1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 5th, 2006, 12:17 pm

^^^^ no tach? what model rolla is that?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 5th, 2006, 12:22 pm

^^ local 2004/2005.......base option came with no tach

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 5th, 2006, 12:28 pm

o.i.c.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 7th, 2006, 1:30 pm

Even tho I have a auto.....doh think i would like a car with no tach yes. I like to know what rpm i'm at most of the time.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 7th, 2006, 1:48 pm

yeah same here :cry:

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 8th, 2006, 2:59 pm

sentraman, nigel1977 or anyone else in this thread with the 1.6 RORO I have a question for your'll. Did anyone ever max out their car to see what top speed you got? I would not like to think its another flaw with our cars or it could just be my car....spoke to a couple of guys with the 1.5 and they making 180 easy easy and then the speed cut kicks in..Now we have no speed cuts but my car not passing 180 with overdrive on....If i take the overdrive off well then thats a different story...let me know.

Staggers

Postby Staggers » April 8th, 2006, 4:59 pm

^ Made bout 190 w/o overdrive a couple times...doh pass 180 w/ overdrive

johnny

Postby johnny » April 8th, 2006, 6:51 pm

I think you need to get your car tuned up,I have the 1ZZ-FE 1,8 litre and I get 450kms for $110.00 gas

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 8th, 2006, 7:27 pm

Staggers wrote:^ Made bout 190 w/o overdrive a couple times...doh pass 180 w/ overdrive

hmm thanks Staggers...so its not only my 3zz....I don't like to take my overdrive off at such high speeds :(

What the hell is wrong with these engines!!!!!!

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 8th, 2006, 7:29 pm

johnny wrote:I think you need to get your car tuned up,I have the 1ZZ-FE 1,8 litre and I get 450kms for $110.00 gas

trust us the 3zz's are bastard engines....no amount of tune up will help with these engines...

the funny thing though is that I am seeing so many of these 1.6RORO's on the road....some solutions has to surface soon...

If not its 2zz time!!!

sentraman

Postby sentraman » April 8th, 2006, 7:41 pm

I make 190kms then limiter kicks in. At one point I thought that there was no limiter but as I reach bout 195kms brap barp brap :lol: I say nah put on o/d, take off o/d brap brap brap so we do have a limiter

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 8th, 2006, 8:47 pm

sentraman wrote:I make 190kms then limiter kicks in. At one point I thought that there was no limiter but as I reach bout 195kms brap barp brap :lol: I say nah put on o/d, take off o/d brap brap brap so we do have a limiter

wellhmmm I never made it that far to hear brap brap brap lol lol.....so you did make 190 but with overdrive off right? How much did you makewith overdrive on?? I can barely pass 175-180 with it on.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 8th, 2006, 9:32 pm

it have any ill effects of taking OD off @ those speeds?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 8th, 2006, 11:18 pm

hey guys got this from a echo forum....since i cant find any forums that deal specifacally with our cars i have resorted to reading scion and echo forums since they use the 1nz-fe..3zz guys allyuh real salting jed :lol: :lol:

anywhey this is a pretty detailed explanation on how VVt-i works....just thought it would be a good read

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 9th, 2006, 9:21 am

the other day i tried opening it out. the most my car did was an embarrasing 165. i really dont know wtf is goig on.

injectors clean, air filter clean, i eh reack 5000km since last oil chance and i using synthetic so i good for at least another 4-5000. i wonder what else am i missing.
well i pulling the cat down next weekend to see if the thing clogged, and this guy from st madeline - specialist is building a resonator, so that should help witht he dual o2 sensor arrangement.

but apart from that i dunno.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 9th, 2006, 9:30 am

nigel1977 wrote:the other day i tried opening it out. the most my car did was an embarrasing 165. i really dont know wtf is goig on.

Don't feel bad its all our 3zz engines...I am assuming it barely passed 165 with the overdrive button on right....

How the france the nze's making 180 with the overdrive on? And on top of that, the engine is a 1.5 :evil:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » April 9th, 2006, 12:15 pm

DarkClouD wrote:
sentraman wrote:I make 190kms then limiter kicks in. At one point I thought that there was no limiter but as I reach bout 195kms brap barp brap :lol: I say nah put on o/d, take off o/d brap brap brap so we do have a limiter

wellhmmm I never made it that far to hear brap brap brap lol lol.....so you did make 190 but with overdrive off right? How much did you makewith overdrive on?? I can barely pass 175-180 with it on.

with the overdrive on it makes only the 180

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 9th, 2006, 2:48 pm

Hey outlaw.....you can find that article in the Workshop manual we downloaded.

Meh EBCs on the way I'll let allyuh know how it fits up. Changing out brake fluid same time. Just last week changed tranny fluid with OEM fluid, as well as oil, oil filters and such. Only use the OEM fluid fellas cause a Toyota eng told me they have proprietory chemicals in the fluid that the trannsmission sensors look for :shock: .

Next service,,,,,which should only be 3mnths or so....i will change the fuel filter with my mech...so i'll let allyuh know how that goes.

BTW new sp9000s plus 32psi = sore arse!!!! :lol:

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 9th, 2006, 3:30 pm

[quote="seanf3000"] Only use the OEM fluid fellas cause a Toyota eng told me they have proprietory chemicals in the fluid that the trannsmission sensors look for :shock: .

quote]

Where are you going to get the OEM fluids to buy? Don't tell me TTTL.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 9th, 2006, 5:48 pm

Toyota eng told me they have proprietory chemicals in the fluid that the trannsmission sensors look for

:shock: :shock: :shock:

WDMC!!!

