lowering my corolla a bit more

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Maddworks

lowering my corolla a bit more

Postby Maddworks » August 14th, 2008, 6:33 am

ok guys, i have a 2002 nze corolla lowered using dropzone spings, it has a 2-2.5'' drop, i wanna drop it a bit lower so that there wud b no fender space, any suggestions how to do this and who to go by to get it done or the car has 18's on it. :?:

Postby eliteauto » August 14th, 2008, 8:13 am

did you match your springs with a shorter, stiffer shock e.g. Tokico HP's (blues) or did you reuse the stock ones, this will contribute to the overall look and handling of the vehicle

Postby buzz » August 14th, 2008, 10:33 am

so that there wud b no fender space

bad idea no 1

a little clearance is a good thing esp on trinidad roads

the car has 18's on it.

bad idea no 2

those size rims may contribute to unneccessay load on your suspension and gives you a bumpy ride well i mean less comfortable than stock

btw why drop? for "cosmetic" reasons or performance ?

Postby eliteauto » August 14th, 2008, 11:38 am

18" rims on a front wheel drive more than likely stock/auto Corolla would suggest he wants the drop for "cosmetic" reasons *sigh*

Postby cinco » August 14th, 2008, 5:49 pm

the only way you can go lower is with coilovers even with performance shocks it wont be lower
sigh 18's
there are no lower springs than 2.5 inch drop

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » August 14th, 2008, 8:53 pm

yuh kno i was sellin my brand new coil over kit for the nze all d time and i aint see no body rush it so i went by the mech today and he goona install it tmr...would give reviews on how it rides (although expecting it to be a horrible ride)

Postby gt4tified » August 15th, 2008, 12:01 am

cinco wrote:the only way you can go lower is with coilovers even with performance shocks it wont be lower
sigh 18's
there are no lower springs than 2.5 inch drop

Not necessarily....if he gets rid of those ghastly 18's and goes with something more respectable like 16" rims and a 45/50 profile or 15" rims with a 50 profile AND a well matched shock,that'll work just fine....but as cl101 said, it seems his intentions are cosmetic. In which case, call drop shop or one of dem places.

Maddworks

Postby Maddworks » August 15th, 2008, 7:39 am

okay guys, i wont go lower, you guys hav some good points, but i using excel g shocks, is that the right shock for this application? :|

Postby eliteauto » August 15th, 2008, 10:04 am

the excel G is about the same as a stock shock, depending on weight ,camber etc you are liable to touch your fender or scrape your tyre under load or aggressive cornering, your best bet is to take it easy on the roads or upgrade your shock to one with a higher dampering rate, remember with the increased unsprung weight of the 18's vs the stock 14's the NZE came with, all your suspension, handling and braking systems are under more strain

Maddworks

Postby Maddworks » August 15th, 2008, 11:04 am

wat shocks shud b used?

Return to “TOYOTA”