The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

highoctane

Postby highoctane » March 21st, 2007, 7:39 am

got the gasket from a friend that was doing the project ,and yes it drops the ratio cant remember by exactly how much but enough not to fry anything lol no piggyabck no standalone just STOCK

shakeedrake@hotmail.com

Postby shakeedrake@hotmail.com » March 21st, 2007, 7:42 am

ok thanks people but am in greenada where we realy dont have need for that six gear. lol

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 21st, 2007, 8:05 am

lol sweet, u sound as thou your on my kinda budget. im sure a piggyback will be a vgood investment and upgrade for that thou.
can u take sum pictures of your setup to show?, sounds interesting.

Postby gt4tified » March 21st, 2007, 1:55 pm

Aarong420 wrote:4k, its alright. ill find my way around doing it the cheep way.

does anyone know if ae101 shock an spindle assembly fit onto a ae92 hatch?
some say yea an some say de 101 bigger?

You doh find $4k is already de cheap way? Lemme guess, you like headache? Ok paddna, go brave. :wink:

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » March 21st, 2007, 2:55 pm

ah toyota skyline with ah sr22-gte

Postby wagonrunner » March 21st, 2007, 3:19 pm

*~TeamH2O~* wrote:ah toyota skyline with ah sr22-gte

that's what we talking bout.........

Postby Maserati » March 21st, 2007, 5:58 pm

:lol: :lol: got to get me one of those

highoctane

Postby highoctane » March 21st, 2007, 9:20 pm

send yur e.mail ill send pics to u

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 22nd, 2007, 1:33 pm

lol, i not sayin is not a good price. buh i could probly spend around the same $$ for everything ill need. manifold, turbo, gasket, d/pipe, f/reg etc.
small boost i runnin too a lil 8lbs.

maby this might sound crazy, but i was thinking of making a head "gasket" out of aluminum, just thick enough to drop the compression to run the boost. So instead of droping the pistons, raise the head. ?

Postby gt4tified » March 22nd, 2007, 3:22 pm

Aarong420 wrote:lol, i not sayin is not a good price. buh i could probly spend around the same $$ for everything ill need. manifold, turbo, gasket, d/pipe, f/reg etc.
small boost i runnin too a lil 8lbs.

maby this might sound crazy, but i was thinking of making a head "gasket" out of aluminum, just thick enough to drop the compression to run the boost. So instead of droping the pistons, raise the head. ?

When you say 'probly', did you actually go and get quotes for individual itmes....cuz I can assure you that unless you get a used turbo for FREE, things will not be much cheaper. For instance, do you know how much it costs to do braided oil lines for the turbo?

I think riva's package has all that included. Give him a call and talk to him.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 22nd, 2007, 8:15 pm

ahaw....na well is a different person i talking about dere pal hardluck....
ill look for him for TT and see what he has to offer. blessup

narrie

Postby narrie » March 22nd, 2007, 8:16 pm

would of like to make a trade with you. im looking for 6 forward. but there is only one little problem. locations.

De Bench

Postby De Bench » March 23rd, 2007, 7:35 am

If you're in Greneda, keep the six speed box, on those short streches and tigh corners the LSD and accelaration of the Six will be fantastic, if you have the power to pull it through.

Contarary to what is written here the Five has a higher top end as the ratios are much taller versus the Six.
Th six is king for accelration, but it's as brittle as a Wine glass.

The five will take 280lb/ft torque without breaking, the six will not make it past 240lb/ft torque.

The other thing aout the six versus the five is the throw lenght, the six is much shorter making constant shifting and driving a smile.

All of the above are not observations from other people's cars, those are my experineces and knowledge gained from talking with people in Australia, Finland, Japan and England, all of who have used both of these boxes.

You have to decide which makes you happier and gives you the driving performance that generates the grins.

But for me, if I still had a Toyota, I would stay with the six and get a gear set that wouldn't break.

shakeedrake@hotmail.com

Postby shakeedrake@hotmail.com » March 23rd, 2007, 8:02 am

ok it sounds like you do know what your saying cause ther problem is the traction, the car has a 3stage spec clutch lots of power but no traction trd suspention handles very good lots of top end, but am looking for a better pull out will that lsd help?

