1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 10th, 2006, 10:54 am

I will see if I can get them to reset the ecu and see, sounds like a good idea.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 10th, 2006, 12:42 pm

ah now find this:

http://rav4world.com/tsb/TC002-03.pdf

fellas as feel we better try and reset this thing to factory settings

this is for the tranny but I feel it is the same principle

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 10th, 2006, 1:43 pm

Now read that pdf. Yeah there is a reset function for the transmission as well. I don't think that messing us up now...but yeah the procedure looks the same as it was for the ECU reset.

Good luck with this fellas!!!!

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 10th, 2006, 1:49 pm

seanf3000 do u know of ANY place else besides Toyota that might be able to reset the ecu :?:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 10th, 2006, 1:54 pm

I wonder if I leave that sucka unpluged for a day or two if that will reset it :mrgreen:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 10th, 2006, 2:47 pm

Man....I think that prog written into an eprom or something. The workshop manual itself said you would need the Diagnostics Tool. I dunno if any tool would work. Try Masterserve nah....they have some diag tools, Laughlin as well. Not sure if these can do the same things....but it worth a call or two.

Damn these OEMs and their proprietry stuff!!! :evil:

whome

Postby whome » March 11th, 2006, 2:15 pm

If you read the PDF carefully, there are two ways to do this. If you have a proper OBDII scan tool, you can reset via this. That way the radio stations, power seats etc. settings don't get messed up.

the alternative is to disconnect battery for 5 minutes. Then you'll need to reprogram the radio etc....

You know you can get OBDII scanners by using the PC you using now and free legit software. I don't know if it supports enhanced functions for Toyota though.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 11th, 2006, 3:37 pm

whome you are right. I read it again and it says procedure 1 is using the diag. and method 2 is unpluging the battery pole :wink:

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 11th, 2006, 4:52 pm

This week I got 440km to a tank of premium with my car. Is that considered good for us 3zz-fe guys. On another note what I forgot to ask sentraman and nigel and anyone else who has the 1.6 roro is which model do you have? I have the Gli. I have also seen some 1.6Xli or Lxi VVT-i written on them. Could the model account for any differences in the mileage?

Don't mean to spam the thread or anything but how many of you with Corollas have changed your brake pads since you have it? I need to replace mine and would like to get some opinions on what you all use. I do not want anything that makes noise. I was looking online and came across some EBC's. I heard these are supposed to be really good. What do your'll think? http://brakes4u.co.uk/products.asp?cat=13522
Isn't there someone here locally who sells these? Gavin I believe. I wonder if he stocks it. Would like to know the price.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 11th, 2006, 5:20 pm

1.6 LX vvt-i is what I running.

Ok I should have some stats from a friend of mine who says his gas like never wants to end tonight so I will post the results

I hear EBC green stuff is really good

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 11th, 2006, 5:46 pm

sentraman wrote:1.6 LX vvt-i is what I running.

Ok I should have some stats from a friend of mine who says his gas like never wants to end tonight so I will post the results

Yep we need to actually know what kind of mileage he gets, what type of gas he uses and what model corolla he has, if its the Gli or LX. Have you ever gotten as high as 440km to a tank sentraman?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 11th, 2006, 8:09 pm

gli gor me

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 11th, 2006, 9:14 pm

DarkClouD wrote:
sentraman wrote:1.6 LX vvt-i is what I running.

Yep we need to actually know what kind of mileage he gets, what type of gas he uses and what model corolla he has, if its the Gli or LX. Have you ever gotten as high as 440km to a tank sentraman?

The highest I got so far was 400kms and that was when the light came on :cry: And that was only once

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 11th, 2006, 9:17 pm

i got 4thirtysomething once

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 11th, 2006, 9:58 pm

nigel1977 wrote:i got 4thirtysomething once

Well we seem to be on par with the Gli's...my 440km comprised of alot of short runs and long runs last week. Will compare mileage again this week. By the way I going to change my spark plugs soon to platinum...don't know if that would make a difference. Will soon find out.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 11th, 2006, 10:07 pm

plugs are on my "to do" list yes. that and the k&n drop in. still waiting on sheriffs to get.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 12th, 2006, 1:18 am

nigel1977 wrote:plugs are on my "to do" list yes. that and the k&n drop in. still waiting on sheriffs to get.

