The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 4th, 2004, 2:14 pm

Mitsu power wrote:^^ the dam block has forge and oil cool pistons with beef up connecting rods high flow oil pump and a bullet proof block what allyuha takin about 25 - 50 shot is 100 t0 150 shot inn he arse :twisted:

"No" to forged pistons :)
"yes" to oil cooled and bullet proof :P

Sully

Postby Sully » July 4th, 2004, 3:11 pm

^^ You sure about the pistons not being forged???

blu-rolla
Location: either in sando, or sneakin out yuh back door as you reach home.

Postby blu-rolla » July 4th, 2004, 3:48 pm

i think i'll second that 'no' to the forgies.

daNdAdDa

Postby daNdAdDa » July 9th, 2004, 9:20 pm

the nitrous kit is NX express.....go to e-bay and search for it...there r many online stores offerin them for about that price

Postby AllTrac » July 9th, 2004, 10:21 pm

the 4age could take a 75shot easy.

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » July 11th, 2004, 12:31 pm

hmm well throttle bodies cleaned plugs re gapped injectors cleaned
car wukin good now jus a lil pinging with d ac on but power got freed up used to sputter before on heavy acceleration not doin that again

but another thing i dunno if it supposed to do this
i heard that the vvt supposed to kick in when you start the engine and then it would cut off and only activate when the car is warmed up
the car when it starts revs to 2000 rpms then drop to 1000 flat and just idle
where as before it used to start and rev at maybe 1200 untill it gets warm where it drops to 1000 rpm

wha goin on???

Postby Dave » July 12th, 2004, 8:36 am

since the throttles were cleaned the sensors may need some time to readjust all signals since the gum build up caused them to read wrong
was the ecu reset?

Sully

Postby Sully » July 12th, 2004, 12:54 pm

Idle speed on a 20valve blacktop is 850rpm. You should get that checked out.

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » July 12th, 2004, 6:06 pm

would tell him to reset the ecu

how to reset it jus take off the pole for like d night

and then jus put it on
and was rearin something bout revvin to 3000 rppm or something

Notorious Scullman

4A-GE Formula Atlantic Specs

Postby Notorious Scullman » May 31st, 2006, 4:31 pm

Jus came across these and though they might be useful for those interested.

http://shell.deru.com/~sgn1/AW11/4agetrd.htm

There's alot of other info here too : http://shell.deru.com/~sgn1/AW11/

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » June 1st, 2006, 10:07 am

was reading this link sometime ago.......great read!

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » June 1st, 2006, 12:53 pm

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :wink:

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 2nd, 2006, 4:14 pm

there was a original 4A-GE Formula Atlantic engine in a orange circuit car in trinidad a few years ago .....don't know what happend to it

Raziel

Postby Raziel » June 5th, 2006, 9:55 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:there was a original 4A-GE Formula Atlantic engine in a orange circuit car in trinidad a few years ago .....don't know what happend to it

:shock: :shock: a real Formula Atlantic? those were very (very) expensive, sure it wasn't some Formula parts on a 4A-GE?

FATZ

Postby FATZ » July 20th, 2006, 11:38 am

What kind of horse power can i get up to with keeping the 20v blacktop non-turbo?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 20th, 2006, 1:33 pm

What kind of horse power can i get up to with keeping the 20v blacktop non-turbo?

220-240whp and that would be pushing the limits of a NA.. (12:1 CR, 270+ cams, ITB's maybe...)

nope, i've got one and parts are definitely hard to find in T&T

parts for which the 3S or 4A??

Terran

Postby Terran » July 20th, 2006, 2:58 pm

nasscott, I find the blacktop climbs to 180 pretty quickly without flooring it. Of course, how can one resist achieving that speed in a matter of seconds, right? :lol: Anyway, I've done it a few times and stayed just under 4,500 rpm.

Back to the point about the high revving... what are the symptoms of this valve train "failure"?

FATZ

Postby FATZ » July 20th, 2006, 6:19 pm

4AGE parts

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » July 20th, 2006, 11:24 pm

RS200 wrote:i was reading about a lond speed record MR2 that was using a 600hp 3sgte that reved to 11,000rpm and the owner too was deliberating swapping a 20v head onto it,

Thanks ALOT RS200 care to post a link so i can read it myself?

RS200 wrote:

220-240whp and that would be pushing the limits of a NA.. (12:1 CR, 270+ cams, ITB's maybe...)

THANK YOU JESUS. someone else actually knows the real facts about the engine. fatz trust me that right there is about as real as its ever going to get. RS i think you should visit this forum more often.
Terran wrote:Back to the point about the high revving... what are the symptoms of this valve train "failure"?

very good question! i'll research it. but from everything i know about engines expect abnormal vibration or probably earlier signs like the engine starting to sound like a badly maintained diesel engine. This of course is all speculative but i will research it for you. Not to worry though if the valve train fails entirely it would be pretty easy detect... just look for the 800 4tow sign somewhere on the bed of the truck that your car's on and that should be a dead giveaway. :twisted:

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » July 20th, 2006, 11:54 pm

ok i guess im probably too sleepy to find a direct answer to your question but i cant find any reputable documentation on valve train failure that actually volonteers information on what symptoms to look for. I have only experienced what happens when valves dont seat properly in an engine at idle and it amounts to nothing more than a misfire. valves that dont do what they're ment to do will disrupt the combustion cycle by either not allowing the right amount of mixture into the cylinder at the right time or the right amount of spent gases out at the right time any of this can all be termed quite simply as a misfire. Anyway i apologise for not having a direct answer for you but i think you should still give this web page a read. it does turn the whole valve train issue inside out and i think you should give it at least a "once over" :idea: http://www.aa1car.com/library/ar1192.htm

