1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » May 4th, 2006, 9:48 am

coool...thats a nice colour blue...nigel1977 are you interested in taking your car to dyno?

seanf3000 how much HP did you get when you dyno the 1zz?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 4th, 2006, 10:05 am

i wanted to dyno, but i dont think the dyno does (-) minus figures lol

krack korn

Postby krack korn » May 4th, 2006, 10:40 am

anybody have the fielder with the 2ZZ-GE engine? and what kinda fuel consumption u experiencing with it?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 4th, 2006, 10:59 am

^^ LOL like u just post dat to torment certain men :lol:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 4th, 2006, 11:21 am

^^^oh gorm!!!! The fielder ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ!!!!!!!!! droll!!!......must.........have........fielder Z.......if........it.........kills.....me.

Saw one yesterday actually. Looks quite the same as the other Fielders...but the tell tale sign....rear disc!! and that red Z badge. Man had on a donut spare too yes. LOL!!

I dynoed in 2004...I think it was. Car was stock........totally. Nadda....in fact i was due for a service as well.......bleuch. Pulled off 105 whp and about 102 lb/ft. Havent dynoed with the K&N, iridiums and new fluids. Actually....now looks like a good time to dyno.......haha!

wagonX

Postby wagonX » May 4th, 2006, 11:36 am

Where did you dyno?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 4th, 2006, 11:38 am

Well....lemmee give allyuh some reaaaallll bad news.

Talked to some of the Aussie 1zz and 2zz rolla hatch and sedan drivers over on another site.

Them fellas getting..................allyuh holding onto yuh seat......... 600-650km a tank...REGULARLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

WDMC is this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 600+km. I mean i know they using 96 and 98 ron fuel over there.......but oh crumbs man!!!!!!! Thats like 1.3L fuel consumption. Oh sheit man!!!!! Even men running on 91ron getting good fuel comp.

So hear what....lehwee organise to steal some Aussie ECUs nah???

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 4th, 2006, 11:44 am

juma wrote:Where did you dyno?

Dynoed down by Audis place in Couva. *Audi the person...not the car*

Ever so often we organise a tuner dyno day will special pricing for 2nrs. I think chevy dynoed on that same day as well.

Dry does organise it usually......we havent had one in a while. If you want you can always organise a normal dyno run down there on a normal appointment. All the 1/4 men does be down there during the week tuning and ting.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 4th, 2006, 11:45 am

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

wagonX

Postby wagonX » May 4th, 2006, 11:53 am

seanf3000 wrote:Well....lemmee give allyuh some reaaaallll bad news.

Talked to some of the Aussie 1zz and 2zz rolla hatch and sedan drivers over on another site.

Them fellas getting..................allyuh holding onto yuh seat......... 600-650km a tank...REGULARLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

WDMC is this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 600+km. I mean i know they using 96 and 98 ron fuel over there.......but oh crumbs man!!!!!!! Thats like 1.3L fuel consumption. Oh sheit man!!!!! Even men running on 91ron getting good fuel comp.

So hear what....lehwee organise to steal some Aussie ECUs nah???

WHEEEEEEEEEEEEEYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

nah, nah...you sure man? You sure the keyboard didnt slip?

wagonX

Postby wagonX » May 4th, 2006, 11:58 am

seanf3000 wrote:
juma wrote:Where did you dyno?

Dynoed down by Audis place in Couva. *Audi the person...not the car*

Ever so often we organise a tuner dyno day will special pricing for 2nrs. I think chevy dynoed on that same day as well.

Dry does organise it usually......we havent had one in a while. If you want you can always organise a normal dyno run down there on a normal appointment. All the 1/4 men does be down there during the week tuning and ting.

