1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » May 11th, 2006, 10:06 am

ok for the 2zz and 1zz guys hold this....are turbo kits really this expensive? :shock:

Or is it worth it in this case with all the parts you are getting with these particular kits.

http://www.turbo-kits.com/corolla_turbo_kits.html

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 11th, 2006, 10:28 am

Dah basically a new engine yes......i saw these kits two years ago.

I mean yuh getting e-manage, injectors...all braided lines, garrett turbo. 8psi light boost.

Hmmmmm 100 more at the wheel??? but for US$4000.....ekkkkkk!!!

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 11th, 2006, 11:32 am

i was flipping thru the menus of the snapon vantage monday, its needs updating for the 3zz engines, but it has all the sensors for the 1zz engine.

there are different tests for each sensor.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » May 11th, 2006, 11:36 am

I think we should seriously start planning a dyno day in the near future. We need to get men there who have the equipment to lend us and who knows what they are doing. I for one am not that technical. So what do you you guys say or should we just let the problem linger on :?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 11th, 2006, 1:17 pm

nigel1977 wrote:i was flipping thru the menus of the snapon vantage monday, its needs updating for the 3zz engines, but it has all the sensors for the 1zz engine.

there are different tests for each sensor.

Errrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr........whats a snapon vantage.............precious?

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » May 11th, 2006, 2:41 pm

ent i now tell u a snap-on vantage is one of them engine diagnostics thingamajiggabob? :lol:

look at spam in this thread!

wait wait, u get EBC greenstuffs? nice...prepare for some screeching while they break in and rotor grooving (there's metallic pieces in there). I don't recall getting any shims with my set though :cry:

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » May 11th, 2006, 2:49 pm

flatline wrote:ent i now tell u a snap-on vantage is one of them engine diagnostics thingamajiggabob? :lol:

how do we get our hands on one of these thingamajiggies?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 11th, 2006, 2:58 pm

Yeah, the manual did warn about possible screeching in the beginning. But i think the newer sets of EBCs are coming with these shims to cut down on that.

Not too happy about the rotor grooving tho. i like meh rotors nice and smooth....maybe thaz why the mintex soft and throws so much dust.

Them thingamajiggabob does be real expensive yes.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 11th, 2006, 3:02 pm

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » May 11th, 2006, 6:42 pm

How long did the Mintex last sean?

wagonX

Postby wagonX » May 11th, 2006, 11:06 pm

I may have missed it..but where did you get the EBCs?

DarkCloud...how de bumper goin?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 12th, 2006, 9:19 am

Mintex set lasted about a year bleedingfreak, performed really well for my liking. Little noise.....good stopping power.....not too much fade unless u repeated stop hard...kind on the rotors.....but the brake dust........fadda!!!!! Good thing i have those matte black rims!

I got my EBC set from Andy in Minicity in Valpark.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » May 12th, 2006, 2:03 pm

juma wrote:I may have missed it..but where did you get the EBCs?

DarkCloud...how de bumper goin?

boy the bumper still on my car...the parts delayed till next week. Don't worry I aint forget you.

Xman

Postby Xman » May 12th, 2006, 3:07 pm

OK I only read up to page 33........so I don't know if Oxygen sensors were addressed or if the problem of the terrible fuel economy was solved.........

Since O2 sensors are culprits using a voltmeter you can test the output signals of the sensor while the car is warm and idling. Rapid fluctuations between 0.1 volt and 0.9 volts indicate the sensor is working good...........

if the reading hovers around 0.45 stays above this value or below for long the sensor maybe in bad shape..........this is the onboard version of testing.......

Anyone did it yet..........

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 12th, 2006, 6:58 pm

^^well we figure we gonna try testing the o2 sensor....but they havent got around to it yet.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » May 12th, 2006, 10:06 pm

nigel1977 do you have a multimeter?

You know how to hook it up?

If yes to the above 2 questions we hadda go dyno the car and see if the o2 sensor is really the culprit.

Time to solve this problem don't you think?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 12th, 2006, 11:13 pm

yeah meng........i might show up just for kicks!

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 12th, 2006, 11:47 pm

like i said, and i'll say it again clearly this time.
i have access to a fluke 179, a snap-on vantage, a fluke scope meter, a tektronix 4 channel colour oscilliscope..... (see where im going with this)

you guys just hadda lemme know

sentraman

Postby sentraman » May 13th, 2006, 12:20 am

^^^ lets do this thing FAST :lol:

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » May 13th, 2006, 8:03 am

seanf3000 wrote:yeah meng........i might show up just for kicks!

no kicks allowed!!!! this is serious business..

But we do need for you to come in the event we need to take your 1zz :lol:
Last edited by DarkClouD on May 13th, 2006, 8:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » May 13th, 2006, 8:05 am

nigel1977 wrote:like i said, and i'll say it again clearly this time.
i have access to a fluke 179, a snap-on vantage, a fluke scope meter, a tektronix 4 channel colour oscilliscope..... (see where im going with this)

:shock: :shock: :shock: okk thenn...so I'm assuming you know how to use these things to diagnose the problem cause I for one don't know. Whenever you guys ready i'll be there with my 1.6 corolla as well. So who will it be? sentraman? nigel1977? Staggers? and well myself. What do you all say?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 13th, 2006, 8:55 am

i'll bring the tech from the garage when im coming as well.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » May 13th, 2006, 9:28 am

DarkClouD wrote:
nigel1977 wrote:like i said, and i'll say it again clearly this time.

:shock: :shock: :shock: okk thenn...so I'm assuming you know how to use these things to diagnose the problem cause I for one don't know. Whenever you guys ready i'll be there with my 1.6 corolla as well. So who will it be? sentraman? nigel1977? Staggers? and well myself. What do you all say?

well I there for sure cause I have the worst milage

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 13th, 2006, 9:58 am

i go be dey for moral support :lol:

Staggers

Postby Staggers » May 13th, 2006, 10:12 am

when?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 13th, 2006, 2:52 pm

Allyuh call date and i will come.....if just to see what my sensor baselines are and for comparison between the 3zz and the 1zz. I will also walk with the 1zz workshop manual since there are likely to be similar components with similar tolerances.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » May 13th, 2006, 3:50 pm

well fellars suggest a date? I have an exam on June 7th so that day is out for me. ANy recommendations? I also have a make up class this saturday so that is out too.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 13th, 2006, 5:33 pm

I see kes is trying to arrange a 2nr dyno day. I dunno if that day gonna be packed, but we can try to arrange it. It would be good to have some other knowledgeable tuners around like dave and dry, to get their opinion.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 13th, 2006, 6:07 pm

any weekend after the labour day weekend

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 13th, 2006, 6:29 pm

labour day weekend? what date is date?

Return to “TOYOTA”