Some Fielder questions
Posted: June 16th, 2007, 2:00 am
by vintagestyles
I'm considering buying a RORO fielder soon and want to get allyuh fellas advice on some things:
I want to put on either 17's with 215/45/17 tyres or 16's with 205/50/16. I been doing some research and I know to look for an offet of about 36 - 40mm
1. Can I a 7.5" wide rim fit.. or will the 17's touch with that
2. How much of a cost difference is there between the 2 combinations above
3. Which would you all recommend.. which brings me to my other problem..
I intend to drop the car but don't know if there are any drop springs available for this. I know that there are the S.Tech for the Corolla sedans, but I'm not seeing anything for the Fielders. Can someone who has done this please give me some ideas.. oh yeah the car is coming with side skirts and front lip only.
It looking like ah going to have more problems installing the head unit with the double DIN opening.. but that is a next post.
Thanks
Posted: June 16th, 2007, 5:38 am
by TRDGUY
well what ever size tyres you put will be ok , you could even go up to 18¨s , i have 215/45/17 on my sedan and there is still about 2inch between the fender and the tyre . the prices between rims and tyres all depends on brand but then again is all up to your spending power. just remember the bigger size radius you go you tend to compromise the smoothness of ride ......
Posted: June 16th, 2007, 9:50 am
by vintagestyles
Ok, cool.. so basically most tyre sizes will fit with the right rim offset etc....
But I still need to get a definite answer about the drop springs. Anyone know for sure that the S.Tech springs for the sedan will work on the Fielder too? If not, is there another solution.. I ent willing to cut the springs eh fellas!!!
Posted: June 17th, 2007, 4:12 pm
by seanf3000
Yes there is a Tein S-Tech application for the fielder. Its a 2" drop. There are also applications by B+G, TRD, Eibach and Cusco. You should check the JDM sites and apps and also apps for the Toyota Combi...which is what the fielder is called in europe.
Now dropping the car this much and using a 7.5" rim width will need some careful calculation of offset....and i suggest that u mount a combination just to make sure before u buy.
You for sure will be safe with 205/50/16s.
As for the headunit install....there is a double din pouch package esp for the corolla/fielder as i used in my vehicle.
Posted: June 18th, 2007, 2:33 am
by vintagestyles
I was almost sure I wasn't seeing any S-Tech springs for the Fielder, but I'll have a look again. By chance, do you have the part number handy. A guy was saying that maybe the set for the Sedan can work.. but I'm not too comfortable with that.
Went looking at rims this weekend, and I'm getting 17's with 38-40mm offset and 7.5 width.
Also getting 205/40/17 tyres but I have a feeling this would touch and besides, that's too little bit of tyre to be driving on these Trini roads... ah sure the rim will bend sooner or later with that.
The thing is that rim & tyre were $4800 brand new
Anyway, I'll take your advice and look to go with 16's or probably drop the car first, then go looking for rims.
I'll start looking for the package for the HU install too.. but ah have a feeling that is some pressure to find.
Appreciate the help man!!
Posted: June 19th, 2007, 12:52 pm
by seanf3000
I got the part number on the japnese Tein site. LOL! SKY60-S1B00 is the part number for the Fielder. There is also the tein H-Tech which is a smaller drop of 1.5" but much more expensive.
You can try the guys in the Ice forum of Car Audio classifieds for the HU pocket.