gt4tified wrote:reddo, Duane (drd3sgte) has an l-touring wagon. If you're certain it was a dx wagon then it wasn't him. But I hear that putting a 3sgte in the dxwagon is the new in-thing now....4wd madness.
branz wrote:WTB a bigger fuel rail for my 20valve engine and also do u need a management system for the increase of fuel or the stock brain cod be tuned for this!
Tsuchiya wrote:^^it is hella rare in T&T...
i built a 4ag some years back (RWD); 16v big port head, a pair of 45 weber carbs, match-porting on intake and exhaust, stock 16v cams, a stock blacktop 20v bottom end complete, MSD coil.
The only down-side I encountered was the power dropping off above 7300 rpm, as a stock 16v would. I suspected the stock cams just couldn't provide the upper rpm breathing, and i never got to try higher lift/duration cams.
But it was an eye-opening combo to say the least. Performance was abit better than a slightly modded 20v silvertop.
In the end, the completed engine worked out to be half the price of a complete silvertop 20v 4ag based on bamboo prices, as the blacktop bottom end was bought as a head and block and 16v heads are virtually being thrown away. Oil consumption was minimal; fuel consumption was pretty damn good for those huge draughts. The sound was feral![]()
Had I more time to tinker with that engine, I believe it could have spit out 120 to 130 whp.
true but i'm not a fan of turbo even tho the next project is gonna be something turbo currently testing the waters with the "blue stars" company.haydn28 wrote:rx80 wrote:Boi aint need to do all that, you gonna need some type of management if you decide forced induction so install a greddy emanage with a greddy map. And yuh orn.
forced induction in not the unreliable thing most people think it is
Zeriam wrote:target hp is 200ish(give or take) which i can achieve with n/a and would be easy to do. i'm more about driver feel and over all response than hp figures.
eliteauto wrote:Zeriam wrote:target hp is 200ish(give or take) which i can achieve with n/a and would be easy to do. i'm more about driver feel and over all response than hp figures.
easy to do .......yes
cheap........no
the reality of the 20V is that it's a technical marvel, ahead of it's time when it came out, but it never got the following of say the B16A or SR16VE and as such, mods are way more expensive to come by, furthermore the engine is a lot more comfortable on a circuit track than say a drag strip, I'm glad for those who want to experiment and wish them luck