SMOKE!

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Terran

SMOKE!

Postby Terran » May 5th, 2008, 10:15 am

This was something I detected a long time ago, but it seems to have worsened. For those of you who don't know, or can't remember, my engine is a 4AGE 20V B/T with A/T transmission.

Sometimes, when I mash out (full throttle), I may get some smoke as I go into higher rpms at higher speeds. But now it's happening consistently at high rpms, typically from 7,000 rpm to 8,200 rpm. I would notice grey-ish/black-ish smoke coming out of the exhaust as I cross 7,000 rpm. It's not exactly blinding to the driver behind me, but it's... embarrassing. :roll:

And, of course, it's a cause for concern. Needless to mention that my bumper, just over the exhaust tip, becomes blackened within a week, and only washing soap and bleach seem to remove it - WITH SOME SERIOUS EFFORT. I have to work up a sweat and end up washing the whole car because... well... I might as well just finish what I started.

What I want to know is:

1. What is causing the smoke? Oil burning? I suspect it is because I had to top up by a quart just two months AFTER doing an oil change. I use Shell Helix Ultra 5W-40 (recommended by Toyota for the 20V).

2. If it's a direct result of oil burning, could it be that the oil is too volatile?

3. What oil are YOU using on your 20V? Do you experience similar problems?

4. If the oil is burning, would changing to another viscosity oil correct the problem, or is the smoke a side effect of another problem?

5. Anything to do with spark plugs? I had in iridium plugs before doing a service in February, and the mechanic changed them back to normal copper plugs without consulting me. I have my old iridiums that I can re-use, but just never bothered to immediately replace them. The smoke was not as evident when the iridiums were in place.

Recommendations, anyone?

Thanks, as usual, guys.

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » May 5th, 2008, 10:51 am

how long has it been smoking

i get a slight white smoke when i do cold start of the car and some white smoke when i hit high RPM's

but i put in an engine treatment

i was told that the valva seals needed to change

black smoke though means oil is burning and you need to check the rings

Terran

Postby Terran » May 5th, 2008, 11:06 am

Prior to servicing in February, little traces of smoke at high rpms. Was never really a cause for concern. It had been that way for as long as I've had the car - which is just over 2 years.

AFTER servicing, a lot more smoke. But like I mentioned earlier, it's not blinding to other drivers.

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » May 5th, 2008, 11:13 am

or

well try the Wynn's engine treatment

it worked for me

but eventually i will change my valve seals in my engine because im using the castrol syntec blend

until i rebuild my engine

Terran

Postby Terran » May 5th, 2008, 11:19 am

I'm a little skeptical about using engine treatments - it's like saying that the oil isn't doing what it's supposed to do.

What exactly is the engine treatment supposed to do, and what are the pros and cons of using it?

Krakkle

Postby Krakkle » May 5th, 2008, 12:14 pm

Terran,
Anytime I'm running the 20V really hard, the VVT action is always accompanied with a puff of black smoke out the back i.e. if I stomp on the gas at 2-3k RPM, the car gets hauling and as soon as it crosses 5-6k RPM there is a puff of fuel - rich smoke ..... followed by the * POP * as I let off to shift to third. I think it's the ECU's normal way of enriching the mixture based on TPS feedback etc. to save the engine from "lean-running" dangers.

Oh, and yes it DOES consume the Mobil1 15-50 and the Shell Helix Synthetic 10-40 and the Q 20-50 and the Castrol GTX 20-50 with no apparent blue smoke ? :roll: I'm gonna try Redline oil or Royal
Purple next. :wink:

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » May 5th, 2008, 12:32 pm

the engine treatment restores the seals and all rubbers in the engine

Terran

Postby Terran » May 5th, 2008, 1:12 pm

Krakkle wrote:Terran,
Anytime I'm running the 20V really hard, the VVT action is always accompanied with a puff of black smoke out the back i.e. if I stomp on the gas at 2-3k RPM, the car gets hauling and as soon as it crosses 5-6k RPM there is a puff of fuel - rich smoke ..... followed by the * POP * as I let off to shift to third. I think it's the ECU's normal way of enriching the mixture based on TPS feedback etc. to save the engine from "lean-running" dangers.

Oh, and yes it DOES consume the Mobil1 15-50 and the Shell Helix Synthetic 10-40 and the Q 20-50 and the Castrol GTX 20-50 with no apparent blue smoke ? :roll: I'm gonna try Redline oil or Royal
Purple next. :wink:

That's pretty much the same experience with mine. But perhaps I'm swinging into/past 7,000 rpm by the time I'm able to notice it out of my rear view mirror.

NEVERTHELESS, this was NOT normal. The amount of smoke there is now is a lot more than ever before.

