1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Staggers

Postby Staggers » February 24th, 2006, 9:27 pm

^^ Actually, never mind on the last 2...I think I found the answer to my own question
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=60666

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » February 27th, 2006, 10:33 pm

hey guys, I just need some clarification on the front lip for the OEM front bumpers...I have not actually seen one up close and personal..only from distances on the road. I have these 2 pics and I am trying to understand how the front lip is attached. It seems that it goes just beneath the fog lights but what I am unclear about is if it actually goes over the existing piece of the OEM bumper which already exists below the fogs (doesnt make sense in my head since it would be doubling up on the bumper underneath the fogs) . Also, how is it attached? Do you need to drill and bolt it on?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 1st, 2006, 1:05 pm

388/$100.
wtf going on?

since i flushed injectors, the car wukkin better, but my mileage got worse..... is that possible?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » March 1st, 2006, 7:38 pm

Went pricing fuel filter this weekend for the 1ZZ...

$385 by my regular place.

The car NOW hit 40K but we had it for 3 1/2 yrs... Should I bother to change that bugger? Is it worth the hassle? i.e. removing rear seat, etc.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 1st, 2006, 9:40 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:Went pricing fuel filter this weekend for the 1ZZ...

$385 by my regular place.

The car NOW hit 40K but we had it for 3 1/2 yrs... Should I bother to change that bugger? Is it worth the hassle? i.e. removing rear seat, etc.

uhh yes..don't do things the lazy/cheap way I say.

btw anyone have an answer to my question about the front lip spoiler?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 2nd, 2006, 6:44 am

yeah,it just attaches. some are screwed on, and some are riveted on. the better ones ive seen have studs and are bolted from the back. ive seen a few that are "made" onto the car and painted on the car. heaven help those, cuz if broken, you hadda flash back the whole section of the skirt and the car, whereas the ones that are built outside and ate attached on, can be removed, repaired and replaced.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 2nd, 2006, 8:25 am

^^ditto for that.....I have seen both types of front lip as well. And i wondered why the hell they painted them like that.

bleeding freak....if you're changing that fuel filter...let me know how it went cause the procedure in the workshop manual looks delicate. Since TTTL kinda frigging around with just changing the filter.....maybe i'll just get the fuel filter and take it by Masterserve to change.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » March 2nd, 2006, 9:48 am

seanf3000 wrote:bleeding freak....if you're changing that fuel filter...let me know how it went cause the procedure in the workshop manual looks delicate. Since TTTL kinda frigging around with just changing the filter.....maybe i'll just get the fuel filter and take it by Masterserve to change.

^^ I was hinting/hoping that YOU change that filter already and woulda give me some advice! :)

The guy who I buy my stuff from has a 1NZ wagon so he has ALL those Corolla parts. He didn't change his until about 60K km...

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » March 2nd, 2006, 9:52 am

^^ yeah i waiting for you sean to change that fliter 1st so stop stickin lol!

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 2nd, 2006, 10:04 am

nigel1977 wrote:yeah,it just attaches. some are screwed on, and some are riveted on. the better ones ive seen have studs and are bolted from the back. ive seen a few that are "made" onto the car and painted on the car. heaven help those, cuz if broken, you hadda flash back the whole section of the skirt and the car, whereas the ones that are built outside and ate attached on, can be removed, repaired and replaced.

Thanks for the clarification...this was confusing me but I understand now..one more question though...at the end of the day no matter of its bolted on, stuck on or made on the bumper they all look the same right?

As for the fuel filter would it be the same procedure for the 3zzfe, ie remove backseat etc?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » March 2nd, 2006, 11:15 am

^^^ Yeah.. the fuel filters are all in the same place. Under the back seat.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 2nd, 2006, 3:31 pm

nah, they doh look the same. the ones that are put on right, as in attached on, have a nice black rubber between the skirt and the car.

the ones that are made on, well, are made on. i find those look bad. ive seen a few that cracking off the car. horrible. with our shitty roads and high speed bumps, dont go for that type.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 4th, 2006, 8:38 pm

nigel1977 wrote:388/$100.
wtf going on?

since i flushed injectors, the car wukkin better, but my mileage got worse..... is that possible?

