Posted: February 14th, 2008, 1:55 pm
by seanf3000
where chevy?....lol!
Posted: February 14th, 2008, 1:55 pm
by [X]~Outlaw
lol!!
Posted: February 14th, 2008, 1:59 pm
by rjaggs
i doh usually run it sooo red (again), but a mx3 was trying to give me some pressure d other day, so i had to put it on his a@#.........i make 190
Posted: February 14th, 2008, 2:52 pm
by Hook
lol...only?
Posted: February 14th, 2008, 3:10 pm
by rjaggs
i nearly take off, so i slow down........and the mx3 was about four car lengths behind so i aint bother
oh, and that was bone stock in 4th gear
nze speed
Posted: February 28th, 2008, 3:11 pm
by TRD lil boost
rjaggs wrote:i nearly take off, so i slow down........and the mx3 was about four car lengths behind so i aint bother
i get my nze to 202km already...
rel rough up though shitf at redline at 190 start to lag but give em a lil more X and he will slowly breach 200
but meh 4afe does real rock out

190 at top but it does get there quick!!!
wen it turbo i wonder WTF go hamm???

Posted: February 29th, 2008, 9:40 am
by Alpha_2nr
Dese NZE is real fass car boi

Posted: February 29th, 2008, 9:43 am
by Terran
I thought the NZE tops out around 180.
Hmm... and my 20V limited to 200.

Posted: February 29th, 2008, 10:15 am
by seanf3000
Stuepz.......any ole fricking car can reach 180. Why people still impressed by this i dunno yes.
More important is how long it takes to get to 180. evne better is how far and how much time it takes to get back down to zero.
Posted: February 29th, 2008, 11:54 am
by Strauss
NZE has a speed cut at 200kmph.
If you get more, its a wrong reading.
Posted: February 29th, 2008, 12:00 pm
by TRDcorolla
the local nze has the speed cut at 180
Posted: February 29th, 2008, 12:25 pm
by [X]~Outlaw
^^ nope
Posted: February 29th, 2008, 1:43 pm
by Alpha_2nr
Stuepz.......any ole fricking car can reach 180. Why people still impressed by this i dunno yes.
More important is how long it takes to get to 180. evne better is how far and how much time it takes to get back down to zero.
Exactly

Posted: February 29th, 2008, 2:07 pm
by rjaggs
i put a short ram intake in mine, and i cut out the catalytic converter just to free up the exhaust(until i could build a complete one)....and with the gearbox, the car pulling aight, it accelerates decent up to 160, after that it lacking a lil power....but that should be sorted out once i finish with all the bolt on mods
for now, i reach 200
Posted: February 29th, 2008, 2:56 pm
by Strauss
2nerkid wrote:the local nze has the speed cut at 180
Just because yuh ride can't make it past 180kmph doesn't mean it's has a speed cut there.
I have 'tested' the nze on various occasions for the benefit of others

Posted: February 29th, 2008, 5:24 pm
by ztune
bai!....rollaz duzz move!....my lil altis smoke a maxima/cefiro eeeeeeeeeeeezzzzyyyy!!!, n ah call back d man n he get it ahhhhgaaaaain!...carz doz move boi...
Posted: February 29th, 2008, 5:59 pm
by TRDcorolla
i hav removed my speed cut, but i know that the local 1nz fe engine does hav a speed cut at around 180, but the car is a really good car
Posted: March 1st, 2008, 7:32 pm
by Alpha_2nr
bai!....rollaz duzz move!....my lil altis smoke a maxima/cefiro eeeeeeeeeeeezzzzyyyy!!!, n ah call back d man n he get it ahhhhgaaaaain!...carz doz move boi...

Ah hear dem corolla is speed machine in truth yes!
i put a short ram intake in mine, and i cut out the catalytic converter just to free up the exhaust(until i could build a complete one)....and with the gearbox, the car pulling aight, it accelerates decent up to 160, after that it lacking a lil power....but that should be sorted out once i finish with all the bolt on mods
Bolt on mods don't help as much with those newer engines as with older toyotas...cuz the ECU tries to keep everything within "limits".
Posted: March 1st, 2008, 7:59 pm
by DavetoExtreme
Knight1 wrote:bai!....rollaz duzz move!....my lil altis smoke a maxima/cefiro eeeeeeeeeeeezzzzyyyy!!!, n ah call back d man n he get it ahhhhgaaaaain!...carz doz move boi...

