Yofoot's ae90 20 Valve blacktop update

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

rolling_hard

Postby rolling_hard » April 14th, 2008, 5:02 pm

inform me on d next toyota lime yo

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » April 14th, 2008, 5:05 pm

guEss imma havE to invest in a oil catch can

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » April 14th, 2008, 5:06 pm

rolling_hard,add mE on msn an i'll lEt u know whEn its timE or look out for a thrEAd

DownesDigital

Postby DownesDigital » April 14th, 2008, 5:46 pm

Yofoot wrote:no automatic.

De oil catch is to catch the oil from the head that usually just goes back into the throttles.

how much for the oil catch business

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » April 14th, 2008, 5:49 pm

$285 i think
pm TSC hE sElls theM

D3monic

Postby D3monic » April 21st, 2008, 8:32 pm

Was d latest ??

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » April 22nd, 2008, 10:10 am

Hey fellas,

Sorry for not posting an update sooner.

I wanted to test out the brakes properly before posting.

Last night Drove back from south about 8;45pm.
the road was clear so ah open up... de car real work yes.

i find when drive at normal speeds the, brakes works ok.
But it really shines at high speeds, on more than one occasion I needed to slow down fast the the brakes really stopped the car without effort.

I just tipped on it and it responded instantly... no shimming, no vibration, no mashing hard hard.

Also... the new shocks is giving me a stiffer ride but the handling is really great. I hardly get any roll on corners now.

A questions... does an oil catch can affect the performance of the engine?

I removed mine a bit and to me... the engine gain some power... is this normal?

D3monic

Postby D3monic » April 22nd, 2008, 11:12 am

wow glad to see things coming together there Yofoot........

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » April 22nd, 2008, 3:03 pm

weLl they say the oil catch can takes all the oil that would havE bEEN put back into thE intake to gEt burnt up. so i'm guessing that no oil to gum up thE intakE meAns that no loss of power or build up of gunk

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » May 13th, 2008, 9:34 am

Well fellas,
ah finally get ah pwr/manu switch.

Boy, the pwr setting does real run!!!!!!!!!

De car does usually shift around 3500 to 4500rpm

With de PWR setting it shifting at nothing less than 7500RPM!!!!

Ah still have to really try out MANU.

Does it let you change the gears? or does it just shift differently?

Anyways it running.

Also, the battery is now in the trunk, so cool air intake soon!!!

Postby Hook » May 13th, 2008, 10:02 am

the manu holds whatever gear u in so u can shift by hand...alot of ppl think it's an economy setting, but it's not, cuz if u have it in manu mode and u in "d", it'll attempt to pull off in 3rd or 4th(o/d) and u risk ruining ur tranny

manu mode can work either way, u can use it for economy and make all shifts low down or u can use it for power and shift high up...I use mine for testing my touge skills on the way to Toco

the economy setting is the default when neither manu nor pwr is selected

I think the next step for you is to invest in an external tranny cooler since u running it hard these days...there's a thread about it somewhere in tech stuff

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » May 13th, 2008, 11:14 am

Thanks for de info dey Hook.

yes I was advised to put a tranny cooler, Ah go buy one and check nah, we go put it up!
(yes I bowlface like that).

anyways boss, how de bar working out?

Postby Hook » May 13th, 2008, 11:17 am

d bar along wit new front shocks, d front riding real nice now meng, tnx

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 13th, 2008, 2:48 pm

Yofoot, one question: are you sure you installed your oil catch can correctly because to my understanding it suppose to be connected to the arrows in the image.
I could be wrong although i am pretty certain that it suppose to be between the PCV valve and the tb

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » May 13th, 2008, 4:03 pm

Where were you all de time!!!

I read some where that its supposed to be so, but I was not sure where to find those ports on de 20 valve.

I will hook it up your way as soon as i get some time.

Postby Dave » May 13th, 2008, 4:06 pm

^^ the brother is right, i got not a drop from the crankcase vent for a period of 1mth and in a few hrs got wetness from the pcv
also always make sure the catch can is not higher than the pcv otherwise it wouldn't go the the can effectively

other than that, looks good

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 13th, 2008, 5:30 pm

Yuh know how long i looging at that and i saying to myself wait something looking wrong. by bad.
also i notice tou don't have a wiper bottle. how you does make out with all that dost out there.
If you does frequent the bamboo you could pic up one of those bottles easy and if you don't and looking for one i have one i was holding for a man bout 4 months now
i working st clair so you could pass trough and take it off my hands if you want it. it for a 101 but it would fit the 90

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums//viewtopic.php?t=165902&highlight=

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » May 15th, 2008, 10:18 am

Check out de INTAKE!!!!!!!!!

i feel real proud it come out so neat, because i do it.

i just have to clean de engine so it go match up

It does make a difference, de car responding better.
And it have a lower sound.
Plus with de resently insulted PWR/MANU Switch :twisted:

Niceness

dmitc... I will try to pass and collect de bottle.
PM me your number.

Anton

Postby Anton » May 15th, 2008, 3:34 pm

Lookin good bro. You liking yourself now eh!! :lol: :lol:

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » May 15th, 2008, 6:13 pm

Very decent modification there :D

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 15th, 2008, 10:45 pm

grEAt stuff

Postby Hook » May 15th, 2008, 11:05 pm

Yofoot wrote:Plus with de resently insulted PWR/MANU Switch :twisted:

:lol: u gone back wit dat again eh?!

nice install pallie...exhaust now? :twisted:

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » May 16th, 2008, 9:53 am

Yes Hook... you catch me again :oops:

Yes is exhaust now.

