The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » March 24th, 2009, 8:10 am

That one ain't ready for the dyno yet. Still have some issues to sort out at the top of the rev range. But no worries whenever I do it I will post.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » March 24th, 2009, 5:56 pm

Did 209KM/H in "D" and max rev at 8370 RPM in "2"

nice, just watch out watch out for speed cams

180 is the max i reach befor fuel cut kick in
usually be from sealots traffic light to around the np station.
the days for them speeds done though

Metallicork

Postby Metallicork » March 25th, 2009, 9:22 am

I would like to get back to basics and build from the bottom up....I would really like to know what oil combination to use on my vehicle.. Synthetic or conventional, grades and brands, engine and gearbox. Also what spark plugs to use and things like what values should I be getting when I do a compression test? All the general stuff so that I can start to build on what I have already....

Postby eliteauto » March 25th, 2009, 11:32 am

The recommended heat range for the plugs are 6's but I know ppl using 7's
Oil: I use 10W30 now , I used 20W50 before, currently using conventional ( brand is up to you) I won't use synthetics unless I'm sure both my rings and valve seals are good to avoid it "disappearing ", but I rev over 8K anyway so I'd stick to conventional

Compression values I'll wait on Hook to chip in and well I won't know about gearbox fluid :lol: :oops:

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » March 25th, 2009, 12:22 pm

I won't say anything about what brand of oil to use. :lol:

trdboy

Postby trdboy » March 27th, 2009, 5:57 pm

corollalover101 wrote:Has anyone ever maxed out the 20V on a highway run (not race eh)? Was curious as to what my engine will put out before I do work on it next week, so I removed the speed cut with my RSM (first time using the feature since I installed the unit about 5 months now) and did a run from Golconda end of the highway to Sando Tech fly over (I was alone and it was after 3 AM heading north)

Did 209KM/H in "D" and max rev at 8370 RPM in "2"
I probably could have done higher speeds but I saw cars in the distance and slowed down

I'm assuming the manual guys are much faster? Can anyone confirm
Also who has dynoed their 20V, I wanna know at what RPM are you seeing max power, torque and at what RPM are you not making power?

*Disclaimer* I'm not advocating driving at these speeds and I accept responsibility for any flak and flame I may collect*

i made a solid 220km before the speed cut came in i was using some cheap ass version of the rsm i bought from amazon though dunno how accurate it was and that was on my previous levin on 6th gear doing 6500 rpms......

trdboy

Postby trdboy » March 27th, 2009, 6:08 pm

cl101 what u think???? the super struts shocks has this attached arm on the shock so i was looking at it very closely and there seems to be a spacing at the bottom of the shock where the arm is on the shock, do u think the arm can be pressed out or unsweated from the shock and pressed in back with ae111 shocks??????finding the original shocks all the time can be time consuming and costly so just trying to find alternatives

now i scrapped these shocks and they are cartridge types, so im getting seals for them how durable do u think it would be to refurbish these shocks??

Postby eliteauto » April 1st, 2009, 11:24 pm

^^once the job is done right they apparently last, I know Koni made inserts that were done in a similar manner, might be worth a try

Postby eliteauto » April 7th, 2009, 7:57 am

Well it's said if you want a job done properly, do it yourself :idea: So after so many different set ups with mechanics, I decided I'm not gonna beg anyone to take my money, so I'm doing the valve seals myself, started yesterday after lunch and with breaks for my ole back, chinese food runs and a half case of beer later the head if off :P , inspection of the block reveals no need for rings, headgasket was good and no cracks to head, just a lot of gunk from the previous owners lack of maintainence ( my mechanically inclined pardner who's helping me has indicated that my 8000+ RPM driving is what saved the engine because it was so mucky, soft driving might have caused loss of oil pressure) also the timing was off

so today I'm cleaning/de-carbonising the block, changing some vacuum lines and hoses, changing the valve seals,grinding the valves, cleaning the head, resetting the throttle plates and hopefully by this evening everything will be back together and on the road :mrgreen:

dmitc

Postby dmitc » April 7th, 2009, 8:32 am

corollalover101 wrote:Well it's said if you want a job done properly, do it yourself :idea: So after so many different set ups with mechanics, I decided I'm not gonna beg anyone to take my money, so I'm doing the valve seals myself, started yesterday after lunch and with breaks for my ole back, chinese food runs and a half case of beer later the head if off :P , inspection of the block reveals no need for rings, headgasket was good and no cracks to head, just a lot of gunk from the previous owners lack of maintainence ( my mechanically inclined pardner who's helping me has indicated that my 8000+ RPM driving is what saved the engine because it was so mucky, soft driving might have caused loss of oil pressure) also the timing was off

so today I'm cleaning/de-carbonising the block, changing some vacuum lines and hoses, changing the valve seals,grinding the valves, cleaning the head, resetting the throttle plates and hopefully by this evening everything will be back together and on the road :mrgreen:

