1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » August 2nd, 2006, 1:28 pm

seanf3000 wrote:.032 boi......man that sound real small. Thats the manual recommendation for the 1nz?

soposed to be .044 for 1nz

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » August 3rd, 2006, 10:22 am

^^ Got 0.044 for the 1zz-fe as well. In fact just checked my gapping and hasnt changed since I put them in some time ago.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 4th, 2006, 8:23 am

sentraman, yuh sell the car yet? :P

Just giving it a bump

Val

Postby Val » August 4th, 2006, 8:44 am

lol, from what I'm seeing, the 1NZ-FE is far superior in terms of fuel consumption than the 3ZZ engine.

Why is that? (100 cc of displacement can't be the only reason).

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 4th, 2006, 10:15 am

I feel ah need an ecu upgrade in meh brains to process all dat
i real hate maths dred..

sentraman

Postby sentraman » August 4th, 2006, 12:15 pm

cheese pie wrote:117 to fill up and that gave me ah arse wopping 620 Km

i sorry i gone

STeups

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » August 5th, 2006, 10:19 am

Val wrote:lol, from what I'm seeing, the 1NZ-FE is far superior in terms of fuel consumption than the 3ZZ engine.

Why is that? (100 cc of displacement can't be the only reason).

The 1nz is completely different to the 3zz val. The 1ZZ and the 3ZZ are made on the same platform, with the 3zz having 200cc less displacement and the exhaust header and the mapping different. Not sure about the injector sizes as yet.

The 1NZ is made on a completely different platform. Which is why I think comparing the 2 engines really is a bit unfair. The 1nz is a newer design with higher compression ratio, completely different mapping, Different vvti timing, etc, etc.

I think the 1zz - 3zz comparison is a better one. But I'm still way getting better fuel consumption than the 3zz even with 200cc more displacement. Thus even more confusing!!! :shock:

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » August 5th, 2006, 7:46 pm

^^ you only find the 3zz in SDM cars my guess is that the 3zz was sent there for some regoinal issue eg fuel quality climate etc so that the ECU would have been tuned for those local conditions. toyota does this alot for example in Ghana they send power plants over there that can deal with the high sulphur content in the fuel....so anywhey when they bring the 3zz's down here the motor is operating under diffrent conditions than what is was tuned for..........well thats my guess @ least to the fuel econ problem specific to the 3zz

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » August 6th, 2006, 10:48 pm

^^It appears that the 3zz is also sold in the European market including the UK. So maybe you guys should be checking some british sites.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » August 6th, 2006, 11:03 pm

DarkCloud, stop spamming and get this. At least get the 2ZZ MT. Otherwise the car just screams you :lol:

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 54#1379054

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » August 6th, 2006, 11:23 pm

^^Dissapointing.........good looking but a 1zz. Ah well. Darkcloud.....i suggest yuh dodge. MR-S cheaper and faster. LOL!

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » August 22nd, 2006, 9:54 am

So......was checking around on some Japanese sites......and came across the recall area on Toyota.jp site. It's on japanese but with a translator you can make some sense of it. It has the chassis and engine numbers for specific recalls and problems.

I'll try and find the site again so I can post the url.......but I'm trying to see if Toyota Singapore has an equivalent area on their website where the fellas can check their chassis codes against the recall lists.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 22nd, 2006, 12:05 pm

^^^ LOL
and that gonna help how? I know: "hey, at least I know the problem now: my car is defective!"

Sorry... :oops:

:D :D :D

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » August 22nd, 2006, 12:44 pm

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » August 23rd, 2006, 8:42 am

Well the thing is....they have the exact part number......fault codes......diagnostics that can help you figure out if that problem is occuring on your car........even what causes the problem.

Thought it might help out guys with some specific problems.....and the exact part they will need. Maybe shoulda state that a bit clearer.....the recalls are not only for full car recalls....they're for part replacement as well.

