Metal in 20V sump (Engine decisions)

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Aarong420

Metal in 20V sump (Engine decisions)

Postby Aarong420 » August 7th, 2007, 9:50 am

well i took out the engine to change the back crank seal and to do over my sump, cuz i was leaking some oil.
Anyways ive notices some metal like pieces in the sump. can this be a bad bearing or something?
heres a pic of them...the screw you see is about 3/4 inches long.
Last edited by Aarong420 on August 24th, 2007, 4:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 7th, 2007, 9:51 am

and if this means my engine is screwd, does anyone have a 7A bottom end to sell?

conswaylos
Location: behaving.....don't wanna get ban for ah nex 2 weeks(on d otherhand 2lick lol)

Postby conswaylos » August 7th, 2007, 10:36 am

someone throw that screw in yuh engine and it look like it cause your bearing to shell.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » August 7th, 2007, 11:52 am

:shock: :shock:

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » August 7th, 2007, 5:14 pm

:shock: looks like u spun a bearing

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » August 7th, 2007, 6:50 pm

indeed...looks like shelled bearing pieces. time to rip the block apart and see how bad it is

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 7th, 2007, 7:11 pm

correct is right.
unbolted the con rod's to check the bearings, they where good. But the main engine bearings are screwd.
So time for a rebuild. :D yippy

now that blacktop head can go on hehehe >:D

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 7th, 2007, 7:13 pm

btw if anyone is interested in seeing this taking place feel free to call and visit, dont mind helping people understand what i once didnt.
and people need to know how simple mechanics is. It's just a pain in the rass when the $$ 's gotta come out.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » August 7th, 2007, 9:13 pm

when and where?

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 8th, 2007, 12:12 pm

when i get the freaking parts, toyota said it will take 6 weeks or more to reach, trying to locate them in barbados.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » August 8th, 2007, 4:23 pm

scene i interested in learning a thing or 2

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » August 8th, 2007, 6:04 pm

^^^^ times 2

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » August 8th, 2007, 11:25 pm

i'll be there -

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 9th, 2007, 9:48 am

guess everyones on the boat...

i was reccomended to change the entire crank because the main journal "the one by the flywheel" is damaged. however because the 4age engines are balances with conn rods and pistons connected to the crank, i will need to get an entire bottom end or, a head and block.

was thining of buying the gze block from a guy on TT but im not sure of the performance becaue of the lower compression.
I've got some research to do on my best option so ill keep yall posted.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » August 9th, 2007, 4:01 pm

no, you'd want to keep the higher compression for your n/a engine, else you will lose power...unless you want to go boost one time

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » August 9th, 2007, 4:06 pm

If you want the torque specs for all the bolts in the st lemme know i might be able to get my hands on a service manual.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 11th, 2007, 5:20 pm

^^^ ill need them eventually, but im cathin my nen nen to find a good bottom end. Does anyone have one to sell.
If anyone has one or knows sumone who has a ST or BT head and block. let me know please 6784850...i need meh cyar !!

narrie

Postby narrie » August 13th, 2007, 2:22 am

yuh check gt corolla (Rudy) 489-0010. he suppose to have one.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 13th, 2007, 12:02 pm

yeah he has a ST head and block there but needed rebuilding, but again parts is the issue.
Im gonna see a blacktop sometime this week, so depending on its condition ill know how much work ive got cutout for me. I have to change the rings, but ill inspect the bearings one time. Ill keep yall posted.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 24th, 2007, 4:58 pm

Ok so heres where i've reached, the Blacktop head and block looks like its in good condition, needs new rings so im going to change the bearings one time.
But when total price is added. It's coming up to 7200. Dropped in the car and running.
I can buy another engine complete with that $, what you guys think i should do?
4efte is an option, as my car can fit both A and E series engines :D:D

Postby eliteauto » August 24th, 2007, 7:00 pm

complete 4efte would run you about $4.5-$6K and leave you some cash for upgrades, depends on your preference, but in the long run you would need to add FMIC, FPR, FCD, decat etc to get a nice running lil hatch, but the mods are available and affordable

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » August 25th, 2007, 10:47 am

I say go for the rebuild. Although you can get a complete engine for the same cost you never know what kinda abuse the engine took and what kinda condition the internals are in. Where as if you do the rebuild you know you have a basically new engine. Just my 0.02

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 27th, 2007, 12:05 pm

yeah 33 thats what i was thinking too...

any more suggestions?

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 28th, 2007, 12:32 pm

what about 4AGZE.....love the boost....and i would rather rebuilt that platform than a high compression.

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » August 28th, 2007, 12:49 pm

check smalls on the forum he might still have the gze head and block complete or call 7939154 barry

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » August 28th, 2007, 2:06 pm

sold the block, and im more looking for a complete running engine...
this aint gonna be easy to find.....i think i should look for a blacktop instead.

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » August 28th, 2007, 9:14 pm

i was leaning towards that option called auto wreck in chag they have one complete in a 101 bz front cut 6spd its like 15k for it and i think they want like 9k for like engine box shifter axles etc which is not too bad a price but i didn't get a chance to check it out mileage on cut etc so i can't exactly tell you what condition its in so you could look at that option something else kinda came up for me so definitely engine money hadda be used elsewhere so you can check it out if you wish

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » September 1st, 2007, 3:15 pm

u get through with anything aaron

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » September 1st, 2007, 7:30 pm

aaron if u decide to go with a blacktop hit me up a pm. Getting mine at a real good price at the end of the month if u want i will talk to the guy and see if he can give me a better price if i take two.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » September 1st, 2007, 9:50 pm

Well I've got alot of options, theyve got 2 or 3 blacktop's in different places. all going for around 7K complete.
Also have a 20V Silver, prep for turbo, but reliability is my main concern so im sketchy about that one.

Down time, as i am now realising, is not a big issue, because i have access to another car, so i've decided to look for a GZE (in the mean while), instead of rushin de brush and buying sumthing with less potential in the long run. They have about 3 different places that supposed to be bringing in GZE's sumtime this month, so im gonna see what they have and price, which shouldnt be too different from the BT.

33, I've been doing alot of comparison with Blacktop and the GZE seeing that these are my (very different) choices. (personally), although i love how high reving engines sound, since their power band is at high rpm, there more likely to break and ware easier, than a engine with low end power like the GZE.
Also, with little mods (smaller pully, higher lift cam - found in the bigport 16V, and FMIC), the GZE can reach 200BHP with ease, and the internals and block are good for Ave, 300Bhp. Also the Gbox is LSD and can take alot more beating and HP than the 20V.
To get those numbers from a 20V, is very difficult and expensive.
Although the parts for the GZE are rare and hard to get. I think to myself...there was not one engine rebuild part i could get in trini for the ST. And the Blacktop parts are even harder to find because they were not very popular in the US, and thats where most of us shop online.

Man ill be so happy if you decide to go GZE because the group buy would definately bring the cost down. Even better if we can get some other people to jump the boat. Will need to get the axles with the buy, cuz 20V axles will break eventually with the low end power.

Im changing my mind alot, but ive come to what i believe is the right choice, by going with the GZE. For reliability and insane power in a small platform like my EE90.

Return to “TOYOTA”