Page 1 of 2

Group 1600cc Battle

Posted: February 15th, 2008, 10:38 pm
by smokey1275
Hey Guys,
i was up late tonight with idea buzzing in my head .One of the most common engines out there on the so -so new school scene are all around 1600cc displacement . Since on the forum here , many men ole' blag about this"n" that when it comes to the motors , i suggest a coming together of the different 1600cc Engines and Manufacturer enthusiastic drivers to take part in a 3 part small shoot out that will encompass the following :

1. A dyno to see which 'tuned' 1600cc delivers the best torque and Hp figures.
2. A Drag Race at camden involving so said cars ( for the best E.t.)
3. A time attack to see which 1600cc engine /chassis combo has the goods on a circuit.

Please note , for equalization and since there are many of them out there, this challenge will be for Naturally aspirated vehicles.

SO from Toyota , Honda , Mazda , Nissan , Mitsubishi , Suzuki , Subaru,Ford and others who meet displacement of between 1550 cc-1649cc all are most welcome from the other formus to place their opinions.

Posted: February 15th, 2008, 10:51 pm
by 33 hertz
Good idea, but where we going to find a circuit track? or you plan on doing something similar to dex?

Posted: February 16th, 2008, 2:18 am
by Zeriam
time attack would be a very interesting 1 to see, i think it would have to be something like dex, expecting the subarus to give us some trouble

Posted: February 16th, 2008, 2:25 am
by Zeriam
after thinking about it drag race i'd say honda would come out on top with N/A with the 1.6 cause parts of the 1.8 can be swapped in for better performace.

Posted: February 16th, 2008, 7:28 am
by rollaboy20v
thats a great idea smokey. i'm in..

Posted: February 16th, 2008, 12:40 pm
by 33 hertz
yup those honda guys going to have a field day. I hope some well tuned 20v come out to represent.

Posted: February 16th, 2008, 5:18 pm
by Zeriam
ent...like a 20vst with a bt head with some work done or even a tuned 16v 4a-ge could give a honda a good run

Posted: February 16th, 2008, 5:47 pm
by smokey1275
To quote terran, i guess dex will be our best bet at doing a time attack for the guys. The hondas won't muster much of a field day.Those engines lack low end power , it'll be up to a good mix of whits , tuning and skill to pull of a fine show .Keep the ideas coming.

Posted: February 17th, 2008, 12:08 am
by 33 hertz
How bout we try to organise a few good toyota meets first, then move on to bigger things. Cuz it wont make sense if we pull it off and it doesnt have much pple representing toyota.

Posted: February 17th, 2008, 1:05 pm
by smokey1275
33 hertz wrote:How bout we try to organise a few good toyota meets first, then move on to bigger things. Cuz it wont make sense if we pull it off and it doesnt have much pple representing toyota.

ditto

Posted: February 17th, 2008, 7:24 pm
by Zeriam
i dey supporting strong :mrgreen:

Posted: February 18th, 2008, 9:31 pm
by FullStop
das a real good idea, but the problem is dem b16's, and d16's, high arse hp, but i think a 20v or a properly tuned 3zz could give dem trouble

Posted: February 18th, 2008, 10:50 pm
by Hook
^^^ lol..u doubting yourself? u doubting us?

Jus say when

Posted: March 5th, 2008, 2:07 pm
by carnagecassidy
Yeah smokey jus say when & where, Me & Nigie, will be there to represent. Maybe teach those arrogant "Vtech warriors" a lesson or two.

Posted: March 5th, 2008, 2:18 pm
by rjaggs
just come up in d dex sunday nah man.....

Posted: March 5th, 2008, 10:00 pm
by smokey1275
Well ........ dex would be about the best place for a time attack , however as the above suggests that's the general idea.

Posted: March 7th, 2008, 6:14 pm
by M-Tech
Toyota 4A-GZE 1.6L Supercharged.. Bring on the races, I'd show ya'll

Posted: March 8th, 2008, 12:08 am
by D3monic
wow this will be a nice friendly comp. hope all turn out well........ :wink:

Posted: March 8th, 2008, 1:20 pm
by redo23
i in for dat..pm and let me know when and where!

Posted: March 10th, 2008, 8:04 am
by Anton
M-Tech wrote:Toyota 4A-GZE 1.6L Supercharged.. Bring on the races, I'd show ya'll

What car you have the ze in bro?

