The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Postby gt4tified » February 27th, 2007, 8:18 am

AllTrac wrote:my mr2 is soon for sale, so spread the word

Ah want de CT20b!

shamzipi

WTK: Turbo a 4AGE red top(MR2)

Postby shamzipi » March 1st, 2007, 8:51 am

I have a cardurated 4age red top with holly sidedrafts and extractors.
would running turbo be to much or is it possible?
What will i need and costings on the job.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » March 1st, 2007, 10:33 pm

Hum... It could be done but it would cost you some cash and tuneing... I rather advise you to buy ah turbo engine or altest a EFI engine...
Let me list out some things you would need for the carby turbo..

Turbo: $1000
Manfoild: $800
Pump: $200
FPR (for carby turbo cars): $1500 Aromotive
Intercooler: $1100
Gauges: $1500
Machine shop work: $500

and some other cost...

PM me if you want futher details

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 2nd, 2007, 5:17 am

how wud a starlet turbo engine fit in that car...i not sure so i asking...and that not expensive them starlet turbo engine complete does be all kinda 5k and ting.

Postby janfar » March 2nd, 2007, 10:42 am

what kinda of car?

shamzipi

Postby shamzipi » March 2nd, 2007, 11:31 am

Ae 80 corolla
i bought the 4age on a deal. i was looking at the starlet turbo and the cost was 5500 but i got the 4age for 3500, rebuilt engine and gearbox so my pocket overruled. I'll run stock untill i buy a next ride.
Thanks everyone

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » March 4th, 2007, 11:11 pm

ke70_driftking, what bout a 4age (FWD) into a ke70 (RWD)??..know anyone who can do this?/

Tuner Imports

Postby Tuner Imports » March 9th, 2007, 10:31 pm

I have an HKS cast iron manifold for the 4AGE if you are interested....

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » March 9th, 2007, 10:40 pm

Tuner Imports, anything for the ca18de???

Tuner Imports

Postby Tuner Imports » March 10th, 2007, 7:03 pm

What do u need?
I have one Top mount CT/T3-T4 Turbo manifold coming next week...
Do you want extractors?

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » March 10th, 2007, 7:22 pm

Tuner Imports,extractors for the non turbo ca18???

Strauss

Postby Strauss » March 14th, 2007, 3:35 pm

AllTrac wrote:my mr2 is soon for sale, so spread the word

PM me your asking price when you ready and if you don't wanna put it on tuner.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 14th, 2007, 3:46 pm

does anyone know if its possible to put a blacktop head onto a ST block with ST internals. Or should i just swap cams and throttles?
would i need the blacktop ecu?

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 14th, 2007, 3:57 pm

if the ST you're referring to doesnt refer to Subaru Technica
maybe this website may have some info about it for you dont go nuts if it doesnt cause i havent reviewed the material in a while.
http://www.billzilla.org/carindex.htm

drunk24-7

3s help

Postby drunk24-7 » March 14th, 2007, 4:31 pm

alright, this might sound sacreligious, but i have a 20 valve rwd thats rite folks....in a lancer. right now all i have is just bold on mods, but as the thirst for more power increases, i've started to consider a 3sgte rwd project. any ideas where to start?. gear box ideas wouldl be nice...

I FOUND OUT FIRST HAND NOT ALL THE STUFF ON THOSE WEBSITES ARE WISE TO DO. so here i am funbling for information after going thru my 2nd 20valve due to following the mods stated on those sites.

Postby gt4tified » March 14th, 2007, 5:26 pm

The 3sgte is a great option drunk24-7 but involves a lot of work. What diff are you currently using? The stock lancer diff is no match for the torque of a 3sgte and you will most likely have to get the mr2 (lsd recommended) gearbox, to work that engine.

The easier and short-term solution is to buy the turbo kit that a pwr seller has for the 20valve and ruk boost like waw!

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 14th, 2007, 6:38 pm

i've started to consider a 3sgte rwd project. any ideas where to start?.

i would start by getting a toyota chassis to put the 3sgte in.
if you were guilty of a sacreligious engine swap that would be ok. thats like putting a 4afte in a celica chassis. what you did is actually treason :!: punishable only by death but we would pardon you based on the fact that we understand that had you known better you would not commit this heinous crime.
recommended "rice look" chassis are as follows: SS1/SS2 celica, AE111 Levin, Trueno, 111 corolla GT or even the AE101 corolla. no looks pure performance recommendations are: KE70 chassis, and well i dunno what the older model corolla model numbers are. if you insist on RWD you'll have to use an older toyota like the cresida or something for RWD applications.
if you insist on using the lancer i'd help you out still with tuning...
as long as u switch to the 4g63 engine :lol: :lol: :twisted:

