1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

wagonX

Postby wagonX » October 29th, 2006, 2:52 pm

Aye fellas, if you dont have it already you should download the Corolla manual from the Aussie toyota club site, altec hooked me up and I was going though it, has some real good info in there.

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » October 29th, 2006, 10:26 pm

This is a list of Toyota 4speed automatic trannies found on www.vibratesoftware.com

Trans First Second Third Fourth
A140E 2.810 1.549 1.000 0.706
A242L 3.643 2.008 1.296 0.892
A240E 2.810 1.549 1.000 0.706
A244E 4.005 2.208 1.425 0.981
A245E 3.643 2.008 1.296 0.892
A246E 4.005 2.208 1.425 0.981
A540E 2.810 1.549 1.000 0.734
A541E 2.810 1.549 1.000 0.735
U240E 3.943 2.197 1.413 1.020
U241E 3.943 2.197 1.413 1.020
U340E 2.847 1.552 1.000 0.700
U341E 2.847 1.552 1.000 0.700
U341F 2.847 1.552 1.000 0.700

The final ratio for the U341E is 4.130, however I calculated the final ratio of the A246 to be ~2.8, so the A246E eventually revs lower than the U341E. however the U341 should shift smoother. :wink:

As far as fuel economy goes, I got 425 km for $125 of premium. :shock:
So it can be safely concluded that the 3zz brain is screwed up :evil:

Even though the U341E revs higher, the ECU accounts for better fuel economy :)
Last edited by drdroutermaster on November 15th, 2006, 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » October 30th, 2006, 7:21 am

I woke up this morning with a bright idea :idea:

My mech does diagnostics for $100. If anyone is interested, we can get him to record the parameters of these 3zz engines. Those with good fuel economy :D and those with poor fuel economy :(

We can then post up a summary of these results and see where these parameters vary and by how much :!: :!: :!:

Interested :?: :arrow: call Satesh @753-3288 :wink:

Val

Postby Val » October 30th, 2006, 7:50 am

sentraman wrote:If the cat converter is removed from the exhaust what effect would that have on the car??

Would improve the power of the car, but it will probably burn more gas too. That is of course, provided that your cat converter is in proper working condition all now.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 30th, 2006, 9:05 am

Exactly as i thought drdroutermaster, the fuel maps in the 3zz sure do result in heavy fuel consumption for some.

sentraman, I think removing the cat won't have too much effect on the vehicle....slightly better performance.....slightly more gas consumption (probably from more mashing than anything else :lol: )

Just so youall know me and my mech changed the fuel filter Saturday. Not as easy as cheesepie made it seem (sorry rishi....ah know you like ah hands on ting). I have some pics so i'll make a separate thread about it. But for most people.....i think allyuh better of paying yuh $30 at masterserve and letting them do it.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » October 30th, 2006, 9:47 am

I went and got the rolla diagnosed on Saturday AGAIN and of course they said everything was ok. They also put a rich\lean type of gauge in the exhaust pipe and guess what they said the car is burning great. Plugs were checked and yes of course showing signs of a economical car. WTF :roll: :roll: :roll:

Did I mention my last milage count was 300kms.

I wonder if a 1nz ecu could work on that engine :?

sentraman

Postby sentraman » October 30th, 2006, 9:48 am

Aye Sean how much for the filter now?

sentraman

Postby sentraman » October 30th, 2006, 9:58 am

BTW I believe my cat converter is rattling, can this cause problems and does toyota supply replacements for it?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 30th, 2006, 12:17 pm

sentraman wrote:Aye Sean how much for the filter now?

Fuel filter is now 380+ vat i think.

wonder if a 1nz ecu could work on that engine Confused

I eh to sure bout that eh padna......3zz to 1zz is an easier kind of setup....but the 1nz is a different generation of engine. Way different fuel maps....remember they design that engine to run on 95octane. So a full diag came up empty again eh........starting to wonder about that car now :?

TTTL will have cats in the warehouse.....but i dunno if yuh realllly want to pay for that eh.....if the converter material loose....bess yuh just gut it and done.

Val

Postby Val » October 30th, 2006, 12:26 pm

sentraman wrote:I went and got the rolla diagnosed on Saturday AGAIN and of course they said everything was ok. They also put a rich\lean type of gauge in the exhaust pipe and guess what they said the car is burning great. Plugs were checked and yes of course showing signs of a economical car. WTF :roll: :roll: :roll:

Did I mention my last milage count was 300kms.

I wonder if a 1nz ecu could work on that engine :?

bess you put in ah SR20 and done.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 30th, 2006, 1:49 pm

^^^boi.....doh say them kinda ting yes.........certain sr20 luving mods does be patrolling these threads. :lol: :lol:

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » October 30th, 2006, 2:04 pm

:D :D :D someone called?

Val make real sense there! After the stress sean went through to change a simple thing like a fuel filter on Saturday and then get a CEL, it would have been way easier and taken less time to drop in the sr20 and change the filter right in the engine bay 8-)

sentraman

Postby sentraman » October 30th, 2006, 2:43 pm

I see a Fielder by a certain mechanic with a sr20DET 5fwd in it LAWDDDDD :twisted: :twisted:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 30th, 2006, 3:10 pm

^^^yuh lie!!!!!!.... Who the fack make this beast now dread?????? :shock: :shock: :shock:

Someone really wanted a contraption now didnt they?? :lol:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 30th, 2006, 3:13 pm

PLus to add the story.....the fuel filter and strainer was IMMACULATELY CLEAN when i take it out. I coulda eat of the surface of that gas tank..... Not a spot of debris!!!!

Ahhhh yesss..... good ole premium and 2yrs of redline works wonders!!!!!!!!

Hadda thank dave for that tip yes!!!!! :lol: :lol:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » October 30th, 2006, 3:20 pm

seanf3000 wrote:^^^yuh lie!!!!!!.... Who the fack make this beast now dread?????? :shock: :shock: :shock:

Someone really wanted a contraption now didnt they?? :lol:

serious a PBW with the original body kit. Silver and black. 4 gauges on the post dread plus a big tach. Front mount intercooler fit right behind the bumper. The intercooler big and fit like it was meant to be there. You cannot even see it.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » October 30th, 2006, 3:26 pm

Pics please!!

sentraman

Postby sentraman » October 30th, 2006, 3:27 pm

fellas I willing to rent a MAF for a week who with meh :mrgreen:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 30th, 2006, 3:28 pm

I hadda look out for this beast now yes. Someone had a real itch to scratch there to pull orf that swap. Like 2zz wasnt good enough for him?? That swap was local or he get ti from japan like that. LOL!

But i remember a mech telling meh dat already yes.....that they have real room for an IC in that bumper. :lol: :lol:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » October 30th, 2006, 3:37 pm

the swap aint complete yet boy sean. Should be finished soon. The fella mash up he tranny for the 1nz and do dat swap yes.

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » October 30th, 2006, 3:56 pm

I believe my cat converter is rattling, can this cause problems and does toyota supply replacements for it?

Sentraman brace yourself :!: :!: The cat at TTTL is over $6000TT :shock: It is part of a pipe assembly :cry: :cry: :cry:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 30th, 2006, 4:01 pm

Ploi........real man mashing up they eng/transmission and putting some real tings in their engine bay yes.

Forget TTTL yes....get a cat from a front cut. And allyuh doh damage the fuel pump eh.....that lil cylindrical thing is 2800 plus vat.

wagonX

Postby wagonX » October 30th, 2006, 4:38 pm

seanf3000 wrote:Ploi........real man mashing up they eng/transmission and putting some real tings in their engine bay yes.

Forget TTTL yes....get a cat from a front cut. And allyuh doh damage the fuel pump eh.....that lil cylindrical thing is 2800 plus vat.

De way dem parts prices high, a redtop not looking too bad right about now :lol: ...and i almost do it too after TTL want to charge me $9000 for a Throttle body. :roll:

BUT I would put in a 3s first, according to a ceartain man when he look under the hood "Wheeeeyyyyy it have real space in dey, ah 3s go fit nice" :lol:

art n motion

Postby art n motion » November 3rd, 2006, 11:36 am

there is also similar builds for the nz family of engines

they take the 1nz-fxe (prius engine) bottom end and the 1nz-fe head to get 13.5:1 cr

what the HP rating on something like this :?:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » November 3rd, 2006, 12:35 pm

Calling XOutlaw........Calling Dr. XOutlaw...............

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » November 3rd, 2006, 12:41 pm

:lol: :lol: if u have the high quality gas to run it......it makes about 200whp

art n motion

Postby art n motion » November 3rd, 2006, 8:37 pm

drdroutermaster
where in longdenville you live :?:
I live there also 8-)

Outlaw....where can I get that sorta set up :?:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » November 4th, 2006, 8:48 am

Well...yuh have to find a prius engine first art........ i eh want to know how the arse we getting one of dem down here. :lol:

art n motion

Postby art n motion » November 4th, 2006, 8:13 pm

^^well if I do get one............that would be one hell of an arse :mrgreen:

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » November 4th, 2006, 9:05 pm

where in longdenville you live
I live there also

Ice factory side :!:

Art n motion, Send me an email nah, my email address is listed here :wink: