vibration...

Posted: June 4th, 2008, 8:08 pm
by outrider
ok ppl.....I jus change all d engine mounts in meh corolla dx.......gettin ah vibration on meh steering wheel.......wah goin on dey ?......any suggestions would be appreciated.....thanx .....

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 9:16 am
by Zeriam
vibration whEn driving ovER rough road or at high speed

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 9:27 am
by D3monic
hmmm i think your mounts might have to be double checked ! cause my mech told me i have to change mine real vibration on my steering also.

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 10:01 am
by TRDGUY
it could be the mounts , possible different rubbers and their lattice structure will determine how much they flex . original is always the best

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 10:05 am
by outrider
vibration wen i stop....or jus idling Zeriam......meh madcanic say dey new and dais y.......

o ho TRD....shyt....I buy d mounts at autorama in el socorro......well if it still givin trouble I go hav to look fuh d original.....

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 10:11 am
by TRDGUY
b.s rubber doh take time to settle in

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 10:13 am
by outrider
so it might be d steering itself den?

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 10:22 am
by Zeriam
chECk an sEE if a mount buss
what modEl dx u havE? cause with my aE80 aftER i changed mounts i still got vibrations turned out my dash nEEDED to tightEN up

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 10:39 am
by outrider
dx wit ah 5efe engine.....d bags for d mount mark ae100 on dem.......d chassis no# mark EE103...ca remember d rest.....d guy at autrama come and see d car wen i went to buy d mounts.........

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 10:49 am
by rolling_hard
how much u pay for d two dat does mount on d side by d wheels (these 2 are bigger than d other 2 ...right)

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 11:15 am
by outrider
about $230........yea......dey thicker........

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 11:17 am
by outrider
d right side he give meh didnt match wit d original so i get d bushin and press it in d mount....

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 12:15 pm
by Zeriam
wELl i starting to seE yuh problEm right thERe is thEm wrong mounts u work up but i'm not a mechanic.

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 1:27 pm
by TRDGUY
seems like you should change you mechanic man, wrong mounts = problems ....i recently changed my mounts on my nze and i used a replacement new though but its for this car and so far it working great .

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 3:25 pm
by outrider
buh dais d mounts d ppl at autorama give meh wen d man check d car..........buh wdf is dis........

TRD wey i go get d originals from?........

thanx brothers fuh words of wisdom.......

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 5:32 pm
by Hook
the point of this post is gettin glost in all the slang and halfway information being shared

outrider, all AE/EE1** mounts are interchangeable except for differences in the top tranny mount, in which case many ppl end up pressing out the bushing in their existing mount and pressing in a good one with no problems whatsoever.
sometimes the back and front mounts have a rubber protrusion which acts like a harmonic dampener, in case the mounts fail, you won't vibrate the bejeezuz out of it before you replace it

now, you can pay out your nose by TTTL for OEM mounts or u can buy proper Japanese mounts (not the Taiwan crap) at any reputable parts place...they'll tell you which it is so you decide what u want

now come the questions...
is the vibration isolated in the steering or does the whole car vibrate?

if it's in the steering alone:
are your steering rack and coupling secured? (should be only one since the DX AFAIK doesn't come with an adjustable height steering column..other models will some with two couplings if they have that option)

check for play in the steering column itself...right now I have a worn plastic bushing in mine that causes a very small bit of up-down play and vibration..I'm still yet to sort out if the bushing itself can be replaced or if the entire column needs to be replaced..it's not that expensive to replace the column anyway, so I'll make a day of it and just do that once I clear a day to do it

if it's the whole car:
were the mounts fastened securely?
how's your idle speed? (an unusually low idle will cause the car to vibrate excessively)
is anything loose or rubbing under the hood?

u need to assess the situation fully before u ask :idea:

hope this helps

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 5:59 pm
by vintagestyles
TRDGUY wrote:seems like you should change you mechanic man, wrong mounts = problems ....i recently changed my mounts on my nze and i used a replacement new though but its for this car and so far it working great .

Let me know where you get the mounts and the price pls.
I have a feelin some of the mounts in my fielder bad.

Posted: June 5th, 2008, 9:14 pm
by outrider
Hook....brother......thanx man....yuh make meh feel like i carry meh car to d doctor.......buh i go check it tomoro wen i get it back......organisin some custom headers fuh it.......so i leave d car by d man shop....buh i go chek out wah yuh say dey man........d only ting i could tell yu now is i hav a front strut and it does touch d hood......i didnt take it out to change d mounts..........

thanx again bro......

Posted: June 7th, 2008, 9:47 pm
by outrider
outrider, all AE/EE1** mounts are interchangeable except for differences in the top tranny mount, in which case many ppl end up pressing out the bushing in their existing mount and pressing in a good one with no problems whatsoever.
sometimes the back and front mounts have a rubber protrusion which acts like a harmonic dampener, in case the mounts fail, you won't vibrate the bejeezuz out of it before you replace it

dais exactly wat happen.....d mount ova d tranny bolt up....buh d bushing a little to d left......so d engine was bent........and d bracket fuh d front mount was touching d metal on d mount......bam!!...vibration .......and i take out d mount and went to d bamboo........i eh get no mount or bushing........so if anybody know where I could get d bushing please say so.........

by d way ........big up to SPECIALIST MUFFLER 2001.......custom headers and exhaust fuh d dx wagon ....damn car soundin like ah demon......better top end.......

Posted: October 11th, 2008, 8:33 pm
by ali-t
yea fellas my nze i am getting a vibration when i am on the high way when i cross 100 the vibration start but when i take my foot out the x it stop if i give a little gat while i am in the 100 speed range i get it also any one knows about the stearing rack my rack make noise pls ple need help any body can link me with a good machanic

Posted: October 15th, 2008, 10:00 am
by nervewrecker
bent rim or wheels need alining.......

Posted: October 15th, 2008, 10:52 am
by Zeriam
redeyes24,check yuh cradle bushings too

Posted: October 15th, 2008, 1:12 pm
by nervewrecker
by chance if it need speed balancing can this be a sign as well? like if one of the weights dem came off...

Posted: October 15th, 2008, 1:26 pm
by wycleft
check yuh rims man, one may be bent, that would cause your steering wheel to vibrate, if its bent badly.

Posted: October 15th, 2008, 11:13 pm
by ali-t
but the rim an balance ok what it is then?

Posted: October 20th, 2008, 5:27 pm
by Hook
lol...cradle bushings IMO should be changed in pairs..no sense having brand spanking new rubbers dampeners on one side and the other side almost gone :idea: