Page 1 of 25

So long old friend.....

Posted: April 10th, 2008, 10:23 am
by reddo_tuner
I decided to change my sad 2e engine in my 91-93 tercel, and put in a turbo starlet engine, I bought the engine already, it cost me a cool five, right now, the engine is in the car, it was supposed to go for wiring yesterday, but it should go today.

this is what she looks like:

Posted: April 10th, 2008, 11:01 am
by Yofoot
So you go post pixs of de car and not de engine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:cry:

Good luck on conversion

Posted: April 10th, 2008, 12:01 pm
by reddo_tuner
i getting trouble to upload the pics. :( , i only getting error
[/img]

Posted: April 10th, 2008, 3:21 pm
by Zeriam
i like that grill u got there pal at 1st glance i wouldn't have known it was a tercel :fadein:

Posted: April 10th, 2008, 4:42 pm
by dmitc
WRT intercooler are you using the stock or are you going aftermarket?

Posted: April 10th, 2008, 6:44 pm
by D3monic
so your orginal tranny worked ??

Posted: April 10th, 2008, 6:58 pm
by reddo_tuner
dmitc, stock for the while, funds might not cover it
D3monic,no, bought engine and tranny together.

I have pics of the engine in the car. will post later

Posted: April 10th, 2008, 6:59 pm
by reddo_tuner
Zeriam wrote:i like that grill u got there pal at 1st glance i wouldn't have known it was a tercel :fadein:

yeah, it unique, i was going and put a different one, but i will leave it for the while.

oh his behalf

Posted: April 11th, 2008, 12:28 am
by Zeriam
8-)

ImageImage

Posted: April 11th, 2008, 12:30 am
by reddo_tuner
as everyone could see it, i need a strut bar to run across the bay, but not prevent the bonnet from closing.

Posted: April 11th, 2008, 12:33 am
by Zeriam
it havE that man doh worry

Posted: April 11th, 2008, 12:47 am
by reddo_tuner
that radiator hadda change, some of them hoses hadda condemn, engine need a serious clean.

Posted: April 11th, 2008, 1:10 am
by Zeriam
PM TSC hE should havE struts hE basE in rio claro

Posted: April 11th, 2008, 1:20 am
by reddo_tuner
cool, i tell them put a suburu scoop, he say he hate them scoop.lol

Posted: April 11th, 2008, 4:15 am
by Zeriam
it does look kinda crappy but if it works it works...i looking for a 92 scoop myself soon

Posted: April 11th, 2008, 7:49 am
by DownesDigital
deal with it

Posted: April 11th, 2008, 9:25 am
by Zeriam
cut the tip of thE scoop so it doh look like a dead give away is a subbie scoop

Posted: April 11th, 2008, 10:05 am
by reddo_tuner
Zeriam wrote:cut the tip of thE scoop so it doh look like a dead give away is a subbie scoop

let them fellas organize that. I tired

Posted: April 11th, 2008, 9:29 pm
by reddo_tuner
i was to ask, what instrument panel could work in mine? what about those new corollas, can those fit?

Posted: April 11th, 2008, 9:37 pm
by 33 hertz
I believe you will need a starlet instrument panel or a panel that came out of a car with a 4efe might work, not too sure.

Project looks good, should have cleaned down the engine before you mounted it up though, some degreaser and gas will have it looking like the one in your sig.

Posted: April 11th, 2008, 11:50 pm
by reddo_tuner
I only got to see it after the swap was done, they say that could do after.

Posted: April 13th, 2008, 11:50 pm
by reddo_tuner
33 hertz wrote:I believe you will need a starlet instrument panel or a panel that came out of a car with a 4efe might work, not too sure.

Project looks good, should have cleaned down the engine before you mounted it up though, some degreaser and gas will have it looking like the one in your sig.

whaz d price on a instrument panel from a starlet?

Posted: April 14th, 2008, 2:49 am
by D3monic
How the project goin so far ???
was the latest ?

Posted: April 14th, 2008, 9:05 am
by dmitc
reddo_tuner wrote:I only got to see it after the swap was done, they say that could do after.

So i take it you would not know if any of the seal were changed and what about the timing belt. should always have those things replaced when putting in a used engine.

Posted: April 14th, 2008, 9:38 am
by 33 hertz
I think omegajedi on the forum had a starlet cluster to sell. You can check him. They can go anywhere from $400 to $800 in the bamboo depending on where you go and how well you negotiate.

Posted: April 14th, 2008, 1:01 pm
by reddo_tuner
D3monic wrote:How the project goin so far ???
was the latest ?

well the wiring going on as i type, once the wiring is done, the real work begins. doh worry I will update

Posted: April 14th, 2008, 1:02 pm
by reddo_tuner
dmitc wrote:
reddo_tuner wrote:I only got to see it after the swap was done, they say that could do after.

So i take it you would not know if any of the seal were changed and what about the timing belt. should always have those things replaced when putting in a used engine.

All belts and seals are to be changed, i ent taking no chances with that breds

Posted: April 14th, 2008, 3:34 pm
by droppa
reddo ent yuh know ah have starlet parts boi... :evil:

Posted: April 14th, 2008, 9:10 pm
by reddo_tuner
^^^ shucks, hard luck deh hoss, me head not here, meh padna check yuh yet?

Posted: April 15th, 2008, 10:48 am
by droppa
yeah called me last nite, he suppose to pass tru today for some items.... :roll: