The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

music man

Postby music man » February 11th, 2010, 3:18 am

wrd.. 4AG woooot ! wooooot!

Postby A172 » February 11th, 2010, 4:07 am

josh.dookie wrote:^^^, what BT cams ad 3sgte AFM, ummm ok, if das ur idea of mods, thought u had more stuff done dan that seeing that u sparkin such discussion of more torque and what not..! Cool scene man.

Postby Hook » February 11th, 2010, 8:05 am

^^^"try anything" such as......?

Zeriam

dis

Postby Zeriam » February 11th, 2010, 8:11 am

This is what I've been instructed to do:
Find a nice, long, and hopefully deserted road. After getting the car up to normal operating temperature, and after resetting the ECU, drive the car up to 60km/h and then let the car slow down to 30km/h WITHOUT touching the brakes. I assume you should leave the car in gear. Once you hit 30km/h, take the car up to 70km/h and then once again let it slow to 30km/h. Repeat this procedure for 80, 90, and 100km/h. Doing this should give the proper and consistent readings it needs in order to decide how to run the engine in the most efficient way, and apparently this works for most EFI systems used by pre-96 vehicles
this

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » February 11th, 2010, 8:34 am

dem so call mods :roll: i dont know which toyota "wizard" advises u ....gees and ages man!

OPEN UR EYES!

didn't u say u spent like $12000+ on a 4age to get wash from lasminuite padna with the GA14 in his B14?
, i saw ur car down p town again , i hope this time u using ur sense and
installing a 4afe with tranny ,at least it will be reliable and economical and a little faster than how u were :arrow:

u put up a thread asking to make torque , when experienced men tell u forced induction , u saying that is not ur style etc. u want 200whp n/a. speed is big money pappy u cant get that power for no $2

i really dont know who fool u and tell u a stock 20v cud do 170-200whp jus so.... and all kinda chupid talk bout learning ecu and using 3s brain in 4a and the like .

the 20v is a bess engine yes i say so , but is sad that most of the tuners who have it don't know sh1t bout it and will never ever ever ever experience its true potential

Postby Hook » February 11th, 2010, 8:39 am

I've done it...makes no difference.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » February 11th, 2010, 8:40 am

^^ damm right hook :arrow:

Postby honda hoe » February 11th, 2010, 9:15 am

Zeriam,

wuz ur budget?

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » February 11th, 2010, 9:21 am

^^^ very good question... (cant believe hoe ask it lol)
Them toda cams he mentioned is about 10k, lightened flywheel $?, extractors 3-5k, thats real money for N.A. project, and is true, and das jus a couple of partseh, it not ez to come by 200hp on a stock 20valve as Zeriam claims.

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » February 11th, 2010, 9:25 am

Bigger Exhaust and cone filter is mods once you deviate from the oem specs is a mod. Dont fight down d man he tryin lil by lil wit na u have 2 spend a lot 2 gain a little. Cowards and bang 4 buck ppl go turbo. NA > boost

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » February 11th, 2010, 9:44 am

I did a 5efhe na project and it ran well never dyno but it beat stk 4efte and d16zc in qtrmile. Feel nice pullin 8000rpm i still have d na intake an exhaust maybe i go come out an give d hoe a pull.
5efhe na mods:
4efe pistons raise comp to 10.5:1
Shave 4efte head 25 thou
5efhe 8runner manifold
TRD .5mm headgasket
5efhe cams
195cc injectors
Upgrade 5efhe ecu (8000rpm limiter) wit emanage blue

Postby eliteauto » February 11th, 2010, 10:28 am

^^ agreed none at all, if I ever disconnect the battery or fuse, I just reconnect and drive the car like a proper buttocks, after that I good :lol: :lol:

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » February 11th, 2010, 10:31 am

I did a 5efhe na project and it ran well never dyno but it beat stk 4efte and d16zc in qtrmile. Feel nice pullin 8000rpm i still have d na intake an exhaust maybe i go come out an give d hoe a pull.
5efhe na mods:
4efe pistons raise comp to 10.5:1
Shave 4efte head 25 thou
5efhe 8runner manifold
TRD .5mm headgasket
5efhe cams
195cc injectors
Upgrade 5efhe ecu (8000rpm limiter) wit emanage blue

That sound like a real nice lil NA project, u ran men with B18c on that setup? To what results u got from the engine, waz ur estimate seeing dat twas never dynoed?

