WTK: AE 101 in an AE 80

Posted: May 15th, 2007, 11:29 pm
by Lean Wid IT
hey fellas i findin out some info for a pardner here.....he blow his head gasket with his old engine and he wanna upgrade to a 101 and wud like to know if it will fit....
also if neone out there has a 101 1.6 carb or 1.8 fuel injected to let go holla at me plz......with gearbox.. :D
thanx in advance
all comments are welcome...i hope to hear from the experienced toyota fellas to....

Posted: May 16th, 2007, 2:42 am
by eliteauto
The engines you're speaking of are not really AE101 exclusive engines both the 4AF and the 7AFE will fit in an AE80 very easily, but I would suggest he go with the fuel injected options 1.5:5AFE, 1.6:4AFE or 1.8:7AFE or the 1.6 20 valve 4AGE, all are plentiful in the Bamboo and range in price from $3K-$8K

Posted: May 16th, 2007, 10:27 am
by Lean Wid IT
ok ok cool...thanx i was tellin him go fuel injected as well
but I would suggest he go with the fuel injected options 1.5:5AFE, 1.6:4AFE or 1.8:7AFE or the 1.6 20 valve 4AGE

can u tell me which model toyotas each of these engines come with?

Posted: May 16th, 2007, 12:39 pm
by eliteauto
those engines came in Corollas AE91 upwards to AE111, again the vehicles these engines came in is irrelevant what matters is that they fit in the AE80 and are available

Posted: May 16th, 2007, 7:00 pm
by Lean Wid IT
aight no scene...well i talk to him he say he still lookin for d 1.6 carb from d 101 HE SAY!!!....not me...cuz he doh have all dat money right now...but yuh cud get that in d bamboo to?

Posted: May 17th, 2007, 7:55 am
by toyotajumbie
Lean Wid IT wrote:aight no scene...well i talk to him he say he still lookin for d 1.6 carb from d 101 HE SAY!!!....not me...cuz he doh have all dat money right now...but yuh cud get that in d bamboo to?
If your friend can wait a week or so I can sell him a carb from a 5A engine. I am currently installing a 5A fuel injected eng. and box in an AE91 Corolla for a friend,once completed we selling parts.

Posted: May 17th, 2007, 8:13 am
by eliteauto
^^ well he can't go wrong there, provided the engine is in good condition, plus he would be able to have it installed there also

Posted: July 13th, 2007, 2:41 pm
by shaggy
do u have to change the tranmission when installing a 1.6 20 valve 4AGE engine.

Posted: July 15th, 2007, 1:34 pm
by Hook
^^^ it's not necessary, but highly advisable to use the 20V tranny in the swap :idea:

your stock 4/5A-FE tranny won't be able to hold the power that the 20V was designed to dish out for too long, even if u have it rebuilt before the install, it won't last as long as the 20V tranny

Posted: July 17th, 2007, 5:56 am
by thegtiman
One thing I should add to this from personal experience, is the std autobox will be too tall for the very peaky nature of the 20v lump.
I found this out when I installed a 20v lump on a 4A-FE ECT autobox.
With only a 120lbft peak it will be strong enough but the revs would dip too low during shifts and the engine would feel even more guttless.
Best to buy the motor with its transmisson and engine/transmisson controls as a uint.
Reliable and responsive speed costs!

Posted: July 18th, 2007, 10:49 am
by kornbyrd
thegtiman, that is some damn good advice. I was wonderin bout that mihself.

Posted: July 18th, 2007, 5:12 pm
by Hook
mines was pretty peppy with the 4AF tranny on my 20V but it was rebuilt when the swap was done....only as it started to deteoriorate, I experienced what thegtiman is talking about, so I guess if all u did was slap on a 20V to the already used tranny, u'd get that kinda response right off the bat

I have two minds about it really eh..on the one hand, to save myself the hassle, I'd just rebuild a 20V tranny before the install..but on the other hand, I'm thinking "if it ain't broke, don't fix it"..u never know, u might just have got urself a perfectly good engine and tranny, so why tear it apart?

u decide