WTK: engine upgrade
Posted: September 1st, 2008, 11:37 am
by kidlex
yeah toyo men in the next couple months i will be opting for a faster engine and need some opinions or experiences with the choices i have proposed here and I am also still doing research while posting this, and which would be best to build on: any help would be appreciated.
Expected future gains 200-250hp
Application: EE90 rolla
a. 4efte
(with 5e head and block- wha would be the hp gain of this convert)
b. 20v silvertop, 20v blacktop
(maybe put the 7a head & block on it/ or turbo it)
c. 3sge
Posted: September 1st, 2008, 5:16 pm
by dutyspeed
i say c,put the 3s
Posted: September 1st, 2008, 6:26 pm
by QG
dutyspeed wrote:i say c,put the 3s
I second it*

Posted: September 1st, 2008, 7:48 pm
by outrider
will dat fit up?
Posted: September 1st, 2008, 7:53 pm
by FullStop
3sgte or a 2zzge, or a boosted silvertop wit a blacktop head...
Posted: September 1st, 2008, 9:27 pm
by Zeriam
kidlex,3sgte and build from there u'll quickly hit your 250hp
Posted: September 2nd, 2008, 12:23 am
by dutyspeed
actually u'll pass the 250 hp
Posted: September 2nd, 2008, 7:27 am
by toyotajumbie
3SGTE is ah good engine to begin your project with,you WILL NOT regret spending the money, dat will turn that EE90 into a small plane.
Posted: September 2nd, 2008, 9:08 am
by Anton
A more economical swap with less headache would be building a custom 4agte using any generation 4agze as the base. Throw away the sc and you can buy an aftermarket turbo manifold with a quality turbo. Upgraded intercooling and exhaust and you good to go up to 15psi with the stock ecu and injectors. When you feel the need for more power you can switch to external management and better fueling. There is also TONNES of support from the aftermarket and online forums for this sort of project.
Posted: September 2nd, 2008, 9:25 pm
by kidlex
3sgte was the first choice but funds didnt accommodate for that, sweet engine though
Anton that sounding good, but isnt 4agze hard to find
Posted: September 2nd, 2008, 9:29 pm
by Zeriam
kidlex it can be found if u really want 1. let me know by tonight and tomorrow i'll see what i can find out
Posted: September 3rd, 2008, 5:56 am
by Sully
You'll have a lot more parts to hunt down if you're going with the 3S option and will definately have to move / build mounts. The 4AGE / 4EFTE is an easier swap but doesn't have the same potential as the 3S.
If you are going for a 3S, get the 3SGTE if you can. It opens up a lot more options.
There are a few EE90 cars on the road with the conversion.
Posted: September 3rd, 2008, 10:06 am
by tte
I agree wid anton. If its 200-250 u looking for u might as well start of with a platform that will be able to handle it. The 7a and the 4e/5e will not take a big set of boost unless u build it from the bottom up. The silver top 20v is the better to boost as the internals are a bit stronger than the black top who's internals were lightened. But not to stray the original toppic i agree wid anton the 4agze 16v small port is pretty bullet proof so you can turbo it and surely make yah 250. If you also want you can stay supercharged it starts at 170 hp and is easily tuned with the upgraded aftermarket supercharger pulley to 190.

might be cost effective. Just remember brakes and suspension we doh want u to end up in a lamp post. blesssss.

Posted: September 3rd, 2008, 11:17 am
by Anton
Be warned, supercharged boost is addictive. Boost from off idle to redline. With the torque delivery you feel like you driving a na large displacement engine.
Posted: September 3rd, 2008, 7:40 pm
by kidlex
tte boy get a set of rear disk there put down, also have my front sway bar to put on as well yet to get a strut brace though but i will work on that piece by piece she will come together.
Anton do temp the mind dey day dreaming is a bad thing
by the way do u all know any one who boosted the 4agze leaving the super charger

Posted: September 3rd, 2008, 7:41 pm
by kidlex
Zeriam u got d pm dredd
Posted: September 3rd, 2008, 9:10 pm
by cars
a ported 3s with cams can meet your target. Turbocharged, even easier. No replacement for displacement
Posted: September 4th, 2008, 8:10 am
by tte
there was a twin charger kit by HKS that had a clutch that would switch the supercharger off at 4000 rpm onto an already fully spooled t28 turbo which would then take u up to 8500. It was good for 250 hp at only 8 lbs of boost. check fensport.co.uk they have done it all.
Posted: September 4th, 2008, 3:42 pm
by kidlex
thinkin bout goin the 4agze way, later may want to swap gze head for the blacktop as it breathes better do you all think this may work even though one is a 16V and the other is a 20V
Posted: September 4th, 2008, 4:21 pm
by Sully
There were discussions around the pistons being different on the 20V from the 16V to accomodate the tight tolerance with the 5 valves. I don't know if the problem will exist with the GZE. You'll have to be certain that the piston doesn't come into contact with the valves on the 20V head.
Posted: September 5th, 2008, 8:41 am
by Anton
There are some issues to consider when contemplating swapping a 20v head with the 16 gze head. You would have to fabricate an intake plenum capable of holding the boost levels you want. ITB's and boost are a tricky combination. The aftermarket support in terms of cams and valvetrain parts are MUCH easier and cheaper to get for the 16v than the 20v head. IMO the swap, while a worthwhile idea, just isn't worth the trouble from a practicality and overall potential standpoint.
P.S. My last car was a ae92 with a 4age 20v and my current car is an ae111 with a 4agze. Both cars are insanely fun, but in different ways. The 20v was designed from the ground up to be an excellent NA engine and imo should be used as such. the 4agze was designed specifically for boost and with the right parts and tuning the sky's the limit.
Posted: September 6th, 2008, 8:27 am
by kidlex
was readings up on the twin charged setup for the gze it seems a good upgrade for the future decreased lag then into boost that sounding good, jus asking but whats the max hp a gze ever did,
Posted: September 9th, 2008, 1:12 pm
by kidlex
Was wondering though which of these applications would aslo be best for dex was thinking the gze
Posted: September 9th, 2008, 2:04 pm
by Anton
The gze with the supercharger intact would be the best option for dex. Virtually instant torque delivery.
Posted: September 21st, 2008, 9:42 am
by kidlex
thanks for all the advise fellas, but is there a specific place to buy the oil for the sc12 scharger or can i can i pick this up and what type of gearbox oil should i use as well