Yofoot's ae90 20 Valve blacktop update

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Yofoot

Yofoot's ae90 20 Valve blacktop update

Postby Yofoot » March 17th, 2008, 9:41 am

Hey fellas,

Good lime Sunday man.

As most of you know I have a 20 Valve Blacktop in my AE90 corolla.

It been in for about six months now.

I always had a stalling problem. :(

First was the speed sensor, Ryan in Bamboo fixed that, then after a while It started stalling again, but this time it was different.

It will not "trip" de brain box, it will just start to backfire and slow down.

And if the gas level dropped under half tank, well I will shot down very often.

I asked on de forum and was told to check my gas line, pump and so on.
When de conversion was done, a gas pump was placed inside de tank, and we used the stock line to feed the gas.

Well I buy a Fuel injected tank: $1200 (inclusive of Pump, gauge etc)
And ran a thicker aluminum line.

I also changed my timing and fan belts.
(by de way... I bought de timing and fan belts by Gobin's for $320 total. de mechanic say is de wrong belts, de Blacktop has 110 teeth and de Silvertop has 111, check around, nobody have it, whento TTTL, and pay $1500 for de timing belt and two fan belt!!!!)

So it went by de mech last week, get it back Saturday and boy!!!!!!!!!!!

The Difference is like night and day.

It use to always give me a rough idle, I though that is how de engine does run, but it smooth now and no matter de gas level, de car running, no stalling sense.

As a give it gas, I getting ah response.

So all in all, it working GREAT!!!:twisted:

sorry bout de long post
:wink:

DownesDigital

Postby DownesDigital » March 17th, 2008, 10:08 am

nice man

glad for you

Terran

Postby Terran » March 17th, 2008, 11:09 am

Do you get any resistance from the engine if you try to take off (kinda) hard when it's cold (like on mornings)?

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » March 17th, 2008, 11:29 am

Terran wrote:Do you get any resistance from the engine if you try to take off (kinda) hard when it's cold (like on mornings)?

Yes, when its cold its will give me ah little resistance.

Hook was telling me that with these engines the VVT does only kick in when de engine reach about 50degrees or higher, so that might cause it.

Hook, can you verify?

D3monic

Postby D3monic » March 17th, 2008, 11:33 am

Well as i hear Hook say that it have to get up to a proper temp. before it ready race :wink: if u know what i mean and fellas i took a spin in this car wow i really cant wait to get one of these babies in my AE 80 !!! :wink:

Terran

Postby Terran » March 17th, 2008, 4:56 pm

I keep getting conflicting information. One says the ECU restricts the engine until it's warm... another says it's not supposed to happen, and if it's happening, it's the injectors... or something else.

IMO, it makes sense that the engine restricts you from hard driving/revving while it is still cold. Due to the intricacy of modern engines, oil flow is imperative to provide least friction against moving parts and to reduce wear and tare and possible permanent damage. When starting up a cold engine, oil will not immediately lubricate moving parts. It takes a while (a few minutes) for the engine to achieve ambient temperature for optimum performance.

What I want to know is if this restriction is SUPPOSED to be experienced, or if something else needs "fine tuning".

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 17th, 2008, 5:47 pm

does anyonE let their car warm up again anymore?

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » March 17th, 2008, 8:08 pm

Well Terran,

I could only talk for me.
I does get a little holdback when cold.

I just changed belts and stuff and de timing real good.
After de car heat up abit, it is good to go.

Postby Hook » March 17th, 2008, 8:28 pm

when mines is cold, it drives like a regular crappy 1.6L econobox engine, and I also thought something was wrong, until I read something somewhere about it (not sure if it's in the BT service manual..I'll look for a link to it and post up sometime 2nite for the benefit of our new BT buddy here, Yofoot)

basically it said that normal operating temperature is 82degC, but only when engine coolant gets to 50degC or more, then VVT (or VVTi) is allowed to engage...in a practical sense (cuz nobody knows what those lines on our stock temp gauge on the dash means) once the temp needle is at one notch above the cold mark, play yuhself

then at 40% throttle or more (regardless of vehicle sped or engine rpm) it kicks in, and then shuts back off at redline (I guess to prevent valve float maybe)...

I've installed a LED on my VVT solenoid just to verify the VVT behaviour wrt temperature, throttle position and redline and it's all true

D3monic

Postby D3monic » March 17th, 2008, 8:47 pm

Toyota ppl on TriniTuner go be my Second family yes..... :wink:

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 17th, 2008, 9:56 pm

Toyota ppl on TriniTuner go be my Second family yes.....