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » July 21st, 2006, 12:18 am

my problem with my blackie is that when i shift at high rpm a nice big puff of smoke comes out the exhaust
i havent actually seen what colour it is
gbtbt said its blue black
what could be causing this?
please say its not rings

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » July 21st, 2006, 10:02 am

most likely its black due to the rich running of these engines i also have this problem accompanied buy a loud backfire and most times fire

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 21st, 2006, 10:07 am

Back to the point about the high revving... what are the symptoms of this valve train "failure"?

rotating mass operating mechanical lift.. weight and centrifugal force are the enemy;)

after a certian point/rpm, the cams are spinning so fast (if your engine is turning 9,000 rpm chances are your cam is spinning 4 times that to open the 2 IN and 2 EX valves 4 times per combustion cycle) and moving the valves up and down (open and closed) eventually a rocker (like most valve train failure in SR20's) or valve will fail, valves may break/bend, guides may become warn, retianers can break, springs can float/soften etc....

high tension valve springs are one of the main components for high revving valve trians, that and lightweight/stronger valve train parts.. titanium retianers, brass guides, titanium and super lightweight composit valves..

there is also the problem of timing belts stretching and breakiing under RPM, high tension and strength belts are made by Power Enterprice HKS and TRD and others.

TOMEI, TODA, JUN, HKS, GREDDY, TRD, TOMS etc all make valve train kits / cams etc for the 3S and 4A series engines..

as far as building a 270hp NA 3S-GE, here are the parts you'll need ;)

before:
[img::]http://trdparts.jp/english/image/engine-3s-ge-1.jpg[/img]

after:
[img::]http://trdparts.jp/english/image/engine-3s-ge-2.jpg[/img]

http://trdparts.jp/english/parts_engine-3s-ge.html

hope your pokets DEEEEEEPP!! :lol:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 21st, 2006, 10:09 am

the backfire and smooke is usually a gas issue, the ECU is seeing that the octane is low and is adding fuel and pulling timing to compensate and prevent detonation,.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 21st, 2006, 10:24 am

RS200 wrote:
i was reading about a lond speed record MR2 that was using a 600hp 3sgte that reved to 11,000rpm and the owner too was deliberating swapping a 20v head onto it,

Thanks ALOT RS200 care to post a link so i can read it myself?

http://www.bobnorwood.com/The%20Fastest ... 20Utah.htm

it is a 4AG spinning to 11,000rpm, my mistake... but he did build a 600hp 3SGTE for SCC mag.. red the article it is very imformative..

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » July 21st, 2006, 10:50 am

nice info fellas ,

one question , trac u have that link you posted ah long time ago with how to tell the generations of the 3s ?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 21st, 2006, 11:19 am

wikipedia has some good info...

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » July 21st, 2006, 2:29 pm

but me oil dissapears too sometimes...
its been fine for the past 2 weeks
and then all of a sudden it goes down below half !!!

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » July 21st, 2006, 2:36 pm

im still trying to find information that distinguishes the 3s engines accurately from each other. there are 4 generations of the 3sgte and to add to the confusion there were differences in power between jdm generation specs and usdm specs of the same generation so im hoping for comprehensive specs in the following format....

(DO NOT QUOTE ME ON THE FOLLOWING IT IS JUST AN EXAMPLE AND THE INFO IS NOT ACCURATE IT IS JUST A REFLECTION OF WHAT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW ABOUT THE 3SGTE.)

1988-89 (Celica All-Trac /MrII)
(1st gen)3S-GTE (front mounted intercooler ct26 turbo)
2.0 (121.9), I-4, DOHC
EFI, turbo
190hp @ 6000 (usdm) ??? (jdm)
190tq @ 3200 (usdm) ??? (jdm)
3.39 x 3.39
8.5:1

1990-93 (Celica All-Trac/ MrII)
(2nd gen)3S-GTE (top mounted intercooler ct26 turbo)
2.0 (121.9), I-4, DOHC
EFI, turbo
200hp @ 6000 (usdm) 225hp @ 6000 (jdm)
200tq @ 3200 ??? ???
3.39 x 3.39
8.8:1

1993-99 (Celica All-Trac /MrII)
(3rd gen)3S-GTE (550CC injectors port matched head ct20b turbo)
2.0 (121.9), I-4, DOHC
EFI, turbo
255hp @ 6000 (usdm) ??? (jdm)
245tq @ 3200 (usdm) ??? (jdm)
3.39 x 3.39
8.7:1

2000- (Caldina GT four)
(4th gen)3S-GTE (550CC injectors coil packs td06 turbo)
2.0 (121.9), I-4, DOHC
EFI, turbo
265hp @ 6000 (usdm) ??? (jdm)
275tq @ 3200 (usdm) ??? (jdm)
3.39 x 3.39
8.7:1

Anton

Postby Anton » July 22nd, 2006, 9:41 am

mrboxman wrote:but me oil dissapears too sometimes...
its been fine for the past 2 weeks
and then all of a sudden it goes down below half !!!

If you feel that is bewildering, how bout reappearing oil........you check oil one morning an it bout 1/2 and nex morning it full again :? :?

Return to “TOYOTA”