Nigel after I got my injectors serviced that mudda sucka give me 290kms to a $100 :? :?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 5th, 2006, 12:20 am

what the hell. that just cant be right.
so with clean injectors we getting lowr mileage.

bess we start throwin een some tranny fluid. i dunno. i give up.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 5th, 2006, 10:16 am

After a while the milage came back up but still not good enough

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 5th, 2006, 3:12 pm

well at least thats a relief.

whome

Postby whome » March 5th, 2006, 6:46 pm

Fellas, I've been reading the posts. Make aure your ect sensors are working right and giving the resistance at the specified temperature. The ECM cannot tell if the sensors are reading the "right" temperature. Only if the sensor is totally gone through or close to it, then it will throw a code in a scan. So if your temperature sensor is reading a "cold" engine when it already warm up, the ECM not going to know that. The result is that the ECM will continue to give a richer A/F ratio ( like your choke stick) and you going to get less mileage. The easiest way is to check the sensors next to either a brand new one or one you know is good. Stick it in a pot of boiling water and compare the resistance readings. Also check your air temp sensor too.

If that does not work, then check the 02 sensors for "lazy" sensors something the ECM can't detect either.

In any case, the bad mileage is probably centered around some temp sensors that not giving correct readings.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 5th, 2006, 7:04 pm

Hmmmm INTERESTING

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 5th, 2006, 7:43 pm

I was wondering about the temperature also, but I was thinking maybe it was sensing that the engine is always hott because I find the fans come on frequently

whome

Postby whome » March 5th, 2006, 11:52 pm

the cooling system sensor is usually separate from the engine water temp sensor. The cooling is generall on/off and the water temp sensor is analog reading the exact temp so the the ECM can adjust the A/F exactly as needed.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 6th, 2006, 7:26 am

gr8 stuff. so now lets get someone who has good mileage to pull out theirs and get a resistance reading so we can compare. lol. anyone willing?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 6th, 2006, 9:06 am

Wayyyyyy.....allyuh real bad yes......LOL!!

Anyway.....coming up quickly to my next service. I will change fuel filter then. I my risk my mech and myself doing it with the workshop manual. If we do....i will post up a pictoral of the procedure.

BTW whats allyuh idle rpm in Neutral and in drive when your car is properly up to operating temp? I know its going to be different for my engine....but just to get an overall consensus.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » March 6th, 2006, 11:55 am

nigel1977 wrote:gr8 stuff. so now lets get someone who has good mileage to pull out theirs and get a resistance reading so we can compare. lol. anyone willing?

Well my mileage aint too much better than your'll. I seriously think we missing something since its only these bloody 1.6 3zz-fe's from singapore that sucking gas.

Allyuh fellars ready to source some 2zz's? we could arrange a group buy. :lol:

But on a serious note...I give up as well. I just not getting the mileage I use to from my ae111 1.6 corolla and the local and roro nze guys getting way better mileage than us. geez :x

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 6th, 2006, 4:45 pm

whats even more alarming is that the 1.8 version of that engine and all getting better fuel econo.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » March 6th, 2006, 5:07 pm

seanf3000 wrote:whats even more alarming is that the 1.8 version of that engine and all getting better fuel econo.

not going and read all those pages right now, but kind of reminds me of the glitchy Nissan QG16 maf, compared to the QG15 and 18

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 6th, 2006, 7:39 pm

^^^what was the fix???

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 7th, 2006, 9:13 am

brand new MAF

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 7th, 2006, 9:59 am

There isn't a red technical note for the MAFs as far as I know tho. But the symptons sound familiar. In essence, the MAF was reading erroneously and telling the ecu to run rich.....resulting in low fuel economy. The effect would be similar to what whome was talking about with the Air intake temp sensor. The only real way to tell this is as whome said to remove the sensors and test them with voltmeters thru their operating range, whether it be temp range or air pressure range.

But that sounds like too nasty a problem for TTTL not to know about it and see about it on sentramans car. But yuh know how dealers does move :?

For all that have the workshop manual.......the voltermeter ranges for diagnosis of these kind of sensor problems are in there.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 8th, 2006, 11:34 am

DAM 400 posts, 21 pages and no fix :? :? :( :( :( :( :(

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 8th, 2006, 11:38 am

I was told by 2 mechanics that the MAF on the corolla and the mitsubishi's or was it the mazdas are the same. Any truth to this?

The reason for mentioning this was because it was said the others were cheaper :?

Return to “TOYOTA”