Postby gt4tified » March 23rd, 2007, 10:43 am

Sure, no problem....btw, about that headgasket....these things are usually precision made and I would not chance anyone in trinidad to do that sort of work. Headgaskets are usually CNC machined parts fyi.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 23rd, 2007, 11:47 am

talked to the guy he said the package sold already, no worries rite now just gonna swap the blacktop head onto the ST. see how that works.
first gonna try the intake cam, while the head is geting blasted. then its just to mount it up and see the results.

BTW im gonna need some good valve seals and any other seals infact for the head rebuild. where can i get these?, should i buy then direct from toyota?.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 23rd, 2007, 11:48 am

seen it dey, ....

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 23rd, 2007, 12:05 pm

Oh hell no, just got off the phone with the toyota dealer, they askin $45. for ONE valve seal, before tax. :shock: i mean JAHH i know is bes ting a getin buh lord fada. Please tell me there is somewhere elce i can get these parts.

Postby gt4tified » March 23rd, 2007, 2:19 pm

Other than toyota, I would only recommend aftermarket like ferrea or hks but those may be just as expensive. Don't play around when it comes to seals and bearings; the good stuff is always never cheap.

De Bench

Postby De Bench » March 23rd, 2007, 10:17 pm

The stock LSD in the six will fit directly into the casing of the five, only changed needed is the ring gear and that is a exact fit onto the diff.

The six's LSD is good, it's a helical gear type, it's operation is invisible as compared to an aftermarket, but it's a good unit.

Now no matter what LSD you have you will spin your tyres if you have much power and torque, the diffrence the LSd makes is the it allows both wheels to spin versus a open diff that spins only one wheel.

The advantage of the LSD is that it moves the power to the gripping wheel and pulls through the corner, but you still need to submit some driver input, it doesn't do it all by itself.

Also, if you lift a wheel mid turn the LSD will make you feel like a hero as the wheel on the ground still keep you moving in the forward direction versus a open diff where you will sipn the raised wheel to thy kingdom come.

If your helical style doesn't blow your bubble, then talk to Quaife, they'll fix you up really good.

Postby Hook » March 24th, 2007, 1:18 pm

post up the pix...the rest of us wanna be enlightened...sounds like a project worth doing :twisted:

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 24th, 2007, 8:33 pm

yeah i agree, and i havent gotten then yet...
Hook check out your post on diagnostic codes.
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=125952

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 24th, 2007, 8:46 pm

yeah i guess. :(
im just used to paying 8$ for a valve seal.

Terran

Postby Terran » March 25th, 2007, 8:42 am

highoctane, can I see too?? teligon@gmail.com

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 25th, 2007, 4:43 pm

a little inspiration for us 20Vers, heres a 20V head on a 7A + turbo.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcpdbWCDtA8
Last edited by Aarong420 on March 26th, 2007, 7:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

pbf1940

WOI

Postby pbf1940 » March 26th, 2007, 2:12 am

highoctane wrote:used the HKS lowering gasket added fuel regulator ,bigger injectors, blaster coil,T 25 turbo ,TURBONETICS BOLW OFF ,HKS INTERCOOLER, upgraded to ACT package , ohhh ! and my entire engine and piping is totally chromed :twisted: SHE RUNS SWEET @ ONLY 10lbs boost :lol:

NICE!! (COROLLAGT) told me of this upgrade. I could only imagine what that feels like since I am stll very much in love with my black and its been more than 2 years prolly 3. I would love to go boost so if this conversion is affordable and dependable HELL YEAH it will definitely be my next upgrade!

hit me---> pbf1940@yahoo.com

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 27th, 2007, 7:49 am

yip....if only the guy would post some pictures....stickin...

Has anyone every tried or head of results of puting a blacktop head, or blacktop parts in a silvertop?

shamzipi

4age - AE80 axels conversion

Postby shamzipi » March 27th, 2007, 9:56 am

16v 4age fitting into aa AE80 and people tellin me i must weld axels.

i dont want no cut and weld axels on my car.

I was thinking the sprinter axels might work.

so for now i stick up in a real traffic jam

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » March 27th, 2007, 11:44 am

If you can get the axels from an ae82 sprinter that went mostly tot he us market , that would help the situation out alot. Other than this trinidad and tobago Front wheel drive or constant velocity can egineer some pretty decent axels for your application.

shamzipi

Postby shamzipi » March 27th, 2007, 1:51 pm

The AE 82 that went to the us market, is that a rear wheel drive.

I saw a sprinter front cut in the bamboo but i not sure which engine it carried.

Return to “TOYOTA”