20v cylinder head cover

Posted: June 9th, 2008, 5:31 pm
by dmitc
folks ah looking for a 20v cylinder head cover st or bt it does not matter since i'm told they are interchangeable.
reason being i took off the cover to check for any sludge on the head or in the cover since i did an engine flush 3 oil changes ago.
saw none yay but after i i put in the oil i covered the head and apparently used too much force in tightening it down and the cover cracked.
there seems to be no leak now and i have been running the car really hard since mainly to see if the 10w30 full syntetic burning up as some claims it do on these engines. no signs of that either

so if allyuh have a spare and it in good condition cause i have one home dey and it in a mess, give meh a shout.............. please

Posted: June 9th, 2008, 7:51 pm
by Hook
lol..I lookin for a S/T cover to paint it..once I get one u can have my old one :mrgreen:

Posted: June 10th, 2008, 11:13 am
by dmitc
talking bout painting do any one know where i can get the plug cover painted to look like Carbon Fibre.
http://www.airbrush.com/how-to-guide.aspx?content=how-to/howtoDetail&id=89

I'm trying to improve the aesthetics of my engine bay and i want to get this done
also i want to chrome the cylinder head cover and if posible the cam gear cover.
i would have painted it but the paint tent to flake, fade or just rub off

Posted: June 10th, 2008, 4:59 pm
by Hook
well, it's not CF...but it look spretty damn sweet IMO

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=173718

the silver paint on the cam cover itself sux tho..thas why I wanna either paint it over, or if push come to shove, just strip the paint, high polish it and buss a lil clear coat IDMC

Posted: June 11th, 2008, 9:45 am
by dmitc

not bad but my experience with bomb spray is that it does rub off

i looking to get something like this but CF to match the intake plenum

is a cut and paste thing that why it looking a bit off

Posted: June 12th, 2008, 9:33 am
by Hook
OHO! yes yes...I forget u iz d front cut man yes... :lol:

nah, the textured black wouldn't suit your engine bay if u already have a CF intake....you could try the paint thing BUT, if I remember how your intake looks, to make it look real and match with the intake you'd prolly have to lay on a dread amount of clear coat..maybe even with a very small bit of yellow in the mix to look like resin

but since I put this up, the black is holding firm...just the silver looking shiddy after a while cuz nobody makes good silver/chrome spray paint anymore :(

I just got home from work, so if I catch a vaps 2day I'll try a ting and start the clean-up process and post the pics :lol:

Posted: June 12th, 2008, 10:50 am
by dmitc
so i guess it's a DIY project :|

Posted: June 12th, 2008, 11:01 am
by Hook
nah...u different...yours either hafta paint or u could actually get CF and make a single layer on the cover...dunno where u getting it tho...but whatever you do, don't use vinyl lol

Posted: June 12th, 2008, 2:33 pm
by Zeriam
hadda gET hEat resistant bomb spray cheCk any paint shop

Posted: June 12th, 2008, 2:57 pm
by Hook
heat resistant CF bombspray????? it on d same aisle with the checkered paint or wha?

aye if u could get dat organize some fuh de fellas nuh :lol:

Posted: June 12th, 2008, 4:46 pm
by dmitc
i fgure ah go try it myself buy first ah have to get a spare one just in case nah
so once that is sourced the next step is getting the bomb spray

Posted: June 12th, 2008, 9:21 pm
by Zeriam
i think i might know someOnE who has 1 for salE

Posted: June 24th, 2008, 3:58 am
by Evolved Automotive Ltd
is that the engine from mega cars?

beautiful may have cover home will check it out for u

there are a fex guys who can do the CF paint will see how much they will charge for that cover.

found another one of these engine with the tom's cover and velocity stacks down in penal very rare, i have the tom's tecs ecu to go with it

Posted: June 24th, 2008, 9:15 am
by dmitc
is that the engine from mega cars?

if mega cars is the place in gustin on the highway then yes

beautiful may have cover home will check it out for u

thanks

there are a fex guys who can do the CF paint will see how much they will charge for that cover

well if you find out you can pm me or buzz me @ 689-3326

i have the tom's tecs ecu to go with it

really you willing to part and how much? is it for AT or MT or could it work for both
cause i'm AT now but looking to put things in place to convert to MT come december

Posted: June 25th, 2008, 8:50 pm
its for mt

and sorry it sold to i guy in greneda today

also u can use an at ecu for both at and mt
but a mt ecu can only be used for mt

Posted: June 26th, 2008, 9:19 am
by dmitc
corolla_GT, how difficult is a tom's tecs ecu to source and what kinda cost i would be looking at

Posted: June 26th, 2008, 11:13 am
i can try and find another they average 500 us up

Posted: June 26th, 2008, 11:38 am
by dmitc
corolla_GT wrote:i can try and find another they average 500 us up

is that new or used

Posted: June 26th, 2008, 3:48 pm
new

Posted: June 26th, 2008, 4:10 pm
by dmitc