1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 27th, 2006, 9:17 pm

sentraman and nigel1977 I need for one of you to go and dyno your car...would like to see what kind of baseline hp the 1.6 produces...

I would have done mine but I already installed the grounding kit :cry:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 28th, 2006, 9:45 am

I want to know who willing to get their sensors tested for their volt readings to compare to ours with bad milage

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 28th, 2006, 10:45 am

I would eh.....but things so hectic for me right now and I'm in and out so often.....my landlord want to know if I still living there! :shock:

Staggers

Postby Staggers » March 28th, 2006, 5:43 pm

seanf3000 wrote:well lehmeh help yuh out there......Tein, B+G, Eibach, Koni, Bilstein and TRD. There ya go.....you can go in the corner and cry like me now :shock: :lol:

I went with the B+G...At the time they cost about $1100

One thing tho...be prepared to scrape the underside when going over humps

anish

Postby anish » March 28th, 2006, 7:01 pm

go tein stech u will get a real sweet drop
only prob was that i had on 215/40/17 and when i drop d car was too damn low and touchin everyting so now imm at 215/45/17 and it better off now atleast i doh touch every friggin hump anymore
not sure bout the price down here but bought mine on ebay for 130 usd

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 29th, 2006, 8:41 am

damn....i eh able with the low drop yes...thats why i wanted tein h-techs....only 1.2" drop or so. Plus with 225" and 38mm offset....i may have to roll fenders. :?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 29th, 2006, 10:30 am

anybody cut off the cat converter yet?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 29th, 2006, 10:56 am

errrrr...... nope

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 29th, 2006, 11:15 am

Staggers wrote:
seanf3000 wrote:well lehmeh help yuh out there......Tein, B+G, Eibach, Koni, Bilstein and TRD. There ya go.....you can go in the corner and cry like me now :shock: :lol:

I went with the B+G...At the time they cost about $1100

One thing tho...be prepared to scrape the underside when going over humps

sweeett ride Staggers I want to drop my car as well for improved handling but I am afraid to the touching everything...especially since i have the side skirts and flares on the bumpers. dammmit.

anish

Postby anish » March 29th, 2006, 5:49 pm

if you do drop, let me know whether or not d flare kit touching humps. i scared to buy d flare kit cause i hadda go over 6 humps entering and leavin my house so i frighten i mash it up.

Staggers

Postby Staggers » March 30th, 2006, 1:00 pm

^ I'm almost certain the flare kit will get mash up if u put it on an already lowered NZE... u might get away with the front, but the side skirts and rear almost sure to feel it over humps and any inclines.

Raziel

Postby Raziel » March 30th, 2006, 10:00 pm

Staggers, how much of a drop does the B&G give?

The TRDs claim 1.25" which should still give a fair amount of clearance.

Staggers

Postby Staggers » March 31st, 2006, 10:36 am

B+G specs claim 40mm (1.6").

Forgot to measure height before installation, so can't say what actual drop was

sentraman

Postby sentraman » April 1st, 2006, 8:38 am

OH LAWD fellas 300kms and less then 1/4 tank to go HEEEELLLLLLLLLLLPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 1st, 2006, 10:27 am

sentraman wrote:OH LAWD fellas 300kms and less then 1/4 tank to go HEEEELLLLLLLLLLLPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP

sentraman dont worry man my mileage is inconsistent like you...but WTF 300km and less than quarter tank? Were you driving hard this week :?

I usually get 300km to around half tank or just one to two notches below half.

I just have a couple of things left to do to my car then I will start saving for my 2zz project :D

BTW I don't know if its just me but I tend to get lower mileage when I constantly drive in hot conditions. If it rains for a week or the place is cool I would get more mileage...and I started filling up at one gas station and still using premium.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 1st, 2006, 10:29 am

oh and by the way sentraman please let me know before you decide to destroy your car cause I want to get the front bumper :lol: :lol: :lol:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 1st, 2006, 12:30 pm

sentraman Did you do the ecu reset procedure through a diagnostic kit yet?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 1st, 2006, 8:01 pm

jed i swear if we figure out de fuel econ problems with de 3zz toyota should pay us even with my new intake and driving hard for de last week i still got around 500km on a little more than 3/4 tank.....300km jed WTF!

oh and by the way sentraman please let me know before you decide to destroy your car cause I want to get the front bumper

u aint easy nah :lol: :lol:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » April 2nd, 2006, 9:34 am

seanf3000 wrote:sentraman Did you do the ecu reset procedure through a diagnostic kit yet?

no not yet sean. I know a fella working toyota and he said that they will charge me REALLLLLLLLLLLLLL $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ just to do that. Plus the appointment will be 2 months down de road.

p.s he aint really a good contact inside there cause he aint much help :roll:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 3rd, 2006, 2:00 pm

2mnths to wait for an ecu reset???!?!??!!?!?

Wha kinda sh!t is that. That takes like what 3mins?? steupz!!!! Can't Masterserve or Crism do it for you? I don't know if it specifically requires the TTTL Diag. unit.

Raziel

Postby Raziel » April 3rd, 2006, 2:12 pm

Sentraman, since this thread is way long at this point, can you update us on what steps you have taken so far to diagnose the problem?

sentraman

Postby sentraman » April 4th, 2006, 5:55 pm

I called TTTL today to get some prices on the sensors

MAF ------ $1095 + vat
O2 sensors------- 1395 + vat (each)

I asked them if they deal with specific problems on vehicles like mine with the gas problem and they said NO. Only if u come to do one of the service levels ie. Level A,B,C or D. They said that they realised that roro vehicles take too long to figure out the problems and the cars remain in their garage for a while taking up the time of their technicians. So once is roro and ya have a problem SALT. "we do not have the service manuals for those roro cars" WTMC is it not the same flicking corolla STEUPS.

sean3000 when I checked it at masterserve I was told that I would have to carry it to TTTL to change any setting on the ecu. Masterserve said that they found that my engine was idling kinda low 600-650 rpms. TTTL said it should be between 700 and 800rpms. That was when the technician at Masterserve told me I needed TTTL to reset that. I have no idea if Crism has a machine capable of doing that though.