But say what :(

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » August 23rd, 2006, 9:06 am

post the link...we'd like to see it in writing from toyota themselves:

Symptoms: Horrible Gas Mileage in SDM versions
Problem: sucky 3zz sucky all the gassy

Val

Postby Val » August 23rd, 2006, 11:09 am

Wow, the 1NZ-FE is really really efficient on gas as you all say. Drove for 100km and the needle didn't move :mrgreen:

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » August 23rd, 2006, 11:42 am

ROFL

most cars tend to do that when the needle is above FULL...starts dropping like mad past the half-mark. Watch it for the next couple hundred and see, but yes, they have good mileage

wagonX

Postby wagonX » August 23rd, 2006, 1:25 pm

Need a tune up I suppose..only getting 450mk to the tank now...

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » August 23rd, 2006, 1:48 pm

Val wrote:Wow, the 1NZ-FE is really really efficient on gas as you all say. Drove for 100km and the needle didn't move :mrgreen:

Expect about 500-550km for a tank. Just filled up. Got 515km on my last tank......gas light didnt come on yet so i'm not into the reserve. And dats a 1.8L with a 50l tank.

*does d happy dance!*

Val

Postby Val » August 23rd, 2006, 1:54 pm

seanf3000 wrote:
Val wrote:Wow, the 1NZ-FE is really really efficient on gas as you all say. Drove for 100km and the needle didn't move :mrgreen:

Expect about 500-550km for a tank. Just filled up. Got 515km on my last tank......gas light didnt come on yet so i'm not into the reserve. And dats a 1.8L with a 50l tank.

*does d happy dance!*

Similar to the pickup then, nice 8-)
How much is the reserve?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » August 23rd, 2006, 2:53 pm

Reserve is 5 litres....ah think.......or is it 10 litres....i'll have to check yes!

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » August 23rd, 2006, 2:59 pm

Here's the link to the Toyota JDM recalls. It's in japanese, so use babelfish from altavista or some other translator. Gives specific recalls and production batches/dates and VINs so check for yuh vehicle.

http://toyota.jp/recall/index.html

Checked the singapore site and they didnt have a recall listing for the SDM vehicles......sorry dey fellas.

Found on recall item for my VIN...checked it out......was a small mount for a a/c hose that had more vibration that they initially speced. There was a mount replacement order, but my car already had the new mount when i checked under the bonnet. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 23rd, 2006, 10:03 pm

seanf3000 wrote:Reserve is 5 litres....ah think.......or is it 10 litres....i'll have to check yes!

The reserve is usually 10 Litres for most fuel tanks, inclusive of the corollas

linker

Postby linker » August 23rd, 2006, 10:34 pm

seanf3000 wrote: Just filled up. Got 515km on my last tank......

hoss thas 515km with stock intake and exhaust??? :shock:

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » August 23rd, 2006, 11:06 pm

i usually get 600 thats with ac on all the time and intake and extractors :D

linker

Postby linker » August 23rd, 2006, 11:20 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:i usually get 600 thats with ac on all the time and intake and extractors :D

yuh does run it right down til the light come on? i usually go down to below 1/4 then full right up... it does be bout 35 litres average... yuh just change the headers? the pipes are stock?

wagonX

Postby wagonX » August 23rd, 2006, 11:57 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:i usually get 600 thats with ac on all the time and intake and extractors :D

You have the 1.5, 1.6 or 1.8 corolla (sedan/wagon) ?

linker

Postby linker » August 24th, 2006, 12:01 am

juma i have the 1.6LX VVT-i... i thinking bout putting in a cold air intake and want to know if it makes a significant difference with respect to fuel consumption... oh is a 3zz engine....

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » August 24th, 2006, 8:25 am

juma wrote:

You have the 1.5, 1.6 or 1.8 corolla (sedan/wagon) ?

1.5 sedan local

linker wrote:

yuh does run it right down til the light come on? i usually go down to below 1/4 then full right up... it does be bout 35 litres average... yuh just change the headers? the pipes are stock?

changed headers a while now 4-1 DC sports.....exhust pipes are stock but that changing next month.......ive run it down to when the light comes on thats when i get the 600 but usually i run to 1/4 then full

Return to “TOYOTA”