Postby eliteauto » April 9th, 2006, 7:11 pm

DarkClouD wrote:hey Outlaw this is for you :lol: :lol: :lol:

Okay NZE guys canyou say if the spacing for the strut bar is the same as the ae101, I saw it looks similar if so I have a pardner with 5 bars to sell he's asking $300.00 each but if we pool wecan get them for less

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 10th, 2006, 8:17 am

Yeah folks the transmission fluid is from you guessed it......TTTL...but its only $40 a quart. I'm amazed.........I thought i would have been more for sure.

corollalover101 I can measure the spacing when i get home. Also have to check the bolt spacing on the strut tower. But i could be interested.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 10th, 2006, 8:14 pm

^^^^ x2 for me as well

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 11th, 2006, 9:27 pm

corollalover101 wrote:Okay NZE guys canyou say if the spacing for the strut bar is the same as the ae101, I saw it looks similar if so I have a pardner with 5 bars to sell he's asking $300.00 each but if we pool wecan get them for less

Hmm not sure if they will work. I have an ae111 which should be the same as the ae101. Just checked the nze and the ae111 strut bars.
the nze strut is slightly longer than the ae111 (by about 3 inches)
The strut bars are also made up differently.
The part which attaches to the shock heads looks the same size in both cars. Below is a pic of the ae111 strut. Hope this helps.

nick009

Postby nick009 » April 11th, 2006, 11:12 pm

what them strut bars do?

whome

Postby whome » April 12th, 2006, 9:14 am

[quote="DarkClouD"][quote="seanf3000"] Only use the OEM fluid fellas cause a Toyota eng told me they have proprietory chemicals in the fluid that the trannsmission sensors look for :shock: .

quote]

Toyota TIV ATF is probably what the newer trannies like. Dexron III is not really recommended for the newer ones. Similar situation for Honda ATFZ1 ATF in Honda auto trannies where Dex III gives some hard shifts. It should also be noted that Dexron III while compatible with Dexron II is not totally replaceable with Dexron III in certain trannies especially from Japan and Europe. Quaker State for one makes a universal ATF for cars that originally specified Dexron II. I don't know if you can find that in Trinidad but it works fantastic in Toyota trannies from the 90s. Its' a semi syn formula. Can't remember but there is a third party full synthetic ATF that qualifies as Toyota TIV.

As for the sensor that "looks" for the chemicals in the tranny??????? I'd take that statement with a real salty prune.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 12th, 2006, 11:17 am

nick009 wrote:what them strut bars do?

they help to stiffen the chassis of the car causing less "flexing" when driving. You will see improvements with the handling of your car, mainly in terms of cornering (less body roll) and so forth.

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » April 12th, 2006, 11:32 am

Ah lil' "heads up". I recently smashed my right rear taillight. On looking for a replacement, TTTL had the light housing for approx $1600. Same thing BRAND NEW from M&N in de bamboo - $800

I got the one from M&N and compared it with the original when I took it out last night - absolutely no flecking difference.

So I dropped the car in by TTTL this morning to do a service...The "service advisor" asked if I had any issues with the car. My response - "why would I report any issues to you if you don't fix anything? It took me over a year for you to replace a defective dash." Service advisor's response - "ah..erm..ok then is just a normal service then"

And while I am on the topic of TTTL, when I first got the car from them, I noticed that when the ABS system engaged, it was extremely noisy. Little did I know that that sound was "normal", since I also did some copmarisons with my old man's corolla and a friends corolla. However, I asked the "service advisor" to have the technicians to check the ABS system, particularly the ABS pump to see if it was ok. His response was a classic:

"Boss, that ABS system doh wuk with pump..it have sensors that does do the wuk"

Since that day, I realise that them retards in TTTL really don't know anything about cars.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 12th, 2006, 12:00 pm

1NZ-FE Powered wrote:Ah lil' "heads up". I recently smashed my right rear taillight. On looking for a replacement, TTTL had the light housing for approx $1600. Same thing BRAND NEW from M&N in de bamboo - $800

I got the one from M&N and compared it with the original when I took it out last night - absolutely no flecking difference.

So I dropped the car in by TTTL this morning to do a service...The "service advisor" asked if I had any issues with the car. My response - "why would I report any issues to you if you don't fix anything? It took me over a year for you to replace a defective dash." Service advisor's response - "ah..erm..ok then is just a normal service then"

And while I am on the topic of TTTL, when I first got the car from them, I noticed that when the ABS system engaged, it was extremely noisy. Little did I know that that sound was "normal", since I also did some copmarisons with my old man's corolla and a friends corolla. However, I asked the "service advisor" to have the technicians to check the ABS system, particularly the ABS pump to see if it was ok. His response was a classic:

Since that day, I realise that them retards in TTTL really don't know anything about cars.

Yep TTTL really starting to fcuk up....A new front bumper by them is 2300 and M+N has the same thing brand new for 1200... :shock:

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 12th, 2006, 12:56 pm

1NZ-FE Powered wrote:Ah lil' "heads up". I recently smashed my right rear taillight. On looking for a replacement, TTTL had the light housing for approx $1600. Same thing BRAND NEW from M&N in de bamboo - $800

hahahahahahaha

hoss dis is y i stop carring my car for service by TTTL since de 3rd scheduled service.......rofl dem is real clowns in dey...rofl

Return to “TOYOTA”