Krakkle

Postby Krakkle » May 5th, 2008, 1:34 pm

For mine at least, at the current 85,000 kms mileage, it's probably an indication of impending re-build at 100,000kms :cry: cause I certainly don't "pet up" my car. :twisted:

Postby Hook » May 5th, 2008, 2:32 pm

the puff is normal...I get it too (ST)...and yes, it's a bit embarassing, but rather be embarassed than fry my rings or suffer from detonation

however if u noticing it more and more and at higher rpms, it may be a sign that u gonna need a rebuild soon..and doubled with the fact that it's not ordinary soot on ur bumper but the black oily kind, it may well be near that time

I'm running a Castrol 15W40 diesel oil in the car right now to see if I can combat the tappet noise (seems to be helping a bit, but we'll see coming closer to the next change interval)
previously when I was running NP Ultra-Tec 5W50 I was losing 0.5qt a month which I guess is healthy still, cuz I doh pet up mine either :lol:

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » May 5th, 2008, 3:35 pm

i used to get the puff at high RPM

so what causes the smoke when the car gets a cold start?

Terran

Postby Terran » May 5th, 2008, 4:17 pm

Hook, thanks. NOW I'm freaking out. :oops: :cry:

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 5th, 2008, 5:11 pm

the puff is normal...I get it too (ST)...and yes, it's a bit embarassing, but rather be embarassed than fry my rings or suffer from detonation

Really :?: cause i done get any unless it is at redline and that only happens in Park or Neutral and i'm a ST A/T
i have never reached redline while driving

Terran

Postby Terran » May 5th, 2008, 6:02 pm

^^^ You've never reached redline while driving?

Why? :?

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 5th, 2008, 6:15 pm

gear changes at about 6800-7200rpms max
if there is a way to get it to change higher let me know

Postby Hook » May 5th, 2008, 6:24 pm

:lol: soooo...ur redline is where? 8000rpm?

notice we said "redline" eh, not "rev limit" :idea:

BTW, if ur tranny has the "PWR/MAN" switch wired in, u can shift higher manually, tho you'd be at ur peak HP anyway *shrugs* unless u modded...

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 6th, 2008, 11:15 am

redline is at 7800rpm
believe the rev limit is 8200rmps not too sure

Postby Hook » May 6th, 2008, 11:39 am

u have the 9krpm tach from a GT or wha?

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 6th, 2008, 11:54 am

yip

Postby Hook » May 6th, 2008, 12:04 pm

sweet...link a brutha?

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 6th, 2008, 1:05 pm

dmitc wrote:redline is at 7800rpm
believe the rev limit is 8200rmps not too sure

my bad apparently redline is 7600rpm

well to tell yuh the truth hook unless yuh getting a man with a front half to sell yuh it i don't know where yuh would get one

Strauss

Postby Strauss » May 6th, 2008, 1:16 pm

Sometimes this happens when you accustomed to drinking Royal Oak then switch to black label.

Terran

Postby Terran » May 6th, 2008, 1:22 pm

Well that could not have happened in my case at all!! :lol:

Terran

Postby Terran » May 6th, 2008, 1:27 pm

By the way folks, I spoke to a mechanic yesterday who is a master at 4A and 4E engines. He will be checking out my car on Friday with the suspicion that I may have a broken ring land - which would call for a replacement head and block. :cry:

He kinda put the idea in my head that I can get 3 times the performance of my 20V if I swap it for a turbocharged 4AGZE with a 5-fwd LSD gearbox and 3-stage clutch and 100-shot of NOS cranking out 350HP and about 280 ft. lbs. of torque that he has on the ground. :shock: He had this engine in a Starlet but says it's not enough power, so they're going the 3S way.

What you guys think I should do? :?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » May 6th, 2008, 2:13 pm

So this engine would provide food on your table as well?

Terran

Postby Terran » May 6th, 2008, 2:41 pm

^^ :ban:

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » May 6th, 2008, 3:12 pm

Hook wrote:u have the 9krpm tach from a GT or wha?

my car does swing 9000RPM

orginal BZ touring with black top

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » May 6th, 2008, 3:13 pm

i start to redline at 8000RPM

Postby Hook » May 6th, 2008, 3:19 pm

I need to free up my exhaust alot...car feels choked up at higher rpms...

never really pushed it past 7800rpm tho (cuz I don't know where it'll take me) and it takes a while to get there after 2nd gear because of the exhaust restriction anyway

A/T, stock 101 tach...VVT cuts out around 6800rpm

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 6th, 2008, 4:10 pm

never really pushed it past 7800rpm tho

Hook how do you get it to 7800rmps with an A/T

Return to “TOYOTA”