1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » March 13th, 2006, 2:09 pm

seanf3000 wrote:If you got your corolla JDM...then you're not going to get rear disc. After August 2000 production run, the design team decided that rear dics weren't needed for the corollas with the light weight they carry around. Only JDM corolla you will find with rear disc is now is the Z-Aerotourers.
Singapore and all local model corollas do carry rear disc tho. It's a marketing thing.

i love my rear disc...its not a marketing thing sean u just jelous :lol: :lol: :lol:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 13th, 2006, 2:54 pm

^^^^ah hahahahha.....

no.....iz just marketing....... :P :lol:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » March 13th, 2006, 2:59 pm

Rear discs mah a$$ :D

The Luxel ain't have no rear discs either... :?

nigel1977, I like that idea... shouldn't be too bad...

I was advised many years ago that the fragrance from those liquid air freshners used to get absorbed and settle in the system and the mold would feed off the sweet fragrance of the air freshner... hence creatin that moldy smell...

Hence, I don't use air freshner thingies, just spray ah lil lysol and febreze every other week.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 13th, 2006, 5:17 pm

i was talking about the carpet deoderisers likeglade. nce you let it set for awhile, then vaccum, it smells okish. so seeing the airfilter is kinda fiberish, and you vaccum on the reverse side and force the deoderiser dust thru the filter. its supposed to be anti fungal, etc etc. if its good for the carpet.. why not for the car?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » March 13th, 2006, 5:49 pm

^^^ I know exactly what you talkin about and I agree with you. they are really good. I don't see a problem with them either :)

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 13th, 2006, 7:54 pm

guys, I left the toyota manual in work which I downloaded from this thread. Can someone check for me...i'm trying to find out if there is any chassis difference between the zze121 and zze123.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 14th, 2006, 8:31 am

Chassis difference? As different lenghts, widths, wheeltracks, etc?

I also suppose you're talking about between the sedan and the hatchback? I can tell you for sure they have different wheel tracks but the same wheel base.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 14th, 2006, 10:10 am

seanf3000 wrote:Chassis difference? As different lenghts, widths, wheeltracks, etc?

I also suppose you're talking about between the sedan and the hatchback? I can tell you for sure they have different wheel tracks but the same wheel base.

Yes exactly, the reason being I am finding alot of suspension parts for the zze123 hatch corolla and I was wondering if they would work on my car (zze121 corolla). I know the engines are different but I am more concerned with the actual chassis (lenghts, widths, wheeltracks) as you correctly mentioned sean. Take a look at the link below.

http://www.trdsales.com/shop/product.asp?catcode=335

Suspension kit
Suspension stabilizer (4 point)
front strut bar

Would these work on the zze121?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 14th, 2006, 12:05 pm

Well cah see the page......probably blocked in the office.

But with diff wheel treads..i figure that the connection points for the stabliser bar may be a lil orf. (its only 10mm difference on the specs). Damper, Springs, roll bar diameter and even brake pads are different going from the normal corolla to the Z-aerotourers zz123s. I have diff part numbers for Teins, Konis, B+G and even EBC for suspension parts for both zz121 and zz123s.

You could take a chance but its risky.

Strut bar should be universal tho.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 14th, 2006, 4:16 pm

seanf3000 wrote:You could take a chance but its risky.

Strut bar should be universal tho.

The prices of those items are too high to be taking a chance if you know what I mean

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 14th, 2006, 4:31 pm

Yeah man......i know how it iz.. :( :(

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 15th, 2006, 5:32 pm

Ok after driving this darn car at the fliping speed limit (80km/h) for the whole week not passing it at all I managed a lame 430kms. Hopefully the next tank will last longer since when I initially filled the car last week I did some spirited driving and that had kill me.

SO ah just fill up cause the light came on, so lets see where $112 premium will take me going no faster than 80km/h which means not passing 2k rpms.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 15th, 2006, 6:00 pm

Ok my partner just got back to me with his gas milage that he said was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good.

Then I remember that he used to drive a PAJ galant wagon 2.0 litre

so he gets 450-480kms on a tank.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 15th, 2006, 9:03 pm

sentraman wrote:so he gets 450-480kms on a tank.

LOL :lol: :lol: :lol: well he is not too far from us...Congrats on your 430km..you're catching up to me...I don't drive under 80 though :( ..have a heavy foot.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 15th, 2006, 9:09 pm

seanf3000 wrote:Using the Denso IK16s.........Basically same iridium plug toyota will give you. Got them from ADAH303

I contacted ADAH303 about the plugs...think I will buy a set for my next plug change...he said however that its heat range 5...what exactly does this mean? Is this what you are using as well sean?

seanf3000 wrote:Got the K&N first thing, after I got the car. Don't know if these really change my econo.....slightly improved the response of the car

This is my next investment...I not going to mess with my sensors just cause I want a piece of pipe...I spoke to the guy in Valpark today..he has in stock and its $595!!!

seanf3000 wrote:Mintex brakes work excellent but you also get a ton load of brake dust. Ordered a set of EBC greens.