Posted: March 10th, 2008, 8:46 am
by Dave
a 4afe is a helluva engine in stock form

Posted: March 10th, 2008, 9:01 pm
by Zeriam
a 4afe is a helluva engine in stock form

really? but if u had your choice would it be the fe or the 20v ge?

Posted: March 11th, 2008, 1:04 pm
by mitsu
yup those honda guys going to have a field day. I hope some well tuned 20v come out to represent

100% correct[/quote]

Posted: March 11th, 2008, 1:16 pm
by Strauss
n/a races?

:fist:

Posted: March 11th, 2008, 10:19 pm
by FullStop
i think a 4age 20v could take ah b16, i think it could take it easy too, just need the right amount of work,, just remember iz a 20V , mod, get a AEM FIC, LSD gearbox(if available), intake headers exhaust, depending on which version, get sum high compression pistons,,,again, das depending on which 20v, computer, and u could take a pimped b16A both ways, when it comes to handling in a 1600NA circuit the mazda will own everybody, cant beat the mazda handling, they just a lil short on the HP at stock, but again, throw enough money at it and who knows, take a zm, put a zl head(wit svt), do some B6 pistons to raise compression, good port and polish, intake headers exhaust, AEM FIC, of course gearbox, and i think u could get if not cross 200 ponies, a worthy competitor to a tuned 20v or b16a, for the drags i would put money on the 20v, but for anything involving corners, i think the mazda will take it, i think the honda will win on the dyno though, but that dont count

Posted: March 12th, 2008, 9:33 am
by Strauss
I think in stock form, the 20v CAN take a b16, but when mods start, the honda has the edge.

Posted: March 12th, 2008, 3:27 pm
by mitsu
i think a 4age 20v could take ah b16, i think it could take it easy too, just need the right amount of work,, just remember iz a 20V , mod, get a AEM FIC, LSD gearbox(if available), intake headers exhaust, depending on which version, get sum high compression pistons,,,again, das depending on which 20v, computer, and u could take a pimped b16A both ways, when it comes to handling in a 1600NA circuit the mazda will own everybody, cant beat the mazda handling, they just a lil short on the HP at stock, but again, throw enough money at it and who knows, take a zm, put a zl head(wit svt), do some B6 pistons to raise compression, good port and polish, intake headers exhaust, AEM FIC, of course gearbox, and i think u could get if not cross 200 ponies, a worthy competitor to a tuned 20v or b16a, for the drags i would put money on the 20v, but for anything involving corners, i think the mazda will take it, i think the honda will win on the dyno though, but that dont cou

Long story short: I once had a stockish b16a and I blow away at least 3 4age 20 ,after I rebuilt my engine and put some of the mods you refering to above I ent go even waste my time....

1600NA circuit the mazda will own everybody

you talking tata... do some research ,you never hear about spoon civic's
and the pulsar n1 is also a beast...

Try and get some best motoring videos..

Posted: March 12th, 2008, 3:36 pm
by mitsu
I know allyuh is toyota boys will defend the 4age 20v.

But I had experience's with a B16a , 4g92 and sr20..
If i line up against a 4age ,1st and 2nd the person will be infront of me but when I rock 3rd in the civic I would shot pass him. Honda 3rd makes a lot of power especially when vtec comes in.

I love the b16a but a sr20 in sunny is flicking fast machine.

Posted: March 12th, 2008, 6:01 pm
by FullStop
1600cc fella, not 2.0, in that category the 3sgte will kill d sr20 dead....and i think is you need to do the research fella, the mazdaspeed 323 average 70.2 mph on the slalom, that is equal to the porsche 911 turbo,,,and dont say we aint talkin mazdaspeed cus u talkin b16, das sir business...mazdaspeed 323 rated as the 8th best handling car ever...ever fella, so go research..i dont meant o sound vex or nuttin, but..u know wha i mean

Posted: March 13th, 2008, 7:25 pm
by shinakuma
U have a mazdaspeed 323 or jus a mazda 323 lol. From wat i have seen in drag racing d b16a is faster in d qtrmile and i am a toyota man 2 heart. D hp of d 4age was grossly overrated. It was tested on race fuel do ur research or better yet go an dyno one 4 urself. I dont c any mazda/mazdaspeed 323 drivers winning solodex i mus try 2 attend more dex events. A 323 has very little hp and dont rev up high dat is why it can corner and do a slalom test witout problems dat iz jus plain obvious geez.