1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

wagonX

Postby wagonX » October 22nd, 2006, 2:57 pm

was supposed to give an update since friday...this is the Scion Xa throttle body...

Got the pics from a guy off of ebay.

its the EXACT same throttle body in the 1.5 VVtis the part numbers are even the same you cant see it there but i have bigger photos. The Scion Xa engine parts are the same as the 1.5 fielders and Corollas just so anyone wants to know.

And the price...lets just say i could buy over 13 of these if I had TTTL money to spend and its the ENTIRE TB including sensors.

Anyway on another note i got through with something locally not saying anything till my mech fixes me up and that is tomm...we will see the final verdict.

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » October 23rd, 2006, 6:46 am

Can anyone with a 1zz corolla telly me what their RPM at the following speeds are :?:

80kph
120kph
140kph

Also idle RPM

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 23rd, 2006, 9:32 am

^^^ I'll check on my drive home today.....but i can say 120kph is about 3100rpm in 4th. My idle rpm is about 950 when properly heated up. i'll think that 80 kph should be about 2100 rpm. I'm not sure if there are differences in the transmission ratios between the sedans and wagons... I know this is so for some car models. I also am not sure about the transmission differences between the 1zz and 3zz.

1ZZ engine
3ZZ ECU, harness, coil pack, tranny, O2 and airflow sensors, exhaust. Sad

1zz harness will not plug into 3zz tranny, and 1zz ecu will not start engine.

However, the faulty O2 sensors are not generating any error codes right now Laughing but I think she burning alot of gas Rolling Eyes

Anyone knows the gear ratios of these trannies Question

Will possibly need 1zz tranny in the future though

Holy cow man........that really is a frank!!!! :shock: Biggest problems there is the 3ZZ ECU. I'm not surprissed that you're burning gas.....if guys get less mileage on the 3zzs.......this should be one hell of a burner. But 1ZZ ECU will not start the lump?? thats scary!!

Give me the part numbers for the o2 sensors.....well......I guess that would have been easier before the engine went in. and i will check against my own.

Val

Postby Val » October 23rd, 2006, 9:38 am

That's not really a frank eh. Frankenstein is like a B16A head on a B20 block, or K20A head on K24A block.

But then again, this is Toyota, hardly likely you gonna see a 3ZZ head on a 1ZZ block lol.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » October 23rd, 2006, 9:49 am

Val wrote:But then again, this is Toyota, hardly likely you gonna see a 3ZZ head on a 1ZZ block lol.

what that gonna do

Val

Postby Val » October 23rd, 2006, 9:51 am

exactly....not a damn thing.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 23rd, 2006, 10:20 am

I mean more frank as in..........it might perform way orf with that miriad of electronics

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » October 23rd, 2006, 10:22 am

there is a frankenstein for the zz family.....the 3ZZ-GE

basically its some swaped internals specifically the 1zz crank into a 2zz block and head. The 1zz crank has a longer stroke so in the end u end up with a (1.99cc) 2L motor. Companies that do the build usually provides you with a choice of pistions (diffrent compression) for ur specific application

HP figures depend on the compression used and how the engine managment is tuned....some numbers from a company that does the build is

214hp @ 7700rpm @ 12.5:1
230hp @ 8210rpm @ 13.5:1

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 23rd, 2006, 10:25 am

^^yeah.....thats the one we speak about.......those aussies are like....gawd damn....you guys have 3zzs..... :shock:

Little they realise we poor sods have OEM 3zzs with like 110hp. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Bloody Australians!!!

Val

Postby Val » October 23rd, 2006, 10:27 am

13.5:1

You don't say :lol:

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » October 23rd, 2006, 10:40 am

there is also similar builds for the nz family of engines

they take the 1nz-fxe (prius engine) bottom end and the 1nz-fe head to get 13.5:1 cr

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 23rd, 2006, 11:14 am

Val wrote:13.5:1

You don't say :lol:

They ping on the 105 octane fuel.....ah hahahahaha!!!

Anyways....most of those franks....are in MR-Ss. So you can imagine the power to weight ratio!

wagonX

Postby wagonX » October 23rd, 2006, 3:37 pm

HA!!! back in order! Part replaced and running like a bandit with a vigilante mob on his heels! Got someone who would scrapout a TB, a rare find. Anyway, I just joined the Aussie toyota owners forum I'll be able to jump in this 3zz discussion soon.

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » October 23rd, 2006, 8:35 pm

But then again, this is Toyota, hardly likely you gonna see a 3ZZ head on a 1ZZ block lol.

a 3zz head may fit on a 1zz block.
The result would be increased compression ratio, but the 1zz trottle body will not bolt on as it is much bigger.

so more compression with less air and fuel gives...............less power :(

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » October 23rd, 2006, 8:43 pm

I'll check on my drive home today.....but i can say 120kph is about 3100rpm in 4th.

at 80kph with the A246E transmission (from the 3zz), I'am at 1900rpm, at 120kph, am at 2800 rpm.

i idle at at 800 rpm.

It sounds like my A246 may have a different gear ratio from you.

BTW, what tranny model are you running seanf3000?

how do I upload pics?

Has any out removed the cat from their 1zz or 3zz pipes? And can a bad cat be the cause of our fuel economy woes?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 25th, 2006, 8:31 am

Yeah...thought as much.......noted the same for other model cars. Not sure which tranny i'm running yes. I'm seeing A245E on the workshop manual.....but thats the USDM sedan. Don't know if thats the same for the JDM fielder, but its on their 1zz-fe.

