1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » January 17th, 2006, 3:04 pm

hey sentraman, i have the exact car like you..a 1.6roro with the 3zz-fe engine. I usually full up with premium and i typically get around 300k to the half tank...don't usually run it too low after that since i always like to have gas in the car. Oh and by the way i am driving from san fernando to westmoorings everyday in traffic. I got the car a couple of months back and had TTTL do a full service on it. I actually get much better mileage when the road is clear and i am going at a higher speed.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 17th, 2006, 3:37 pm

Sando to West Moorings??????? Man dat is a pull!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And you get 300km for a half tank. Real good mileage there yes!

Just went to full up. Got 470km from full to 1/4 tank. Remember this is the 1ZZ.

Any update on your mileage sentraman?? Or yuh still cussing the attendant?? :lol: :lol:

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » January 17th, 2006, 3:56 pm

seanf3000 wrote:Sando to West Moorings??????? Man dat is a pull!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And you get 300km for a half tank. Real good mileage there yes!

Just went to full up. Got 470km from full to 1/4 tank. Remember this is the 1ZZ.

Any update on your mileage sentraman?? Or yuh still cussing the attendant?? :lol: :lol:

Well to be more accurate its more like 290 something to the half tank. i rounded it off.

you getting 470km off quarter tank :shock: :shock: ? What kind of runs are you making...

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 17th, 2006, 4:35 pm

LOL......nah its 470km off 3/4 tank of gas, from Full to 1/4 tank full mark. Man if i could get 470km of a quarter tank....for sure for sure...i was gonna pull bull.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 18th, 2006, 1:02 am

like me and sentraman in the same boat.
seems like we eh doing something that darkcloud doin'/

sentraman

Postby sentraman » January 18th, 2006, 8:16 am

nah dread I only get around 200kms from the first 1/2 then only 150kms or so till the dam gas light come on :cry: :cry:

I carried back the car yesterday and left it for them to check out. Hopefully they can sort it out. Nigel if they do (praying) I will let you know what to do.

Hey darkcloud which service level did u do at toyota and how much did it cost ya :?:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » January 18th, 2006, 8:21 am

nigel1977 wrote:righto.
i just put ah 120 supie in he tail. doing just over 370 and i got a lil over 1/4 to go.

Ya doing just a lil better than me cause i getting around that or less to the whole flipping tank

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » January 18th, 2006, 9:55 am

nigel1977 wrote:like me and sentraman in the same boat.
seems like we eh doing something that darkcloud doin'/

Alright fellars as i said as soon as i had gotten this car i sent it straight to Toyota to do a full service...yeah it cost alot but i wanted to make sure everything was working properly. Yesterday i filled up my tank with premium...I am going to run it until the gas light comes on and let you know exactly how much mileage i getting to the tank...yesterday when i went to put gas i had done 330km and the gas needle was only a notch below half tank...i sure i could have put down a next 100km or so with that amount of gas. Let me try it and i'll let you know...by the way we are running the same engine right? i got the 1.6Gli corolla RORO with the 3zz-fe engine from singapore.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 18th, 2006, 10:32 am

I think the others running 1nz-fes.

Now fellas i have once gotten 350-375 km from a whole tank....but thats with some real pace driving for that tank and when I open it up that 1.8 can suck gas.

Thinking about it now....i suppose 400km to a tank should be a good figure eh....but in comparison to the mileages that outlaw, darkcloud and I getting it seems bad.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » January 18th, 2006, 10:43 am

seanf3000 wrote:I think the others running 1nz-fes.

Now fellas i have once gotten 350-375 km from a whole tank....but thats with some real pace driving for that tank and when I open it up that 1.8 can suck gas.

Thinking about it now....i suppose 400km to a tank should be a good figure eh....but in comparison to the mileages that outlaw, darkcloud and I getting it seems bad.

if i recall correctly from this thread i think sentraman and nigel1977 running the 1.6 engine which is the 3zz-fe and not the 1.5 1zz

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 18th, 2006, 11:14 am

yeah. i got the 3zz.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 18th, 2006, 11:16 am

b.t.w. darkcloud...thas 16's or 17's? and did you drop as yet/

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » January 18th, 2006, 11:43 am

nigel1977 wrote:b.t.w. darkcloud...thas 16's or 17's? and did you drop as yet/

I have the car as it came stock from singapore with 17' rims and tyres 215/45/17...not sure if this would make a difference

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 18th, 2006, 11:56 am

DarkClouD wrote:
seanf3000 wrote:I think the others running 1nz-fes.

if i recall correctly from this thread i think sentraman and nigel1977 running the 1.6 engine which is the 3zz-fe and not the 1.5 1zz

My mistake......seems like you all running the 3zz-fe, cept outlaw running the 1nz and i'm running the 1zz-fe. Was gonna say maybe its something about the SDM cars but I find Darkcloud getting good mileage and he has a 3zz.

He has however serviced at TTTL. Maybe you all should try that. I'm unsure what that will do however.....doubtfull.