You know where ah could get it done?

dmitc

Postby dmitc » May 16th, 2008, 11:50 am

I did mine by harry in aranjuez cost me $800 (including flex pipe) plus he wanted to charge me 250 to attach the barrel :? i just agave hima thousand and ride out.
but that was 2.5" and i suppose you would be going 2.25" so it should be reasonable. but before you do it check life wear mufflers in petite bourg they #674-8897 should coat you a resonable price also when i cut out my cat they took the o2 sensor from it and installed it on the exhaust. i also installed my resonator by them.

Terran

Postby Terran » May 16th, 2008, 4:43 pm

Yofoot, I want to ask you something.

Where are you going with all of this?

The reason why I ask this is because while the 4AGE 20V is a good engine, your enthusiasm seems to exceed its real potential, assuming you have a limited budget. While you have added some mods to get some extra umph out of the engine, your gains are relatively minimal. It may be a matter of time before you "out-grow" the performance it delivers or you get "wet" by a similarly modded vehicle, and then you find yourself ready for something more.

The truth is, in my opinion, you seem to be quickly exhausting the immediate options available for modifying this engine, and to go further than that would call for deep, DEEP pockets which will bring other issues with it, such as RELIABILITY and EFFICIENCY. Have a read here to understand what I'm talking about: http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

I bring this to your attention also before you consider any further expense along the nature you're started.

You should not have any regret about how you've spent your money now, but maybe you would if you're expecting unlimited potential from your 20V, which unfortunately will leave you disappointed if that's what you're looking for.

So, again I ask: where are you going with all of this? Is the current performance of the engine meeting your expectations?

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » May 17th, 2008, 2:51 pm

Hey Terran,

Thanks for the concern, its way I love this place.

No doubt, very good advise.

I am now getting into this whole "tuner" thing, and I know there might be better out there.

I had a stock engine that came with the car (a PAW ae90 Corolla), I basiclly destroyed that engine, and I got the BT 20v at a very good price.

Well the difference is like night and day in terms of speed and performance, I know its not really fair, but its the experience I have.
I can't see myself driving a "normal" car now,

Most of my funds actually goes into things like suspension than the engine mods itself.

I really am enjoy modding this ride, you know... making it my own.
and I might be wrong... but I think the BT 2v is a nice first mod experience.

I WILL stop with the mods soon, I am running a 2.25" exhaust and MAYBE an ignition kit.

Then its body work and rims and thats it.

If funds allow, I will try to source a next Toyota and start again.

So to answer your questions:
Where am I going with this?
Well, its fun and I will stop soon, I am NOT doing any internal mods on this or anything like turbo and what not.

Am I satisfied with the performance?
YES... very much so, I am not a racer, but on the highway, I am hardly passed.

I hope this puts it in perspective, please respond and tell me if I am making any sense.

Postby eliteauto » May 17th, 2008, 4:06 pm

because you're not a racer and honestly your mods are more about self-experience and you're not doing them with unrealistic expectations I'm happy for you, I see nothing wrong with improving the handling, braking, ride and engine response of your vehicle especially if it's for your enjoyment and you're not easily influenced by every car that passes you on the highway

Nice job thus far, just keep you expectations real and savor the experience :fadein:

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » June 10th, 2008, 8:21 pm

Didnt have time ti read throught this extreamily long ass post....but..i see you have a ae90 with a blacktop, at first was giving some trouble.
I have a EE90, same chassis, just had a 2E engine before not A series, but slapped in a blacktop reguardless with one mount shift.

anyways the only problem i have is similar to what you described. im wonderin if its the same thing?
i have no problem swinging to 8500, but when im crusing down the highway, at MODERATE speeds :D... the car starts to jerk...if i mash clutch and hold the accel steady, the RPMS are raising and dropping, with every drop getting lower.
I cant seem to figure out the problem..? i was thinking fuel pressure, but then as i say, i have no problem swinging to 8K.
any ideas?

Postby Hook » June 10th, 2008, 8:33 pm

Aaron, isn't there a way in the manual to jump the diagnostic port contacts and run the car in diagnostic mode?

maybe doing that might give u some insight :idea:

Anton

Postby Anton » June 11th, 2008, 7:46 am

Aarong420 wrote:Didnt have time ti read throught this extreamily long ass post....but..i see you have a ae90 with a blacktop, at first was giving some trouble.
I have a EE90, same chassis, just had a 2E engine before not A series, but slapped in a blacktop reguardless with one mount shift.

anyways the only problem i have is similar to what you described. im wonderin if its the same thing?
i have no problem swinging to 8500, but when im crusing down the highway, at MODERATE speeds :D... the car starts to jerk...if i mash clutch and hold the accel steady, the RPMS are raising and dropping, with every drop getting lower.
I cant seem to figure out the problem..? i was thinking fuel pressure, but then as i say, i have no problem swinging to 8K.
any ideas?

I had the same problem with my 20v st in my ae92. I was going crazy, swapped out distributor, igniter,plug wires,fpr and was still getting the problem. i finally pulled down the gas tank(carby tank) gave it a service and changed the fuel pump and the problem disappeared.

Return to “TOYOTA”