LUCKY!!!
you know how long me nah dig up in meh car.
good times, good times

trdboy

Postby trdboy » April 12th, 2009, 9:36 am

corollalover101 wrote:Well it's said if you want a job done properly, do it yourself :idea: So after so many different set ups with mechanics, I decided I'm not gonna beg anyone to take my money, so I'm doing the valve seals myself, started yesterday after lunch and with breaks for my ole back, chinese food runs and a half case of beer later the head if off :P , inspection of the block reveals no need for rings, headgasket was good and no cracks to head, just a lot of gunk from the previous owners lack of maintainence ( my mechanically inclined pardner who's helping me has indicated that my 8000+ RPM driving is what saved the engine because it was so mucky, soft driving might have caused loss of oil pressure) also the timing was off

did this exact thing last month with my dad's car, u will be surprised to see how she running when u back up, a lil cleaning goes a long way, u could also clean out them throttle bodies, it does have to plenty mock and dust in there!

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 6th, 2009, 10:06 am

ok so i went to clean out my intake weekend and was met by this in my AFM

i know it is oil from on the tappet cover but what would cause that to happen?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 6th, 2009, 10:11 am

suggestion.
oil catch can 2xx-3xx
some hose and a 20oz coke bottle could work 2 :mrgreen:

Postby eliteauto » May 6th, 2009, 11:18 am

dmitc, that's blowby caused by high RPM runs, the solution is to install an oil catch can

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 6th, 2009, 11:57 am

^^ sweet more expense

sadique

Postby sadique » May 6th, 2009, 4:18 pm

i tink i need a oil catch... who sellin dem??

sadique

Postby sadique » May 6th, 2009, 4:19 pm

some hose and a 20oz coke bottle could work 2

oh zeriam d bottle mite melt in my engine! :lol:

Postby Hook » May 6th, 2009, 4:45 pm

sadique wrote:i tink i need a oil catch... who sellin dem??

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=220547

TRDfanatic

Postby TRDfanatic » May 6th, 2009, 6:20 pm

this is a very great read... but only reading about 20v engines has anyone ever rebuilt a 4A-GZE?

TRDfanatic

Postby TRDfanatic » May 6th, 2009, 6:22 pm

are any of the parts the same or could be used?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 6th, 2009, 6:51 pm

TRDfanatic,anton is the man to talk to about gze as he is the only other person n 2nr that I know had a gze

Postby Hook » May 7th, 2009, 12:17 am

Anton and Strauss...but one's alot easier to find than the other...seek out Anton :lol:

Brianr 20v

Postby Brianr 20v » May 7th, 2009, 9:01 pm

hey i would like to find out if the bosh 4 pin plugs will work on the 20v bt

Postby Hook » May 8th, 2009, 3:22 am

the Bosch 4-pin plugs don't work on anything lol

it only uses one electrode at a time anyway so u paying for 3 extra pins and a huge current sucking electrode at the centre which makes it about as inefficient as any other el cheapo plugs...buy Iridiums and done

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 8th, 2009, 9:08 am

nology works good 2

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » May 9th, 2009, 1:38 pm

jus make sure u guys select the correct range :) i would use R6 in a daily driven one, i use R7 in mine to prevent pre ignition and pinging at high rpm at high timing on full load.

also does any one know where to get ACL bearings for the B/T? kinda fast? ( full bearing kit)

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » May 9th, 2009, 1:39 pm

jus make sure u guys select the correct range :) i would use R6 in a daily driven one, i use R7 in mine to prevent pre ignition and pinging at high rpm at high timing on full load.

also does any one know where to get ACL bearings for the B/T? kinda fast? ( full bearing kit)

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 12th, 2009, 9:15 am

ok so new problem,
When ever i build revs the temp drop just as fast. it happens when in park and when i'm driving. Am i to assume that the thermostat that i bought exaxctly a year ago from TTTL for $250 is gone or could it be an electical problem.

In Park it would go from N.O.T at 800rpms to Cold at ~7000 and as soon as i release the gas the temp jumps back up to N.O.T.
While driving the change in temp is not so drastic but it is still noticable.

Postby Hook » May 12th, 2009, 10:07 am

lol....u rev to 7krpm in park? why would u do that?

check the gauge sensor wire on teh thermostat housing....
there are 3 sensors:
top sensor is a 2-pin, that's for the coolant temp signal to ECU
left side is single pin, that's for the fan switch
rear is for the gauge...might be loose and vibrations humbugging it...contact cleaner and a needle-nose pliers

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 12th, 2009, 4:36 pm

Hook wrote:lol....u rev to 7krpm in park? why would u do that?

check the gauge sensor wire on teh thermostat housing....
there are 3 sensors:
top sensor is a 2-pin, that's for the coolant temp signal to ECU
left side is single pin, that's for the fan switch
rear is for the gauge...might be loose and vibrations humbugging it...contact cleaner and a needle-nose pliers

Thanks man,

Took off all the sensors and sprayed them with some wd40 and replaced them all s in order now

Return to “TOYOTA”