Thanks for the info man.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 4th, 2006, 12:28 pm

Nah man......multipage thread over there and all mandkind getting more the 550km. Ah man even get 780km on a tank!!!!!!!!!!! :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

krack korn

Postby krack korn » May 4th, 2006, 12:48 pm

^^ LOL like u just post dat to torment certain men

dat wasn't really meh plan, ah was just looking at d engine specifications and was wanting to check to see if there was a pattern relating compression ratio to fuel economy in trinidad.

d 2zz have ah pretty high 11.5:1 comp ratio, d 1zz is 10:1 and d 1nz is 10.5:1 interestingly the required fuels for the latter two engines is unleaded reagular gasolene. now dat is japanese regular. the 2zz calling for unleaded premium again japanese. Ah ent seeing no info on d comp ratio of the 1.6 but looking at the 1.5 and 1.8(pot hound) I would suspect is d same as d 1.5.

anyway if trinidad gas is sheet (and we know dat) the ecu going to retard timing (because it will pick up knock from d engine) and u going to get poor fuel economy, Singapore weather lil warmer than the japanese average but then again austrailia could get real hot and the ecu does adjust fueling for temperature so ah doh feel tropicalisation is ah issue.

ah know trini gas is ah big problem for sure but it doh explain d difference between the 1.5 and 1.6 if anything they shoulda be d same or only slightly better on the 1.5

Ah just thinking out loud here I don't have one of these cars or engines so it kinda difficult tuh diagnose, ah sure if ah had meh hands on one ah woulda done be conducting experiments like compression test, checking and varying fuel pressure, hook up d wideband, disable knock sensor and dat kinda thing. see what pop up.

Anyhow ah wish allyuh luck.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » May 4th, 2006, 1:39 pm

I think we should organize a dyno day in serious. I want to see what the 1.6 could put down. If it is the same or less than the 1.5 nze I going to sell my car tomorrow.

Just like you sean must have....even if...it...kills....me...a....zzt231...celica.

wagonX

Postby wagonX » May 4th, 2006, 2:58 pm

LOL. Allyuh wait till month end nah...I'll be rollin right before then.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » May 4th, 2006, 3:12 pm

juma wrote:LOL. Allyuh wait till month end nah...I'll be rollin right before then.

what are you getting? a 1.5 or 1.8 fielder?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 4th, 2006, 3:18 pm

krack korn wrote:d 2zz have ah pretty high 11.5:1 comp ratio, d 1zz is 10:1 and d 1nz is 10.5:1 interestingly the required fuels for the latter two engines is unleaded reagular gasolene. now dat is japanese regular. the 2zz calling for unleaded premium again japanese. Ah ent seeing no info on d comp ratio of the 1.6 but looking at the 1.5 and 1.8(pot hound) I would suspect is d same as d 1.5.

anyway if trinidad gas is sheet (and we know dat) the ecu going to retard timing (because it will pick up knock from d engine) and u going to get poor fuel economy, Singapore weather lil warmer than the japanese average but then again austrailia could get real hot and the ecu does adjust fueling for temperature so ah doh feel tropicalisation is ah issue.

I've thought about this side of things. Actually it's one of the only things that freaking me out about buying a zze123 Z. But it couldn't be as bad as the scoobies and evos so.

If anything the 1.6 is more like the 1.8 than the 1.5. The 1.6 3ZZ and 1.8 1ZZ are the same block and head. Only cylinder size and ECU mapping is a bit different. The 1nz is on a different manufacturing platform alltogether, so differences between the 1nz and 1zz performance is not what bothers me......it the difference between my 1zz and thier 3zzs. My fielder weighs more, has shorter gearing, and has 200cc more displacement, yet my fuel consumption is about 20-30% better than theirs. To me that doh make sense. They should be getting better mileage than me.

krack korn wrote:ah know trini gas is ah big problem for sure but it doh explain d difference between the 1.5 and 1.6 if anything they shoulda be d same or only slightly better on the 1.5

The octane ratings for the 3zz and 1zz should be similar.....mine is about 90ron. The 1nz octane rating is 95 in the manual(even tho it does indeed say reg. unleaded). So the 1nzs should be getting the timing roll back and infact should be capable of even better mileage than the 600km Outlaw gets. Which makes the situation seem even worse for the 3zzs.

