1600cc Na tune up stage 1

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

smokey1275

1600cc Na tune up stage 1

Postby smokey1275 » November 15th, 2007, 11:14 pm

First after baseline test has been established the first order of business will be a rebuild of the lower end using new components . New rings, bearings, pistons and hopefully an oil pump. The first mechanical part to see some difference will be the head as it is in the head we see , the end result of all the cycles take place. then it will be onto the general port polishing , refurbishing the seats and valve guides and also giving the valve train a free up in the form of new shims and kit when all the headwork is done .
CorollaGT did the compression test for me and we found that the compression was a bit low in my silvertop block .Hence the reason for the plan saving for stage one --get the engine refurbished with at best parts as are available and for a price that does not send the wallet to the clappers.

enter the parts build
20valve block -- already accquired
head gasket -- available
shims -- to source
valvetrain components-- compliments toda , ( most expsensive thus far)
valve seals --- toyota
polishing ----myself
the engine build should take no less than a week , owing to schedules.
electronics will remain stock till upgrades are deemed necessary.

to start early 2008 .

Anton

Postby Anton » November 16th, 2007, 3:26 pm

Sounds good. Keep us posted. Don't forget to take pics as you go along.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » November 16th, 2007, 5:50 pm

Will do.I was fortunate to get the later model silver top head that had a differnet layout of ports in the head in terms of the shape. Flow through the head is going to be a breeze with the step 1 porting . Besides the factory burrs and casting marks the tract to the combustion chamber can be shaped ever so softly .Since this is an N.A. engine that relies on rpms to make power , air velocity is critical in this build .Does anyone know where there is a flowbench ???????? :?:

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » November 16th, 2007, 5:55 pm

point to note the later silver tops had a slighty different intake port , :D a tad bit wider. internally.

Postby AllTrac » November 16th, 2007, 6:35 pm

good stuff, update us regularly with pics

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » November 17th, 2007, 8:38 pm

Got the quote for the Toda VVT cams 256 and 264 degrees , $456.00 us plus shipping.That works out to around $3200 per camshaft. Believe you me if i could getit used i'd take it. :lol:

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » November 20th, 2007, 8:31 pm

wayyys daddy....Although those cams work like woah..... i just cant.

Terran

Postby Terran » November 21st, 2007, 8:42 am

smokey1275 wrote:Got the quote for the Toda VVT cams 256 and 264 degrees , $456.00 us plus shipping.That works out to around $3200 per camshaft. Believe you me if i could getit used i'd take it. :lol:

In time. In time...

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » December 11th, 2007, 12:02 pm

ways boy smokey.....coming down d highway today i say sumthing hadda jes hadda be wrong....i feel i really hadda give de GE a good tune up yes.....and sout out them electricals...

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » December 11th, 2007, 5:22 pm

No worries , pass through and we'll sort you out dude , its just a amtter of fine tunning your setup.

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » December 13th, 2007, 12:24 am

Also...a grounding kit is also a fairly cheap mod to try. Even though the hp increase is minimal, it can help stabilize the electrics and give you a smoother powerband.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » December 14th, 2007, 8:37 am

safe....i realised this week that my speed cut comes in in forth gear at 7K...
now that sucks donkey balls.

Postby eliteauto » December 14th, 2007, 8:49 am

Aarong420, where do you speed cut at in terms of KPH?

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » December 14th, 2007, 11:49 am

i have no idea, the speedo is cable driven and the VSS is digital, so i dont have a speedo reading.

smokey how yuh padna comin along with the blacktop bottom end.?

Postby eliteauto » December 14th, 2007, 1:36 pm

hmm does anyone know the speed cut of the 4age 20v silvertop?

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » December 15th, 2007, 7:05 pm

7200 for most of them

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » December 15th, 2007, 9:33 pm

Smoke boy, a had to go hackin away at that strut bar fo rit to fit, but it eventually get on. Workin nice.
Just got to get the BT up and runnin 100%.

corolladude

Postby corolladude » December 16th, 2007, 6:34 pm

smoke is what u will see dude, smokey! hahaha :lol: humm,, ur car pulling good for a slipping clutch, yo

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » December 16th, 2007, 9:09 pm

eah heh,.....
we go tek a run..

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » December 17th, 2007, 10:35 pm

corolladude wrote:smoke is what u will see dude, smokey! hahaha :lol: humm,, ur car pulling good for a slipping clutch, yo

lol quite , thanks dude , i got the thumb plugs sorted out , will get the pics up later. :D

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » December 17th, 2007, 10:41 pm

Aarong420 wrote:i have no idea, the speedo is cable driven and the VSS is digital, so i dont have a speedo reading.

smokey how yuh padna comin along with the blacktop bottom end.?

engine has been built its only to dial in the cams now :D

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » January 3rd, 2008, 12:32 pm

Got the engine compression ratio checked , seems that i'll only be changing valve seals :D the rest of the work is shceduled for early this year . :D

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » February 12th, 2008, 2:24 pm

News flash: cams have been accquired , party going to bee swinging at 8500 rpms soon. :D :D :D thanks to aaronng420.

Terran

Postby Terran » February 12th, 2008, 3:11 pm

smokey1275, you got cams? :shock:

I want to see proof!

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » February 12th, 2008, 3:47 pm

yea man no seen, how you plan to send the rev cut past the stock limiter though?
i know u must have some tricks in there you dont want anyone to know about, but ill just leave it as that :D

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » February 12th, 2008, 3:58 pm

Oh by the way I put up a post with some of the stuff I stiff have for sale, seems people need to see things to believe I have them, but say what.

Doe forget meh wid de installation ea smokey. If you want i can get a shop to put it on and you can hit me back the $ at month end. Or I can just twiddle my thumbs untill your ready.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » February 12th, 2008, 10:53 pm

Aarong420 wrote:yea man no seen, how you plan to send the rev cut past the stock limiter though?
i know u must have some tricks in there you dont want anyone to know about, but ill just leave it as that :D

Nah man , information is for all to see , they way i'm getting past the fuel cut is by getting a levin ecu , apprently all the levin came with a re chipped ecu , so if you guys have a pal with an authentic levin , the ecu goes past 8000. At least in the three ae101 levins i know of. :wink:

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » February 12th, 2008, 10:55 pm

Aarong420 wrote:Oh by the way I put up a post with some of the stuff I stiff have for sale, seems people need to see things to believe I have them, but say what.

Doe forget meh wid de installation ea smokey. If you want i can get a shop to put it on and you can hit me back the $ at month end. Or I can just twiddle my thumbs untill your ready.

I got the day -off on friday , so we go link up , my shop gives good prices . How early can you come down for?

D3monic

Postby D3monic » February 13th, 2008, 12:57 am

Goodluck with your Project :)
Can't Wait for the Pics.......

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » February 13th, 2008, 8:02 am

yes thanks that's the thing though can someone post the steps to put up photos , i've tried enoguh times and imageshack sticking.

Return to “TOYOTA”