The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Terran

Postby Terran » March 27th, 2007, 2:49 pm

Just take 2 piece ah axle by Metal Industries... and let them know the exact length you need. Unless you running 400HP+, you ent have nutten to worry about.

Postby Hook » March 27th, 2007, 7:21 pm

been told the blacktop head on silvertop block lowers the compression ratio enough to run boost reliably...so u end up with a beefier bottom end and a big port top

can anyone confirm this?

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 28th, 2007, 7:52 am

Hook, you dont know how wide my smile just got...i think my lips just touched my ears....
Got the pistons and rods aswell, but If what your saying is true...then it go be pressure!!

I was wondering this myself, but thinking, if the BT supposed to have a higher compression, wont the chamber be smaller?
Ill ask some guys on TN se what they say.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » March 28th, 2007, 10:35 am

No the AE82 is front wheel drive , just like the ae80. www.club4ag.net

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » March 28th, 2007, 10:45 am

In comparison , you have to also check volumes like the piston dish in the crown of the piston , the head gasket volume & even the volume the spark plug will take up. Remeber when the piston is at the top of the stroke,the area involved will determine the compression to be had. :D

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 28th, 2007, 2:46 pm

well yeah, thanks for the "nfo captin obvious,
does anyone know if the chamber is bigger thou??

btw, is that your mini....i have a friend with one and his engine is dieing, i siggested putting a starlet 4EFTE. what u got in thr

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 29th, 2007, 3:40 pm

High Octane, yuh stickin man i didnt get no pics yet, wanna see pics of that 20v turbo.
where can i get a manifold made for the 4ag?...can i sumhow make one out of the stock extractors?

TRD_FACTORY

Postby TRD_FACTORY » March 29th, 2007, 10:36 pm

People talking sheit, I have a 16v 4age in a Ae80 hatch since 2001 and never changed by axels. It will work fine unless you decide to use slicks.

Aarong420

WTK: 20V AFM filter?

Postby Aarong420 » March 31st, 2007, 4:08 pm

Yo toyota people, where can i find the attachment for the 20V AFM, that brings it from the rectangular shape to a circle shape for the filter?
i cyah fine it nooo where...i in de north side so...anybody?

also where sells "GOOD" head gaskets for the 20v?

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » April 1st, 2007, 4:20 pm

nassco toyota in barbados has the head gasket , however toyota trinidad will bring it in for you , but its a bit costly. :wink:

Postby Hook » April 1st, 2007, 6:52 pm

u hadda make your own adaptor plate for your cone filter bro

just get a couple inches of whatever diameter piping u need for the filter and some metal for the flange and go to ur friendly neighbourhood muffler shop to have them welded

Anton

Postby Anton » April 2nd, 2007, 8:08 am

You can get the adapter @ the car accesories place in Valpark (Can't remember the name) but be prepared to pay $195 for it. D&D auto in Bamboo #1 has a couple used ones for around $150

shamzipi

Postby shamzipi » April 2nd, 2007, 10:36 am

Trd,
do you run a manual?

If so is the linkage for the shifter cables on the gearbox positioned on the firewall side or the radiator side? And which cables did you use???

Postby Hook » April 2nd, 2007, 3:36 pm

^^^ there ya go meng!

is there any truth to 20V AFMs going bezerk after putting on one of these cone filters?

I hear all kinda horror stories so I went for the drop-in filter instead

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » April 3rd, 2007, 8:12 am

yea i heard the same thing, but ive seen some 20v using it so, it cant be making much of a difference.
the AFM is a big restriction thou, would like to just get rid of the stupid thing...
the only way to change to MAP is to change the ecu to blacktop not so?..Or can it be solderd into the ciruit?

Anton

Postby Anton » April 3rd, 2007, 1:31 pm

Hook wrote:^^^ there ya go meng!

is there any truth to 20V AFMs going bezerk after putting on one of these cone filters?

I hear all kinda horror stories so I went for the drop-in filter instead

Don't see the reasoning behind the afm going bonkers with the cone filter. I have one installed for about 2 yrs now with no problems.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 4th, 2007, 11:39 pm

toyota skyline with ah sr22-gte

Does it have VVLVEETECVVTIVTC :?:

TRD_FACTORY

Postby TRD_FACTORY » April 5th, 2007, 3:07 pm

Ran manual, and timed the car regular at wallers, it is now fitted with a turbo and still the stock axels are holding.

shamzipi

Postby shamzipi » April 5th, 2007, 3:17 pm

LSD gear box?

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » April 5th, 2007, 9:37 pm

^^i think it would be better in the end if you do research online and see which manifold is best suited to your application and order it thru a performance shop or bring it down yourself.
the quality is worth the extra $$ and these days there are so many shops offering parts that it's alot easier than it used to be
my $0.02

TRD_FACTORY

Postby TRD_FACTORY » April 6th, 2007, 2:48 pm

no lsd box, you may find them more on the 4agze. That ze gearbox may present issues with axels though!!

TRD_FACTORY

Postby TRD_FACTORY » April 6th, 2007, 2:52 pm

no lsd box, you may find them more on the 4agze. That ze gearbox may present issues with axels though!!

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » April 7th, 2007, 2:57 pm

here is a pic of blacktop extractors, a good upgrade for any silvertop.

Also the cams and ITB's can be used from the blk top. ITB's are 2mm bigger bore, cams are lighter, also intake cam has a higher lift.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » April 7th, 2007, 3:08 pm

Still waitin on them pics :roll:

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » April 12th, 2007, 6:16 pm

Oh hook, someone on TN told me the blacktop head doesnt lower the compression. Actually the chambers are the same, except that the valve spacing is different.
Does anyone know where i can buy parts like a head gasket and release bearing for a 20V ?
Is there any alternative for the parts?

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » April 13th, 2007, 11:14 pm

release bearing can get at SKF, u just need the bearing #
you'll have to look around for the head-gasket tho

kg494EJ-1

WTK:Manu and PWR

Postby kg494EJ-1 » May 17th, 2007, 1:55 am

there are these 2 buttons on the center console further down from the automatic shifter wit manu and pwr before the handbrake what are they for :? and there is also a little red button above the the selector what is it, i've had the car for a while and still trying figure it out and the car is a Marino Sprinter wit a 4AFE auto :?

Postby eliteauto » May 17th, 2007, 2:14 am

basically your car is equipped with Toyota's ECT-S transmission. ECT stands for Electronically Controlled Transmission basically the buttons allow you to change the shift points on the transmission so for e.g. in Power (pwr) mode the transmission shifts later allowing for higher rpms and greater acceleration. As for the red button that is the shift lock which when depressed allows the shifter to be moved when the engine is off

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » May 17th, 2007, 2:47 am

^^thanx

toyotatilidye

Postby toyotatilidye » May 21st, 2007, 5:40 pm

wazs up, am a new blacktop owner20v, and i had trouble in deciding beteen the 3sgte..why i didnt go with the 3s was the weight only later on i learnt that it was not much of an issue..Is that true to you guys who have 3s in AE101? is there oveersteering?

I also need some help in geting a ECU for my blacktop any ideas from any one was thinking bout the brand "Freedom" or Moteck

Return to “TOYOTA”