Toyota Double Piston Brake??

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Re:

Postby black start » October 10th, 2011, 4:41 pm

corolladude wrote:Caldina double piston brake set up on my AE80....

i know it very very old but still wanted some help from the more knowledgable tuners, hook has already help and pointed me in the right direction.....

above i see u have a twin piston setup. but isnt the caldina stup 5 hole?i have a caldina setup that is 5hole twin piston and trying to figure out what it can work on namely my cousin's ae92 liftback....any help would be greatly appreciated....

droppa

Re: Toyota Double Piston Brake??

Postby droppa » October 13th, 2011, 1:51 pm

making mih remember wen ah had the rolla here boi....

hook is a very knowledgeable tuner, take his advice and run........

once the CV for the 92 and for the Caldina are compatible then u good, jus re-drill the rotors....

Postby black start » October 14th, 2011, 10:13 pm

Cv? I dunno war this abbreviation is for.....please explain.....thanks

droppa

Postby droppa » October 14th, 2011, 11:09 pm

seriously, you are how old? do u know wat size a 12 spanner is?

lol, jk boi...

CV cud mean all kinda ting, but in this forum, it would be in reference to the Constant Velocity joint

so wat i was saying is, once the joint for the 92 and Caldi have the same splineage, the Cal spindle would bolt up on the 92s suspension, and all you would have to do is re-drill to 4 hole...

Postby black start » October 15th, 2011, 6:10 pm

^oh goar if u had said cv joint I would have understand buh u jus say cv and didnt reali think that there was a relatioonship between d cv size and caliper bolting patterns.....lol small thing....so u say once the spline on the rolla joint and the spline on the caldina joint is the same, the caldina setup would be able to work on d corolla...will check it out and see....will try to post some pics as well...thanks again

droppa

Postby droppa » October 15th, 2011, 6:37 pm

cool scene hope u get tru with dat.....

im doing a similar up grade on my pops Y10, using N16 spindles, A31 Turbo caliper and rotors, have 8-hole rims so the 114 spacing is not a prob, jus hadda confirm the spline is same, machine rotors and new wheel bearing and up dyna.....

Postby black start » October 15th, 2011, 7:09 pm

droppa wrote:cool scene hope u get tru with dat.....

im doing a similar up grade on my pops Y10, using N16 spindles, A31 Turbo caliper and rotors, have 8-hole rims so the 114 spacing is not a prob, jus hadda confirm the spline is same, machine rotors and new wheel bearing and up dyna.....

Okok cool but isn't the y10 4x100 and d n16 4x114?

Postby black start » October 15th, 2011, 7:12 pm

Oh I now see the bit about the rims? Why didn't you jus use the y11 ad spindles and redrill the a31 rotors to 4x100 and it you have bolted
Up original?

droppa

Postby droppa » October 15th, 2011, 9:22 pm

got dem at deal price, $free.99

Postby black start » October 17th, 2011, 7:38 pm

^well yuh realli cyar beat dah price....lol....thanks for the help...

Pinkcorolla

Postby Pinkcorolla » March 3rd, 2013, 8:32 pm

Where sells brakes pads for this? And does anyone have extra or any at all brakes pads pins? I'm referring to the lil chrome pins that keeps the pads in place as well add causes the sound when the pad gets too low...

Postby gt4tified » March 5th, 2013, 1:22 am

Pinkcorolla wrote:Where sells brakes pads for this? And does anyone have extra or any at all brakes pads pins? I'm referring to the lil chrome pins that keeps the pads in place as well add causes the sound when the pad gets too low...

Trinidad Brakes and Clutch has pads for almost all vehicles, esp Jap. They carry OHK and Mintex. Best bet is to check a scrap yard for the brake caliper shims.

I was reflecting after re-reading this thread and came to the conclusion that toyota really was spinning top in mud when it came to performance line of vehicles.

Take for example the Celica/Caldina line... the brake calipers for one. They (Toyota) went from twin pot (ST165 and early ST185), to single pot(late model ST185), to four pot(ST205) back to twin pot (ST215/ST246).

sigh

seecarr11

Postby seecarr11 » March 7th, 2013, 8:17 pm

^^not necessarly. it could be that the toyota engineers were able to generate the same or improved clamping force with the later designs, while bringing the production costs down....

but then again, who knows what toyota is thinking sometimes. i mean why when you have one of the greatest engines ever made, you decide to stop making inline6 engines, cause of productions costs :roll: :? they coulda just improve the fuel economy and tech or something with the next gen :(

just sayin'

Postby black start » March 7th, 2013, 8:31 pm

^what straight six is that good sir?

Postby Hook » March 8th, 2013, 10:00 am

black start wrote:^what straight six is that good sir?

Postby gt4tified » March 8th, 2013, 2:34 pm

^^cyah get straighter than that homie!

Postby black start » March 9th, 2013, 11:51 pm

Hook wrote:
black start wrote:^what straight six is that good sir?

i remember when tis pics was popular.....

then joos facktree come out with the 2j in the tercel...

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » November 18th, 2022, 10:54 pm

Looking for a cable type hand brake caliper for a modification,anybody has this? Could I use 1 caliper for handbrakes or do I have to use the pair?

Return to “TOYOTA”