I have a friend who did the k&n drop in and he started to see improvements in his gas mileage, but thats the nze 1.5 litre corolla. Not sure if it would benefit us as well. When sheriffs gets the drop in let me know.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 12th, 2006, 9:30 am

^^you doing platinum or iridium?

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 12th, 2006, 10:49 am

nigel1977 wrote:^^you doing platinum or iridium?

I'm not too sure yet...Have to do some research..my plugs don't need changing for another 4000km but when my kind of runs that will be soon. The mechanic I starting to carry my car by for service trying to sell me bosch platinum plugs..not sure about these...anyone knows of it and if its any good? It's just like him trying to sell me OHK front disc pads...I am not going to buy that...I will check out the price of the EBC greenstuff or if anyone else could recommend some good disc pads...I personally didnt like how the OHK was working in my last corolla, was making noise etc and I hate that! In the end i prefer to source my parts from now on and let him do the service changes.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 12th, 2006, 2:26 pm

I changed my plugs to the ngk iridium.

Darkcloud I saw a car just like yours going into Grand Bazaar last night, was that you :?:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 12th, 2006, 3:25 pm

brake pads are easy to do, its the brake shoes i hate. get the pads, and diy.
d/l the rolla manual and fix

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 12th, 2006, 8:40 pm

sentraman wrote:I changed my plugs to the ngk iridium.

Darkcloud I saw a car just like yours going into Grand Bazaar last night, was that you :?:

nope that wasn't me...I am starting to see a few cars like mine on the road now with the same kit...

How much did you pay for your iridium plugs and where did you buy them?Strange how you are using these plugs and your mileage isn't improving.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 12th, 2006, 8:41 pm

nigel1977 wrote:brake pads are easy to do, its the brake shoes i hate. get the pads, and diy.
d/l the rolla manual and fix

hmmm your rolla didn't come with rear discs?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 12th, 2006, 9:54 pm

yep, but im talking generally. lol.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » March 13th, 2006, 8:00 am

DarkClouD wrote:How much did you pay for your iridium plugs and where did you buy them?Strange how you are using these plugs and your mileage isn't improving.

$75 for one by TJ's Auto in Dabadie... Dunno who has cheaper.

Using them in my Trueno... Slight improvement in performance but good for 100K km :)

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 13th, 2006, 9:03 am

Using the Denso IK16s.........Basically same iridium plug toyota will give you. Got them from ADAH303. Got the K&N first thing, after I got the car. Don't know if these really change my econo.....slightly improved the response of the car.

Mintex brakes work excellent but you also get a ton load of brake dust. Ordered a set of EBC greens.

If you got your corolla JDM...then you're not going to get rear disc. After August 2000 production run, the design team decided that rear dics weren't needed for the corollas with the light weight they carry around. Only JDM corolla you will find with rear disc is now is the Z-Aerotourers.
Singapore and all local model corollas do carry rear disc tho. It's a marketing thing.

BTW anyone change their A/C filter element yet...... :lol: :lol:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » March 13th, 2006, 10:32 am

seanf3000 wrote:Using the Denso IK16s.........Basically same iridium plug toyota will give you. Got them from ADAH303. Got the K&N first thing, after I got the car. Don't know if these really change my econo.....slightly improved the response of the car.[/qoute]

As ^^^ saying: Denso is an OEM for Toyota, so you good to go there.

BTW anyone change their A/C filter element yet...... :lol: :lol:

Where yuh does be driving man? :) Yuh getting that moldy smell already?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 13th, 2006, 10:34 am

^^nah, i jus blow it out when i had to chanve the ac evap.. or was it condesner. i always get confused

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 13th, 2006, 11:18 am

Nah man...no mouldy smell.....Is just that when i check for it.....there was none there... :shock: :shock: :shock:

so i wondering whether to even buy it or not. I mean........its just an a/c filter.....*achoooo!!!!*

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 13th, 2006, 12:59 pm

i had an instant idea when i was blowing out mine... dust a little of those carpet deoderiser, then vaccum it, some of it stays so when the ac blows ans sucks air, it will smell noice... just an idea.

Return to “TOYOTA”