It's as pain in the arse trying to figure it out now yes. Until like you say someone runs a wideband or a multimetered IAT, we still shooting in the dark.
Last edited by seanf3000 on May 4th, 2006, 8:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wagonX

Postby wagonX » May 4th, 2006, 3:39 pm

DarkClouD wrote:
juma wrote:LOL. Allyuh wait till month end nah...I'll be rollin right before then.

what are you getting? a 1.5 or 1.8 fielder?

1.5 man.

1.8 was outta my range. I know you wanna see the dyno on dat.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » May 4th, 2006, 3:42 pm

seanf3000 wrote:Until like you say someone runs a wideband or a multimetered IAT, we still shooting in the dark.

I'm not really this technical but can you explain what exactly this means and what equipment is needed?

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » May 4th, 2006, 3:44 pm

juma wrote:
1.8 was outta my range. I know you wanna see the dyno on dat.

well not really cause seanf3000 has the 1.8 and dynoed it already...105HP to the wheels

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 4th, 2006, 5:01 pm

DarkClouD wrote:
seanf3000 wrote:Until like you say someone runs a wideband or a multimetered IAT, we still shooting in the dark.

I'm not really this technical but can you explain what exactly this means and what equipment is needed?

Well....one of the sugggestions was a failing O2 sensor or IAT sensor. Now the O2 sensor can start getting orf while not throwing a CEL code. If the O2 sensor was getting erratic that could contribute to the poor fuel enonomy by it telling the ecu to dump fuel to raise the mixture. A similar thing can happen to the IAT(Intake Air temperature sensor) if its a bit of. But we wouldn't know unless we ran the engine with a multimeter attached to the sensor or wiring to see if it's giving the correct voltage reading.

We can also tell if its the ECU mapping by seeing what the air fuel mixture is with a wideband, since we can get an exact reading of the AFR....esp if on a dyno.

Now the multimeter isn't that hard to get....but the wideband sensor damned expensive just to get for this kinda test. Some of the guys that are real modded up have widebands and perhaps we could hook up with one for a dyno for the 3zz.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 4th, 2006, 6:13 pm

seanf3000 wrote:Nah man......multipage thread over there and all mandkind getting more the 550km. Ah man even get 780km on a tank!!!!!!!!!!! :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

WTF!!! Wut de a$$ dem men doing jed pushing dey car??

i also wonder de local cars would the ECU be adjusted from japan to account for specific conditions in our region?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 4th, 2006, 6:29 pm

the fuggin problem should be common to all the 2001-2001 3zz guys.
anyone has a 2002-2003 3zz and whats your mileage?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 4th, 2006, 6:33 pm

fellas check this out.....dis man have workshop manuals for de nze rollas

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... hp?t=86828

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 4th, 2006, 7:54 pm

X~Outlaw wrote:
seanf3000 wrote:Nah man......multipage thread over there and all mandkind getting more the 550km. Ah man even get 780km on a tank!!!!!!!!!!! :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

WTF!!! Wut de a$$ dem men doing jed pushing dey car??

i also wonder de local cars would the ECU be adjusted from japan to account for specific conditions in our region?

The local ones are supposed to be tuned for trinidad.
Last edited by seanf3000 on May 4th, 2006, 8:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 4th, 2006, 8:07 pm

what the "settings" for trinidad then?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 4th, 2006, 8:10 pm

nze :(
no zze :cry:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 4th, 2006, 8:30 pm

Dunno what the settings are, but i'm sure the base timing must be set back or something to cater for the local fuel.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 4th, 2006, 9:19 pm

i hear yah. wonder if those guys at ttl knows how to use their scanner to adjust the timing default value

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » May 4th, 2006, 10:56 pm

thanks for the explanation sean...next 2nr dyno day i'll make sure to go and hopefully someone will have the stuff we need to analyze the fuel efficiency on the 3zz.

Return to “TOYOTA”