The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 13th, 2009, 11:29 am

Hook, btw did you bother to pursue water injection?

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 13th, 2009, 9:10 pm

hey folks i'm looking for an oem PCV Valve 12204-11050 Standard V330, Napa 2-9405 for my 20v.
TTTL don't have in stock

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 14th, 2009, 12:58 am

check rolling hard his bt might have 1

Terran

Postby Terran » May 14th, 2009, 5:19 am

haydn28 wrote:jus make sure u guys select the correct range :) i would use R6 in a daily driven one, i use R7 in mine to prevent pre ignition and pinging at high rpm at high timing on full load.

Having used heat range 7 and now using 6, I have to say the 6 is a step down.

More engine knock, slight decline in fuel efficiency - and more smoke. Next tune up, the 6's are OUT!

Postby Hook » May 14th, 2009, 6:00 am

^^^ *looks under a rock* doh make bake!

dmitc wrote:Hook, btw did you bother to pursue water injection?

it's still an option over this piss we getting at the pump, as the major limiting factor is fuel octane...however at the moment I'm performing way short of stock so the task is to bring it up to a workable level of tune first and then MAYBE we'll lean on it a bit and see what she can do

til then, I'm just trying to gather as much into as I could on it

dmitc wrote:hey folks i'm looking for an oem PCV Valve 12204-11050 Standard V330, Napa 2-9405 for my 20v.
TTTL don't have in stock

breds, I always getting either the grey and black ones that REAL flimsy or the all black ones which are durable, but have fitment issues with the injector harness and the length of the stem...I studying when I get to replacing mine if I could use a small L and put in an in-line unit instead

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » May 14th, 2009, 8:49 am

hook when u lean the 20 v u lose torque, trust me on this, around 12.5:1 afr is good after 3000rpm , richening also fights the knock, i know 12.5 :1 sounds a bit rich but it works 4 me . i have a wideband so u can check me when u ready to get c what your engine doing.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 14th, 2009, 9:02 am

Zeriam, i'm looking for a new one

Hook, i bought a black one yesterday and the stem was too long, on top of that when i tried it in a spear tappet cover to check the fit and pulling it out the think broke apart so i looking for OEM.
May go back to TTTL and order it, they say 6 weeks, i guess i will have to wait.

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » May 23rd, 2009, 11:16 pm

lookin to buy new shocks for my AE110. Any reccomendations on what kind, price and where to buy them??

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 23rd, 2009, 11:49 pm

TRD12,unless u have it already the fatter shaft 110 is the better 1 for u and not alot of work. check the 92-111 suspension thread

Postby eliteauto » June 20th, 2009, 2:15 pm

AllTrac wrote:the 4age could take a 75shot easy.

Hmmmm anyone tried this?

dmitc

Postby dmitc » July 4th, 2009, 11:33 am

corollalover101 wrote:dmitc, that's blowby caused by high RPM runs, the solution is to install an oil catch can

I bought and installed a new PCV valve, ran it for a couple weeks and the blowby seems to be sorted out.

Had to wait a month for TTTL to bring it in @ TT$180 but it seems to be worth the wait. And it may be my imagination but i'm getting an extra 10km per tank.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » July 4th, 2009, 11:45 am

ok so new problem
when every I'm accelerating and reach exactly 3000rpm the car holds back till about 3250rpms then continues as normal.
any ideas as to the cause or how to rectify?

Postby foss » July 4th, 2009, 3:02 pm

good read guys.. :mrgreen:

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » July 9th, 2009, 9:48 pm

^^^, seems to me all 20V PCV valves give in after a while and need to be changed. Before u go changing rings and valve seals, i reccommend u make sure it's in good working order.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » July 10th, 2009, 7:00 am

mikeae91, will look into it although the problem occurs with less frequency these days

Aarong420, i think the PCV valve is something that should be changed at installation when you changing the seals and belts etc. i have been purposely running at high rpms for the past few weeks after i changed the valve and could report no blowby at all and even with the high rpm run on avg i'm getting 30km extra on a tank of gas which is a 10% increase.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » July 11th, 2009, 10:53 pm

mikeae91,no

dmitc

Postby dmitc » July 12th, 2009, 12:18 am

mikeae91, TTTL don't keep pcv valves for 20 valves in stock but they will order it for you.
as for the idle problem i don't think the oxygen sensor is the problem , it might be the cause of you poor fuel economy but not the idle (i could be wrong)

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » July 12th, 2009, 11:45 pm

hey tuners! the 4age turbo is back but i want to go further and upgrade my cam gears! Can any one explain to me fully about upgrading cam gears on my 20V ST what are some of the steps to tune the cam gears?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » July 12th, 2009, 11:47 pm

with adjustable cam gears u lose vvt from what i've seen on other forums. are u using stock ST cams??

dmitc

Postby dmitc » July 13th, 2009, 10:54 am

mikeae91, can't say but you can call TTTL and ask, the part # should be 89465-19495 i suspect the may say around $1500.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » July 13th, 2009, 1:18 pm

Zeriam, yeh i am! What can you advise me?

I wanted to upgrade my camshaft both exhaust and intake and also the cam gears.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » July 13th, 2009, 10:38 pm

BT cams work great, vvt comes in around 4k rpm its very aggressive. i dont know much about adjustable cam gears only company i seen that make them for 20v is areospeed

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » July 14th, 2009, 11:07 am

pappy u can make adjustable cam gears . check out bajan chamelion's site for an example . or zeriam can help u with this he went mic :)

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » July 14th, 2009, 7:20 pm

haydn28 wrote:or zeriam can help u with this he went mic :)
and learn nothing :?

Postby eliteauto » August 5th, 2009, 2:30 am

anyone has the selector switch for the 4AGE automatic transmission, I need one?

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 5th, 2009, 9:23 am

Zeriam wrote:
haydn28 wrote:or zeriam can help u with this he went mic :)
and learn nothing :?

cl101 check zryfel ..seenaths

or check yellorolla them

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » August 5th, 2009, 1:08 pm

wanna get d part number for d 20v overhaul kit!

Postby eliteauto » August 17th, 2009, 7:24 am

corollalover101 wrote:anyone has the selector switch for the 4AGE automatic transmission, I need one?

still looking :?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » August 17th, 2009, 10:55 pm

corollalover101,what is dat?

Postby Hook » August 17th, 2009, 11:02 pm

Zeriam wrote:corollalover101,what is dat?

Return to “TOYOTA”