^^^LOL

Posted: March 3rd, 2008, 8:19 am
by Strauss
Speed machines? What... 22 seconds on the 1/4 mile?
Posted: March 3rd, 2008, 8:40 am
by ztune
Strauss wrote:Speed machines? What... 22 seconds on the 1/4 mile?
*tints car even darker*
Posted: March 3rd, 2008, 10:08 am
by seanf3000
gawd....the 180 glory again yes.....
Posted: March 3rd, 2008, 10:57 am
by Alpha_2nr
Speed machines? What... 22 seconds on the 1/4 mile?
I'll put this next time for those who may not be too clear.
[sarcasm]them corolla is real speed machine yes![/sarcasm]
180 FTW.
ROFL.

Posted: March 3rd, 2008, 11:22 am
by rjaggs
Knight1 wrote:bai!....rollaz duzz move!....my lil altis smoke a maxima/cefiro eeeeeeeeeeeezzzzyyyy!!!, n ah call back d man n he get it ahhhhgaaaaain!...carz doz move boi...

Bolt on mods don't help as much with those newer engines as with older toyotas...cuz the ECU tries to keep everything within "limits".
.....tell that to outlaw....
Posted: March 3rd, 2008, 11:25 am
by Alpha_2nr
And your point is?
I said the ECu TRIES to keep everything in limits. And that the gains aren't AS much as with older spec cars. Never said there aren't any. Re-read if you don't understand the first time. It helps.
Posted: March 3rd, 2008, 11:34 am
by rjaggs
how much is "as much"????? by any standard 20+ hp from bolt ons is plenty
toyota
Posted: March 3rd, 2008, 12:12 pm
by V2NR 3.0
rjaggs wrote:i nearly take off, so i slow down........and the mx3 was about four car lengths behind so i aint bother
REPRESENT ! - Lol....I have reached 205km...X to board.
Posted: March 3rd, 2008, 1:26 pm
by Alpha_2nr
how much is "as much"????? by any standard 20+ hp from bolt ons is plenty
Well if so...great! Do some dynos to confirm. I'd be shocked to see a set of PURE bolt on mods (no engine m'gment or fuel/ign computer) giving 20 whp or 30 wtq on a dyno for a 1.5L N/A Corolla engine. 'Cuz aftermarket manf'r claims are bogus at best. This is tried and tested.
I test drove both the 1.6 RORO and the 1.5 1NZ-FE cars (latter from the firm). Honesty, they have good top end and pull reasonably well straight through the rpm range. But it isn't anything to hoot about. Many other new cars, such as the new Tiida and Mazda 3 also demonstrate similar "pull" and torque feel IMHO. I'd rank the Tiida about the same as the Corolla...and the Mazda 3...a little above that.
So....all in all....it's a nifty car...but bragging about reaching x or y speed is a moot point for any car in my view. A March can go up to 195 too......question is.....how FAST do you get there

Posted: March 3rd, 2008, 2:18 pm
by rjaggs
^^^well that wasnt the intention, top speed dont mean anything, not on our roads.
it was just surprising that i didnt feel a speed cut engage nah, so i was asking. My info is based on dynoed facts......it understood that "reality" different from "theory"...so we on d same page
April issue of import tuner featured the 1 nz-fe in a scion - the reason given was that for a small engine it has an impressive torque output (99 lb-ft at the wheel) and 10% power loss from engine to wheel...also very impressive - 108 hp at fly, 97 at wheel. By installing a short ram intake, extractor, and changing the barrel, they registered an extra 7hp and 8 lb-ft......with stock piping and catalytic converter....not bad at all
So when ppl say the nze fast, they dont mean it will blow past a SIR or SR, it just fast for a non-sport, small engined sedan