I however spoke to a technician at TTTL who advised me to put back a new set of denso's and to clean my injectors. SO I will go back to Masterserve to give them injectors a good cleaning AGAIN cause it was actually the dealer who claimed to have cleaned it last time to try and solve the problem. The tech also said that the last thing I should do is spend a whole set of money changing sensors.

sean3000 how much for them original plugs boy and do I only get it at TTTL. I tried to get them but could not so I went with the NGK

Staggers

Postby Staggers » April 4th, 2006, 7:27 pm

Funny that the TTTL techs said that they don't service RORO vehicles...they did mine. I was having an erratic start up problem where the car needed to be tumbled for 2-3 times, even when fully warm, to start. New plugs and battery (for a different reason) went in, followed by an injector service and the problem still persisted. Took the car to Laughlin, MasterServ, Regis (in Enterprise), my electrician and my mechanic and none could solve the problem. Eventually I reluctantly took the car in to TTTL and they found what it was...a damaged O-ring seal in the fuel pump which was not allowing a steady fuel pressure to be maintained.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » April 4th, 2006, 9:09 pm

how long ago was that Staggers,how long did it take them to figure it out and how much did they charge you to solve it :?: :?: HMMM I find my rolla tumbles a lil too much to start also :?

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 4th, 2006, 9:58 pm

sentraman wrote:sean3000 how much for them original plugs boy and do I only get it at TTTL. I tried to get them but could not so I went with the NGK

Why don't you try the denso iridium plugs which sean is currently using (check ADAH on the forums). Thats my next buy later this month.

Regarding TTTL I am getting feddup of their attitude. Went in to price the brake pads cause I desperately need to buy a pair for the front. Standing in line i overheard the sales person bobolizing a man in front just cause he have a RORO. Its like the man refuse to help the man with his parts. WTF really wrong with these people. I wonder if the japs know the kind of shiet TTTL doing here with respect to RORO cars.

Its so funny at the beginning of this thread I was all for letting TTTL service my car. Now I am completely the opposite. *sigh*

Raziel

Postby Raziel » April 4th, 2006, 11:41 pm

Was in TTTL today ...

1. They will "service" any car, but won't do "problem fixing" which you can understand as they won't train technicians on any model but what they carry, little silly when the RORO is the same model as what they sell.

2. They will get you any part, and I've never had any "attitude" from them, but then I only deal with Dean in parts, man real know his stuff.

Staggers

Postby Staggers » April 5th, 2006, 6:33 am

how long ago was that

Late last year...like around October or so

how long did it take them to figure it out

Same day I dropped the car in

how much did they charge you to solve it :?: :?:

Steups...dat was d hard part...over $700...cyah remember d exact figure (it hurts too much to recall)

HMMM I find my rolla tumbles a lil too much to start also :?

Suggestion...get a competent mech to check ur fuel system, or do it urself if u want

I find it surprising tho that TTTL is being so discourteous to RORO customers, cause I never had any beef in my dealings with them. Expensive, yes...but not rude and disrespectful. Then again, I've never gone to the parts dept to look for parts. Earlier this year when my cradle bushings needed changing I called TTTL and when I heard that "they don't sell the bushings separate, and u hadda buy d whole cradle for $1700" (x2 for both sides), I decided to check elsewhere.

Ended up getting the bushings (not OEM of course) for $90 each in Bamboo Marketing (next to Bobby's).

The way I figure it, even if I hadda end up changing the bushings once every year (hopefully not likely), I still will get 19 yrs of value before I make up the cost of that entire cradle assembly (assuming that the cradle arm itself is never damaged, cause I'm sure the ball joint will be cheap too).

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 5th, 2006, 8:15 am

Ouch Sentraman.....that sound like so much bull caca. I wonder if its the 3zzs giving these people trouble and they just giving the corporate line not to do anything on them?

I dunno how changing plugs gonna increase your mileage by 30-50% but if you want to try go ahead. I use Denso IK!6s from ADAH303 lilke said before. They're about $450 a set I think. TTTL has them for $139+VAT each. Give Crism a call. can't hurt anymore that it hurting now. Actually my idle is a bit high(900rom).....but i'm not seeing to much of a problem there yet. And them youall have diff engines to mine.

I dunno if the service depts have different attitudes between North and South TTTL, but I really don't get a problem at North TTTL right now. Then again....I go with the part numbers in hand. They usually like to get a chassis code and if its there on the system...they kinda relax a bit.

These days i'm seeing the benefits of servicing my car by my mech using the 2004 service manual. So I think I'm gonna do that from now on.

I find....for the amount of 3zzs people are buying roro.....TTTL should get the singapore serivce manual. Really....is it that hard to do????

To tell you the truth people...I've never cleaned my injectors. But I have used redline S-1 treatment from the day I rolled the car out from CRISM, and never had fuel problems.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 5th, 2006, 9:42 am

hummm......TTTL never gave me any trouble...real nice folks if i say so myself :lol: :lol:

but yeah sentra man check ADAH303 for de plugs

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 5th, 2006, 10:36 am

on a sep note.....i have no tach so i never know how my engine idling :(

Return to “TOYOTA”