Where do you get the Mintex to buy? Does it cause a screeching noise when you mashing brakes? f so forget it..that noise irritates the hell outta me. Where did you order the ebc from sean and may I ask the price you are getting it for? I called toyota and the OEm brakes are 805 before VAT. I have a feeling the EBC's will be cheaper.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 17th, 2006, 11:34 am

^^^^

The IK16s are heat range 5. Thats the heatrange recommended for the car. You can use IK20s (heat range 6) also. Dave recommended that if I do alot of highway running that i switch to a colder plug. Maybe next time......oh crap.....wait thats next 80,000 km. But you can go ahead with the IK16s. Its what i'm using now. Cyah complain.

shop around for the K&N drop in if you can....i paid less for mine...but that was like 1.5 years ago. Maybe Sheriffs and Quikbits in debe.

Mintex you can get from Trinidad Brake and Clutch in Barataria. You can also get from Gobins and other dealers, but TB and C is the dealer for Mintex. No brake squeal until the pad gets low.......LOL. Costs about 250 I think....cyah remember now. EBC i ordering from Andy in Minicity. Currently....were trying to figure out exactly which FMSI number I am.......there seems to be waaay to many corolla brake pads...but i'm using the Mintex pad from the 2000 Celica GT. Think its D990 FMSI number. But the brake dust really is alot. But the EBCs might be the same or slightly cheaper......but its a better pad.

Speaking ah dat......one of meh rear sp9000s just blow out on the highway. Noooo...i was not driving aggressively. 120km and no one infront or behind for like 100yrs. No the tyres not too worn....not down to wear indicator yes. No....no bubbles....Look like something penetrate the rolling surface and bowwww......
Point is.....i eh even notice until ah man race up to meh and tell meh yes........... :shock: :shock: :shock: Thats what you call a really soft suspension!!!

Staggers

Postby Staggers » March 17th, 2006, 2:35 pm

seanf3000 wrote:^^^^

shop around for the K&N drop in if you can....i paid less for mine...but that was like 1.5 years ago. Maybe Sheriffs and Quikbits in debe.

Sheriff's currently out of stock, but quoted $395 over the phone

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 17th, 2006, 3:02 pm

Staggers wrote:

This is the place on cipero street in San Fernando right?

Staggers

Postby Staggers » March 17th, 2006, 3:31 pm

Yup...bought mine there last year

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 17th, 2006, 3:39 pm

Staggers wrote:Yup...bought mine there last year

hmm i'll call and ask them when they expect to have back in stock. That is a huge savings!!! thanks for the info Staggers.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » March 20th, 2006, 7:50 am

seanf3000 wrote:
Speaking ah dat......one of meh rear sp9000s just blow out on the highway. Noooo...i was not driving aggressively. 120km and no one infront or behind for like 100yrs. No the tyres not too worn....not down to wear indicator yes. No....no bubbles....Look like something penetrate the rolling surface and bowwww......
Point is.....i eh even notice until ah man race up to meh and tell meh yes........... :shock: :shock: :shock: Thats what you call a really soft suspension!!!

How come the tyre warning light didnt come on? One of my tyres had a nail in it and the light came on instantly... maybe different cars, different tolerances?

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 20th, 2006, 9:23 am

bleedingfreak wrote:
seanf3000 wrote:

How come the tyre warning light didnt come on? One of my tyres had a nail in it and the light came on instantly... maybe different cars, different tolerances?

Tyre warning light ya say, WTMC alya car have that :shock:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 20th, 2006, 11:05 am

bleedingfreak wrote:
seanf3000 wrote:

Errrmmm....don't recall seeing a typre warning light on my dash. Maybe there isn't one on the rear. I checked the lines and only seeing brake line, hand brake cable and abs sensor.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » March 20th, 2006, 11:14 am

Staggers wrote:

Qwkwhip is debe.
Quikbits/miniciti is in Valpark

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » March 21st, 2006, 7:46 am

seanf3000 wrote:
bleedingfreak wrote:
seanf3000 wrote:

Errrmmm....don't recall seeing a typre warning light on my dash. Maybe there isn't one on the rear. I checked the lines and only seeing brake line, hand brake cable and abs sensor.

When you turn on the ignition, the warning lights come on - ABS is yellow, Airbags is Red, Engine check etc,. The tyre warning indicator light is a yellow light and shaped like the side profile of a tyre with an double sides arrow inside it...

Something like:

(<->)

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 21st, 2006, 8:18 am

:cry: me eh have dat.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » March 21st, 2006, 8:32 am

^^ Really...?

But the Luxel have it... I doh understand this...

Hmm!!!

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 21st, 2006, 10:18 am

^^^^^ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh :oops: :oops: :oops:

Thats what that is???? :shock: :shock:

Ok...my bad. But i just notice that that light is out of my line of sight in my usual driving position. Thanks for the heads up.

Now I wondering how that thing works.... :mrgreen:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 21st, 2006, 10:34 am

ok i going to check it now.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 21st, 2006, 10:35 am

its not there. dammit. :(
Last edited by nigel1977 on March 21st, 2006, 10:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “TOYOTA”