Postby eliteauto » February 11th, 2010, 10:50 am

BT cams do almost nothing to an ST it's like a placebo you drop em in and "feel" the difference... guys who run them usually do so in conjunction with other mods so they work better and men watching the cars think it's the BT cams at work, firstly the exhaust cams are the same only the intake is slightly more aggressive but the benefits are negligible
The 3S AFM is larger and a direct plug in so it allows more air to pass, coupled with the BT cam you're probably getting more air in the chamber but stock injectors, timing, fuel pressure and ECU means the gains are not much, personally even with trumpets and airbox I'd prob be doing more whp than you with my "close to new,stock compression across all cylinders well maintained ST"..most of those mods are hype with no proven results either on the dyno or in street racing

If you wanna stay n/a and aim for 200..I was planning to install a Beams 3SGE "redtop" from the ST202 Celica but my car was sold last week, you can have the full conversion for 10K http://www.beams-redtop.com/redhome.htm
Alternatively forget the old talk from the 20V experts and buy a NOS kit and management..it works out cheaper and it's fun when you need it

By my last estimates 200whp in an n/a 20V was a budget of around $26K
MY $0.02

trdboy

Postby trdboy » February 11th, 2010, 11:10 am

so why u just doh buy a 2zzge and done??

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » February 11th, 2010, 11:14 am

^^ well if he buy a 2zzge den he wudn have no 20valve project goin on nah.. Plus I wanna see how he plan to acheive 200hp on his ST "easy" as he mentioned prviously!

rx80

Postby rx80 » February 11th, 2010, 11:33 am

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » February 11th, 2010, 11:34 am

By my last estimates 200whp in an n/a 20V was a budget of around $26K
MY $0.02

2zzge complete with box 10 - 13k

Postby honda hoe » February 11th, 2010, 11:36 am

26k?

only

spend ting nah man

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » February 11th, 2010, 11:42 am

too bad boost is not your thing zeriam..

Postby Hook » February 11th, 2010, 12:04 pm

^^^ :lol: like your ECU does disconnect every time u switch off!

But yeah, it's a cool learning ECU in terms of the PWR/MANU/ECON modes with the ECTS.

In ECON mode it shifts at low rpms and it's smooth, but with a flick of the switch into PWR mode it redlines every gear and shifts more agressively.
If u granny drive in traffic while in PWR mode, you have to "teach" it how to be agressive again though. That's when the buttocks driving comes in :lol:

Postby eliteauto » February 11th, 2010, 12:23 pm

rx80 wrote:http://forum.9000rpm.co.za/viewtopic.php?id=8247
bomp

nice but note what it is being used for CIRCUIT..which is what the 4AGE was designed for..most guys here still feel they can make a 1/4 mile monster from one on the cheap

Postby eliteauto » February 11th, 2010, 12:23 pm

honda hoe wrote:26k?

only

spend ting nah man

try yuh facking best eh :lol: :lol: :lol:

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » February 11th, 2010, 12:33 pm

zeriam post a list of cars and their engines/mods that you or yuh padnas have claimed to have beaten on the street, where ever, on ur current 20v setups.

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » February 11th, 2010, 12:38 pm

nice but note what it is being used for CIRCUIT..which is what the 4AGE was designed for..most guys here still feel they can make a 1/4 mile monster from one on the cheap

zeriam post a list of cars and their engines/mods that you or yuh padnas have claimed to have beaten on the street, where ever, on ur current 20v setups.

:lol: ^^^

rx80

Postby rx80 » February 11th, 2010, 12:54 pm

rx80

Postby rx80 » February 11th, 2010, 12:56 pm

Another important thing with these builds are the weight of the cars, most of the na cars with the 20v are stripped and as eliteauto, noted used for circuit.

Postby honda hoe » February 11th, 2010, 1:01 pm

Zeriam,

if u serious bout makin crazy power

u hadda spend $$$

bess advice i could give yuh

sell yuh B13 an yuh corolla

buy an eg hatch

install a K20

ecu, cams, itb's, headers exhaust

yuh rippin!!

Postby honda hoe » February 11th, 2010, 1:14 pm

haydn28 wrote:^^ any good wukin 4e/5efte will mash in a K20 :twisted:

cuz allyuh need this to make power :lol:

baby engine FTL :|

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » February 11th, 2010, 1:18 pm

honda hoe wrote:
haydn28 wrote:^^ any good wukin 4e/5efte will mash in a K20 :twisted:

cuz allyuh need this to make power :lol:

baby engine FTL :|

:lol: it really need that to make power!

Return to “TOYOTA”