Darkclouds rim and tyre combination doesnt sound to far off the original rolling diameter....185/70/14. Not more that 3% off. So that alone wouldn't attribute that much to the mileage. What tyre/rim combos the rest of youall using?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 18th, 2006, 12:16 pm

205/55/16

i gonna change out the filter and the plugs and do an injector flush. i hope that helps.

w.r.t. the firm service, i wonder what else they do.
we already scanned the car for error codes etc, and found none.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 18th, 2006, 12:30 pm

believe it or not.............. i have the smallest rolling diameter and the biggest engine out of the three of us and have the better mileage.

nigel1977 has the largest rolling diameter ......and the worst mileage out of the three of us....

Go Figure.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 18th, 2006, 12:43 pm

i just plugged some arbitary specs into the tyre calc thingy

stock
185/70/14
revs per mile 859.8
actual speed 60mph

option 1 205/55/16. thats what i got
revs per mile 836.3
speedo 58.3mph
speedo difference 2.8% too slow
diameter diff 2.74%

option 2 205/50/16. what i should have got
revs per mile 864.1
speedo 60.3
speedo difference 0.5% too fast
diameter diff 0.5%

option 3. what dark cloud has 215/45/17
revs per mile 845.1
speedo 58.9
speedo diff 1.739% too slow
Diameter diff 1.71%

would my mileage increase if i switch to 205/50/16???

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 18th, 2006, 12:49 pm

if you switch to 205/60/16 your mileage will actually go down since your overall rolling diameter will decrease. In fact you will now get 3.3% less distance traveled on the equivalent tank of gas as compared to before.

Altho 205/50/16 is the closest option there is to stock for our cars.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 18th, 2006, 12:51 pm

good, so we can almost eliminate tyre sizing as the cause for low fuel economy right?

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » January 18th, 2006, 1:05 pm

guys give me until this weekend to run down my tank and i'll let you know exactly how much mileage i getting to the tank...all i know so far is i getting 330km from full to just a notch below half. Filled up yesterday and with the kind of driving i do i expect by Fri/Sat my tank would be empty..my trips are crazy sando-westmoorings, then to mba classes in the east etc

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 18th, 2006, 1:18 pm

another "dumb" question, has anyone seen the rollas fuel tank. the reason im asking this is that the top half seems to be bigger??

the question isnt so crazy cuz with my 96 pug, i get the same mileage on both halves of the tank, give or take 20 miles. i cal almost predict my tanks mileage at 3/4, 1/2, and 1/4. or is it that the fuel guage is properly calibrated on the pug and the corolla isnt?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 18th, 2006, 1:46 pm

I've noticed that the first "half" of the gas tank lasts a lot longer than the second helf, so perhaps you're right there.

e.g. I filled up yesterday. Did about 125km so far.......and the needle has barely moved from the top full dash.

Postby Dave » January 18th, 2006, 1:49 pm

most fuel tanks have a bigger top hence why the gauge takes forever to go down wrt the first half and it flies to empty after half mark

sentraman

Postby sentraman » January 18th, 2006, 1:58 pm

seanf3000 wrote:I've noticed that the first "half" of the gas tank lasts a lot longer than the second helf, so perhaps you're right there.

e.g. I filled up yesterday. Did about 125km so far.......and the needle has barely moved from the top full dash.

wait wait wait do u mean that the needle barely moved from the full mark and you do 125kms, am I reading right :shock: I getting more upset cause mine will do about 90kms and 1/4 gone from full

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 18th, 2006, 2:06 pm

^^yeah thats right.

Gas tank was almost empty.....gas light eh come on yet. Put in $120 of premium and a dash of redline fuel treatment. Drive Pointe a Pierre to St. Aug........... St. Aug to Cascade and Back.........St. Aug to Pointe....... 125km

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 18th, 2006, 2:08 pm

Dave wrote:most fuel tanks have a bigger top hence why the gauge takes forever to go down wrt the first half and it flies to empty after half mark

Because of this reason...ah know a partner who does drive around with a 5 gallon tank with fuel in it yes! :lol: :lol:

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » January 18th, 2006, 2:16 pm

i and chevy gots the 1nzfe but reamber x outlaw has his car from new and its JDM mine is SDM and he gets ah lil better mileage than me , but im much heavier and we have similar driving styles

sentraman

Postby sentraman » January 18th, 2006, 2:25 pm

DarkClouD wrote:

I have the car as it came stock from singapore with 17' rims and tyres 215/45/17...not sure if this would make a difference

that pic of your car looking real sweet. Dam it came with 17's and a bodykit, how much did that set u back partner :?: Mine came with the stock 14's

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » January 18th, 2006, 3:01 pm

sentraman wrote:
DarkClouD wrote:

that pic of your car looking real sweet. Dam it came with 17's and a bodykit, how much did that set u back partner :?: Mine came with the stock 14's

Thanks man...yep since I got the car I did nothing...i contemplating doing something to the front grill though...the car was doing 22000km and it set me back 80k :roll:

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » January 18th, 2006, 3:03 pm

how much on average did you guys pay for your rolla's?

Return to “TOYOTA”