Terran

Postby Terran » March 17th, 2008, 10:39 pm

Hook wrote:when mines is cold, it drives like a regular crappy 1.6L econobox engine, and I also thought something was wrong, until I read something somewhere about it (not sure if it's in the BT service manual..I'll look for a link to it and post up sometime 2nite for the benefit of our new BT buddy here, Yofoot)

basically it said that normal operating temperature is 82degC, but only when engine coolant gets to 50degC or more, then VVT (or VVTi) is allowed to engage...in a practical sense (cuz nobody knows what those lines on our stock temp gauge on the dash means) once the temp needle is at one notch above the cold mark, play yuhself

then at 40% throttle or more (regardless of vehicle sped or engine rpm) it kicks in, and then shuts back off at redline (I guess to prevent valve float maybe)...

I've installed a LED on my VVT solenoid just to verify the VVT behaviour wrt temperature, throttle position and redline and it's all true

Mmm hmm... I hear yuh. :wink:

Postby Hook » March 17th, 2008, 10:41 pm

I'll get a little time after midnight to look for the BT manual..it's in PDF format hosted somewhere on the web..there's supposed to be ECU pinouts and ECTS tranny error codes as well...I have a small write-up on that here on the Toyota forum so do a search and bump it up if u could

I just passing through for now in between working on stuff here at the office, so if u guys have the time, check Bill Sherwood's site and maybe http://www.club4ag.com to see if it's there and post it nuh plz

Anton

Postby Anton » March 18th, 2008, 7:55 am

I had a link to the manual in this ched

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » March 18th, 2008, 11:24 am

Great!!!!!

i going to print and bind.

Great toilet reading! :!:

dmitc

Postby dmitc » March 18th, 2008, 2:37 pm

And ran a thicker aluminum line

Yofoot who did the gas lines for you and what is de cost?

redo23

Postby redo23 » March 18th, 2008, 3:34 pm

you wanna give meh ah run...i wanna see how my blacktop pullin!

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » March 18th, 2008, 4:29 pm

dmitc wrote:
And ran a thicker aluminum line

Yofoot who did the gas lines for you and what is de cost?

I did it by dream Car Auto on Close to UWI, ask for Varun.

Materials and labour came up to about $800 (that does not include de gas tank)

D3monic

Postby D3monic » March 18th, 2008, 7:49 pm

redo23 wrote:you wanna give meh ah run...i wanna see how my blacktop pullin!

hoss i what u drivin cause i really dont think u ready nah !! :wink:

redo23

Postby redo23 » March 19th, 2008, 2:51 pm

D3monic wrote:
redo23 wrote:you wanna give meh ah run...i wanna see how my blacktop pullin!

hoss i what u drivin cause i really dont think u ready nah !! :wink:

doh study what i drivin...jus know is ah stock blacktop yuh comin to run...
and,btw..i said i jus wanna see how my blacktop pullin...and if yuh biggin up yuh chest, jus say when and where!!!

Postby Hook » March 19th, 2008, 2:58 pm

^^^ D3monic doesn't have a blacktop...or any 20V for that matter :lol:

BTW, where allyuh hoping to make this grudge-run? Camden?

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » March 19th, 2008, 3:42 pm

Oh Jesus Christ!!!!!!!!!!:shock:

I just giving a little update, next ting I know I in some grudge-run yes!!!!!!

Boss, de car woking, but lets say that I am not confident enough on my driving for any race.:oops:

Give me some time with it and i go check yuh back.

and de brakes really needs upgrading now.

Postby Hook » March 19th, 2008, 3:47 pm

hahahahahahaha...see why I doh gih nobody no test run in my car?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 19th, 2008, 3:55 pm

come on the cross saturday nahh

Postby Hook » March 19th, 2008, 3:55 pm

nope

wha I doin dey for? dey sharing pussi on d cross or wha? :lol:

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 19th, 2008, 3:59 pm

not to run unless u want to.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 19th, 2008, 4:07 pm

nah only thing sharing is burgers

Postby Hook » March 19th, 2008, 4:34 pm

*bleh*

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 19th, 2008, 4:43 pm

could always go villa an drink somE bEErs an look at pussi pass

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » March 19th, 2008, 4:53 pm

Boss I went on de cross once.

It have some nice cars but I think it looks VERY unsafe.

It has a dip in de road after and car does be bouncing over it.

And I tired see cars pull out from de side while fellas quarter-miling.

And de crowd there ah little to "young" for my liking.

I doh like jail.

Return to “TOYOTA”