I'm not sure if a clogged cat will cause that much bad fuel econo....but it would rob you of power.

For pics hosting...check imageshack.

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » October 26th, 2006, 4:25 pm

I'm seeing A245E on the workshop manual

The name plate under the hood where model, engine and chasis numbers are, have the tranny model number on it too :D

I only realized that last week :!:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 26th, 2006, 7:29 pm

ahhhhhh...thanks for the tip.....then things even more diff....it says U341E! LOL!

karl

Postby karl » October 26th, 2006, 11:23 pm

bought a 1nz from firm

its like a week old and i doin like 500kms and still got a quarter tank left.
.(a mixture of short runs/hiway, a/c, no a/c.) no redlines since it new :(

i will run it down and do another full up and mileage check any let yall know whats going on...i aiming for a 700kms on a tank. :)

btw my old 3zz still squeezes out 400kms from 80$ super.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » October 26th, 2006, 11:50 pm

drdroutermaster wrote:
I'm seeing A245E on the workshop manual

The name plate under the hood where model, engine and chasis numbers are, have the tranny model number on it too :D

I only realized that last week :!:

de local cars have no gawd dam name plate damit!!!

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » October 27th, 2006, 7:33 am

:wtf: where did they stamp the chassis number then?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » October 27th, 2006, 7:45 am

^^ it stamp on de firewall

other than that there is a sticker on the left door post that has the additional into

tranny code for de 1nz : u340e-02a

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 27th, 2006, 8:17 am

Ahhhh.... so it appears that the JDM cars have got different transmissions U340/U341 (since the local nze is from jap stock) and the other markets (USDM/SDM) got a diff transmission.....e.g. 245/246.

Interesting....I shall have to check with meh aussie bredren.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » October 27th, 2006, 9:57 am

Four Speed Automatic Transaxles

Trans: U340E
First: 2.847
Second: 1.552
Third: 1.000
Fourth: 0.700

ADVANCED 4 SPEED AUTO FOR 1NZ-FE,2NZ-FE

The U340E transmission shares many advanced features with the U441E transmission in Echo Hatch from Australia.

The U340E intermediate ratios and final drive ratio have been selected to match the higher torque of the 1.5 litre 1NZ-FE engine.

Toyota Echo Hatch has an optional state-of-the-art electronically controlled four-speed overdrive automatic transmission.

The Toyota U441E automatic transmission offers significant driveability, efficiency and comfort advantages.

It halves shift lag compared with a conventional automatic transmission to achieve improved response.

The U441E transmission has the efficiency advantages of a Ravigneaux-type planetary gear and the smoothness of electronic control.

The transmission also saves on weight and complexity.

The Ravigneaux planetary gear affects the shifting of all speeds using one set of planetary gears - compared with three in a conventional automatic.

Toyota has also adopted clutch-to-clutch pressure control, reducing the number of brakes from four to three and the number of one-way clutches from three to two.

The adoption of Toyota’s Super ECT electronic control gives Echo automatic models a range of additional features.

Features of the Automatic Transmission include:

* clutch-to-clutch pressure control, for the 3-4 and 4-3 shifts, to provide smoother shifting.

* a centrifugal fluid pressure cancelling mechanism in the C1 clutch, for the 4-3 and 4-2 changes. The new mechanism improves shift response and smoothness

* line-pressure optimal control, using a linear solenoid valve to match line pressure to engine torque. It promotes smooth shifting and optimises the workload on the U441E’s new, more compact and efficient oil pump.

* clutch pressure optimal control using a solenoid valve to minutely control the clutch pressure according to engine torque and driving conditions - for smoother shifting.

The combination of the centrifugal fluid pressure cancelling mechanism and clutch pressure optimal control provides smooth shifting and halves shift-lag time for improved response.

The U441E shares an ECU with the 1.3 litre 2NZ-FE engine.

The ECU uses input on engine speed, crankshaft angle, water temperature, throttle position, the neutral start switch, vehicle speed, input turbine speed, stop light switch (brake actuation), transmission fluid temperature and transmission control switch (overdrive switch) to provide optimum driveability.

Toyota’s ECT features include torque control during shifting (to minimise shift shock), N to D squat control and A/T shift lock (to minimise the possibility of incorrect operation of the automatic transaxle).

Text was adapted and edited from the following source:
http://www.pressroom.com.au/pressroom/s ... kit.htm#27

Val

Postby Val » October 27th, 2006, 10:09 am

The tranny still not perfect. It stutters sometimes when shifting from 2 --> 1 if you floor it, then come off the gas slightly.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » October 27th, 2006, 10:17 am

hummm never experienced that

Val

Postby Val » October 27th, 2006, 10:20 am

I got that twice so far, and the car is doing 2400 kms. You would think by now that the ECU is tuned to my driving habits.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 27th, 2006, 11:00 am

Hmmmm.... never got any stutter like that before. These tranmissions prefer more of a progressive throttle application than an immediate x to board. I think the tested 1/4 mile times reflected that.

No matter..... i wonder if drdroutemaster would get better gas mileage since according to the tach readings....the 245 transmission seems longer geared than the 341 transmission.

Steupz!!!......manual is still the real ting doh!

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » October 27th, 2006, 11:13 am

i speeeet on manual!!! *twwwa* *twwwa*

sentraman

Postby sentraman » October 29th, 2006, 1:30 pm

If the cat converter is removed from the exhaust what effect would that have on the car??

Return to “TOYOTA”