turbo a 4afe

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

TRD lil boost

turbo a 4afe

Postby TRD lil boost » November 1st, 2007, 11:52 pm

tryin to boost a 4 AFE... to drive untill it blows up.

then replace with 4AGZE... and be ever so elated.

any body ever boost a 4 afe before???

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 2nd, 2007, 2:17 pm

Yea it's been done, but you might as well get a gze and work from there.
Do a SEARCH and see the amount of times we discussed this.

Then post in those threads to continue the discussion.

ilovebeti

Re: turbo a 4afe

Postby ilovebeti » November 3rd, 2007, 1:12 am

TRD lil boost wrote:tryin to boost a 4 AFE... to drive untill it blows up.

then replace with 4AGZE... and be ever so elated.

any body ever boost a 4 afe before???

TRD lil boost

Postby TRD lil boost » November 4th, 2007, 12:07 am

scene :idea:

Postby AllTrac » November 4th, 2007, 12:10 am

keep your eyes on the welds on the intake manifold and invest in a "danger to manifold" guage :idea:

save yourself the head ache and being broke all the time. Go 4agze, its a sleeping giant, i wish someone here would really put some well thought out mods on one of them to show what those 1.6's could do :twisted:

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » November 4th, 2007, 3:47 am

4AGTE using "GZE" short block. Custom sch 40 turbo manifold and T28 Huffer. 2.5 inch down pipe to 2.5 inch exhaust with two boxes. Custom 2.5in inlet piping into a SR20 Pluser/Sunny GTiR intercooler.
If I had my way I would control it with Megasquirt as you could use the exsisting sensors/actuators just add an inlet temp.
Engine should be on boost from 3000rpm with torque peaking at to 6700rpm before slowly tapering off near 7200rpm. Estimated peak torque should be near 210lbft @ 15psi on T28.
Job done.
4AFTE? What Narrow angle head...

Terran

Postby Terran » November 4th, 2007, 9:40 am

thegtiman, I seriously need to talk to you! :wink:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 5th, 2007, 2:59 pm

AllTrac wrote:keep your eyes on the welds on the intake manifold and invest in a "danger to manifold" guage :idea:

save yourself the head ache and being broke all the time. Go 4agze, its a sleeping giant, i wish someone here would really put some well thought out mods on one of them to show what those 1.6's could do :twisted:

I was on my way... then marriage. :oops:

Anton

Postby Anton » November 6th, 2007, 7:58 am

Terran wrote:thegtiman, I seriously need to talk to you! :wink:

Group meet? :D :D

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » November 6th, 2007, 7:29 pm

^ditto, that man like the toyota guru!

Anton

Postby Anton » November 7th, 2007, 8:04 am

I was on my way... then marriage. d

We in the same pirogue bro. :(

TRD lil boost

Postby TRD lil boost » November 12th, 2007, 11:06 pm

BESSS!! :twisted:
i was told of the 4gte - gze monster build... but kinda lacking the sources for a good 4age and also funds $

the 4 afe is in immaculate condition and like every true man....

i need some boost in my life...

however i was goin to run small boost on the 4afe.. blow it up and advance to a proper ge.. or even 3sgte.. if i could find it and more importantly afford it..

don't know if to do anything to it.. if the guru has spoken :? his words of boost wisdom

will wait till later on wen i get a chance to buy a proper car
...(something that could handle serious boost)

...( and it will be a toyota)

....death to all civics :!: (they are de-cepta-cons in disguise) :shock:

0X

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 13th, 2007, 10:08 am

But wouldn't be kinda... well.. all that effort and money going into a 4af(t)e, when you can just invest in parts little by little.

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » November 13th, 2007, 10:26 am

TRD lil boost wrote:BESSS!! :twisted:
i....death to all civics :!: (they are de-cepta-cons in disguise) :shock:

0X

Ahhh.... yeah... Kinda...
Death to all N/A civics without K20A1s or with huffers hangging off the side of a B16A or otherwise. Vtec Monster = highlift cams and extended duration come 5500rpm + Good Turbo (GT2871R or larger) is not to be taken lightly even in old talk!
But in the context of this thread a 4A GTE would be a nice all rounder and with a good driver, would be a challenge for most.

Terran

Postby Terran » November 13th, 2007, 1:14 pm

TRD lil boost, why are you fixed on blowing up an engine, man?

You trying to be Hondan? :mrgreen:

TRD lil boost

Postby TRD lil boost » November 14th, 2007, 12:11 am

nah nah nah no honda in my viens :lol:

tryin to source all the parts for the 4 age already bought a nice exhaust.
lookin for a turbo and intercooler.
hopefully in early next year will be runnin some nice boost.

TRD_FACTORY

Postby TRD_FACTORY » November 16th, 2007, 2:20 pm

TRD lili boost, if you going to run small boost (7psi or less) the 4afe should work but you'll need to increase you fuel supply when boost comes on! An AFR should be able to handle it !! The late model 16v 4ag (hi comp) or gze would be the best way to go since boost is addictive!! My hoss blew up a his 20v after reaching 16psi on stock internals !! That 16psi didn't come over night, he gradually raised the boost after starting up at 7psi and over the next 6months reached 16psi. Whatever you do set a limit and don't cross it ,don't matter what!!

TRD lil boost

Postby TRD lil boost » November 21st, 2007, 11:02 pm

TRD_FACTORY wrote:TRD lili boost, if you going to run small boost (7psi or less) the 4afe should work but you'll need to increase you fuel supply when boost comes on! An AFR should be able to handle it !! The late model 16v 4ag (hi comp) or gze would be the best way to go since boost is addictive!! My hoss blew up a his 20v after reaching 16psi on stock internals !! That 16psi didn't come over night, he gradually raised the boost after starting up at 7psi and over the next 6months reached 16psi. Whatever you do set a limit and don't cross it ,don't matter what!!

Serious, yes i know boost is very addictive...

it is like CRACK!!... ??!.. but more boosty :?

:?: i NOT goin to exceed the 5 psi... or even 8 psi.. cause the entire car is in immaculate condition!

(doh ask me how d F$% but it the engine and entire car still have rel life)

:idea: Level maintainence

so i just want a lil somein...

a lil boost.... well yuh know i that age nah... becoming a true man

growing facial hair and ting :shock:

good to know people try this before wit the 4afe. If i goin hardcore i will swap out for 3SGTE...

if!!!.. i could find one.

right now jus sourcing parts piece by piece until feb

Return to “TOYOTA”