26th, 2008, 10:16 am

shoot 5-hole jed, yuh swapping out the complete spindles, or jus disc and caliper?

Postby gt4tified » September 26th, 2008, 6:19 pm

Complete spindles. And both wheel bearings were changed within the last year with OEM NSK bearings (same as AE80 corolla).

Return to “TOYOTA”