Postby gt4tified » March 15th, 2007, 10:51 am

nasscott wrote:
i've started to consider a 3sgte rwd project. any ideas where to start?.

i would start by getting a toyota chassis to put the 3sgte in.
if you were guilty of a sacreligious engine swap that would be ok. thats like putting a 4afte in a celica chassis. what you did is actually treason :!: punishable only by death but we would pardon you based on the fact that we understand that had you known better you would not commit this heinous crime.
recommended "rice look" chassis are as follows: SS1/SS2 celica, AE111 Levin, Trueno, 111 corolla GT or even the AE101 corolla. no looks pure performance recommendations are: KE70 chassis, and well i dunno what the older model corolla model numbers are. if you insist on RWD you'll have to use an older toyota like the cresida or something for RWD applications.
if you insist on using the lancer i'd help you out still with tuning...
as long as u switch to the 4g63 engine :lol: :lol: :twisted:

Actually, you know nasscott, I think he did that poor lancer a favour by dropping the 20v in it....may have actually increased the market value too! :lol:

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 15th, 2007, 5:22 pm

gt4 whos got the turbo kit for the 20v?

dry

Postby dry » March 15th, 2007, 5:24 pm

who turbo-ing their 4ag? scopes mih sig... low comp pistons for sale :D

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 15th, 2007, 5:45 pm

eh heh....hmmmmmmmmmm
boy rite now i lookin at a blacktop head, so meh money goin in one direction.
pm meh a bess price and ill think about it..

Also where can i get a good head gasket for the 20V, if i swap the head ill need one that can tek some lix..?? pref in north side

Aarong420

4AG Tuners

Postby Aarong420 » March 16th, 2007, 4:55 pm

So what makes your 20V pop ?

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » March 16th, 2007, 6:19 pm

u would have to be a little more clearer than that pop as in??????

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » March 16th, 2007, 7:05 pm

in terms of pop ,. if i could could squeeze 180hp out of my silver top , that would do it for me just fine. In standard trim at about 165 ps at the flywheel and probably 130*-140* at the wheels , the output considering what it is , is suffiecent in stock trim . the head has alot of potential in it , that can be further massaged to flow enough for 200 hp , once camshaft valve timming would be sufficent enough not to cause eratic loss of low end power. I'm not to sure if the rocker and shim problem is the same as the 4-AGe 16valve when it comes to altering the valve train to accomodate longer duration &lift cams.as well as compromising the vvt system.
but tunning on a high vcompression engine , for natural apsirated results with our quality of gasoline will have you thinking of detonation as a next door neighbor cause its always going to be there , since they require more than 95octane. as per efi system .
turbocharging in my opinon takes away the essence of knowing what it takes to make power on a motor. though you can get a phenominal amount of power based on the displacement , you are working with , it stresses the motor because of the application and in general turbocharged engines run hotter ,caused of ther friction generated of the pressurized air and the rate at which it is compressed makes heat . clearances need to be revised internally as well as cooiling and oiling must be up to task if you want to make reliable "big"power. :shock:
the easy was with boost is lowe boost pressure and dumping fuel by which ceratin people do that they saw will help , but then again their engines never last :mrgreen:

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » March 16th, 2007, 7:18 pm

i think he means that most 20v with exhaust upgrades literally "pop" when you release the accelerator.
From what I've noticed,the 20v "pop" is due to the engine running slightly rich, some even spit flame :D . I've seen and heard many doing this which leads me to suspect that toyota's ecu makes the 20v run on the rich side.

anyone verify?

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » March 16th, 2007, 9:54 pm

after 6000 rpm , yup , pop pop pop

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » March 17th, 2007, 9:28 am

sadly, the 3s will be going into a mazda 616. remember those? the engine recently failed, so now its time for the big game hunters.

I'm thinking about using the diff out of either a RX7 or a 280C(disc brakes). any ideas about RWD gearbox for the 3S?.

Aarong420

Postby Aarong420 » March 17th, 2007, 11:21 am

and how would u trick the ecu to run rich? TPS, AFM ?

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » March 17th, 2007, 12:28 pm

when yuh say small boost...how small is small? research on the net says about 12 pounds safe, but again who verifies the stuff on the net?

Postby AllTrac » March 17th, 2007, 6:36 pm

the W58 gearbox would work on the 3sgte to make it rwd.

Return to “TOYOTA”