WHY SO CHEAP GUYS!!! EXPLAIN

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

trdboy

Postby trdboy » October 17th, 2008, 10:25 am

hopefully he not gona respond, and SlowPoke i reali sorry for using ur name in vain lol!! ok back to it, u know all over the world like in uk,and japan, singapore etc, new zealand australia when u look up the prices of a bzr levin they go for an average price of 8-10 thousand lbs, which is pricey cuz u getting supras and mr2 and celicas for cheaper so its just here i find it kinda sad to see them going so cheap!!! good for buyers but bad for sellers down the road!!! well anyway guys i love toyota like hog love mud and i just wana see we get quality price for quality cars!!!!

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 17th, 2008, 1:01 pm

Slow Poke wrote:
trdboy wrote:aye honda man go back to ur slowpoke forum nah!!

please stop using my name in that derogatory manner or associated with honda thanks

And THIS, ladies and gentlemen, is how Afganistan was invaded by the US.

heshere2001

Postby heshere2001 » October 17th, 2008, 9:04 pm

^^Lolz

go and cho yuh frame in the honda forum

^^ Lolz Again

Postby buzz » October 18th, 2008, 3:29 am

corollalover101 wrote:it comes down to market forces, quite frankly I would not pay more that 45K for an AE111, and no more than $55K for an AE111 Levin/Trueno, neither would I pay those ridiculous figures for a Civic irregardless of what engine it had, however there is a phenomenon called Honda fanboyism which leaves them to believe their cars are worth that and someone will pay it

Me?? if I'm spending $90K I'd quicker buy and Altezza because whether it be Type R,SiR. whatever it just an econobox Civic to most people ( including Bankers and insurance agents)

this is golden info here 8-)

Postby buzz » October 18th, 2008, 3:35 am

Strauss wrote:
Slow Poke wrote:
trdboy wrote:aye honda man go back to ur slowpoke forum nah!!

please stop using my name in that derogatory manner or associated with honda thanks

And THIS, ladies and gentlemen, is how Afganistan was invaded by the US.

but plz ppl

we all know that this "fight dong" culture does not exist on the toyota forum..

lets keep the brand knocking on the ole talk forum and keep up the good rep that this forum has...

remember:

1) create thread in ole talk

2) quote the users post

3) flame user

4) repeat step 3 as necessary

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 18th, 2008, 8:47 am

Hahah.

It's a shame though. It means I'm not going to get much for my Levin. That's so sh!tty. Nice 2 door car... great engine.

But really it's the fad that everything must be Ess Arrr something.

outrider

Postby outrider » October 18th, 2008, 11:31 am

I go be honest.......sometime i feel d honda ppl ah lil arrogant........I was puttin in d k&n filter in meh car on wuk.....ah man wit ah civic see meh.....start to bawl,"I go see yuh on d highway"....chups......I jus wa meh car run ah lil better........lol ......anyway if tings go as plan.......I go chek im on d highway....lol

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » October 27th, 2008, 11:53 pm

Strauss wrote:Hahah.

It's a shame though. It means I'm not going to get much for my Levin. That's so sh!tty. Nice 2 door car... great engine.

But really it's the fad that everything must be Ess Arrr something.

Reminds me of a funny joke I saw in drags...a B11 sunny and a KE-70 corolla both with SR-20 in them...who go win? lol

Anyways.. Levin is a rare car in trinidad indeed, not too many daily drivers gon want to buy it. Hold on to the car, it nice

trdboy

Postby trdboy » October 28th, 2008, 3:02 am

but that is a misconception we have to clear up!! levins are great for daily driving just as good as they are for coming out and mashing up men on the cross on a saturday night. the first one i owned was a bzg, same 6fwd bt 20v but the suspension was exactly that of a ae111 corolla or ae101, and maintenance was basically checking ur oil regular once u running hard!!! but other than that this car handles like a dream, and has good speed all together with the luxury of every good car out there!! now i own a bzr model and the only thing different is the super strut suspension and u getting these in foreign used places or brand new from barbados!! and fellas the 3sgte fitting like a plum to lol!!! and even better u dont even hada study oil just put gas and drive!!1 its going in 2 years i have owned these vehicles and the only time its been down was to change clutch!!!!! oh gosh is toyota wa u expect????

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » October 28th, 2008, 1:44 pm

when i say daily drivers, i mean people who don't care for a car that can go fast...i woulda say grocery getters but that sounds insulting..lol. but in the class of daily driving subtle toyotas, corolla does do just fine for the people.

i like levins real bad and i'd gladly aquire one if the opportunity presented itself in the right timing. but i guess in trinidad it boils down to the hype and levins just never really caught on as the real in-thing

is like one of my friends was saying..supras never really caught on in trinidad for whatever reason. is a damn fine car with loads of potential to mash up all competition but maybe there was not enough availability? maybe not enough hype?

D3monic

Postby D3monic » October 28th, 2008, 2:24 pm

scion I wrote:toyota or die bro!! all d way jus keep it coming :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: 0X

Postby eliteauto » October 28th, 2008, 3:01 pm

sham1984, you bring up some very valid points, check any street racing or legit racing venue and see the scarcity of Toyotas and frankly a legal MKIV Supra is expensive and mods are even more costly, most Levin/ Trueno owners are content ( seemingly) to just have a proper working machine, for personal enjoyment

There's little hype around these cars unlike Civics, B whatevers with SR's etc and that is reflected in the market price

trdboy

Postby trdboy » October 28th, 2008, 10:07 pm

sham1984.... i hear u bro loud and clear!!!! and the thing u said bout supras are so true as well!!!!! i had a mkiv before buying my second levin and ppl always tell me i had to be crazy to sell that to buy a levin but my issue was that it was a tranny non turbo and i like performance and i cant handle tranny for to long it too boring!!! anyway the plan was to convert the supra into a manual twin turbo beast!!!hmmmm boy the only 6 speed box i was getting was going for 18k, and then i needed to get the diff and driveshaft and yolk and manual harness and then turbo the life outa it so we looking at bout over 80k just to bring it to normal stock 6speed spec!!! so that was outa my league
and i guess daz why we dont have much supras on the tracks!!! or on the road!!!!!! cuz ppl dont wana buy something that reali scarce unless u is yancy!!!

sensiman

Re: toyota

Postby sensiman » October 28th, 2008, 11:00 pm

NY4PD wrote:
trdboy wrote:NY4PD u outa ur mind dude!!!!! go google toyota and u will see that toyota is the leading car manufacturers in the world taking over the spot from GM....they also have controlling shares of subaru and shares with yamaha and leading through luxury sports sedans with lexus oh by the way why are u on this thread honda have nothing good to talk bout????? lets see when u talk bout supras do u hear anything bout a nsx coming close to that nnnnnnnnnnooooooooooooo they compare that to skylines, amm when u hear bout mr2 do u hear anything bout type r integra noooooo cuz they compare that to ferari, and dont get me started on that fag ride they call s2000 geezzzz!!!

Men MR2 could never come near Ferrari, they can't even come near a honda at least not mines anyway, I beat them all the time on the track and the road, so don't try to tell me about MR2....I have had MR2 before fully loaded and they don't even hold there power at all...as for Supra that was built in a class by it self and Honda just have not built a car to compete with that car yet that's all to it, Remember all cars have there Bracket, Please study first before you compare cars... I was just saying that Toyota sells there cars for to much money, parts are to expensive for the type of cars and they over charge for there maintenance. I have never said that they don't make good cars/Reliable. I just won't own a Toyota again because they feel they are the best and they are not that's all to it.....

Please study facts first before you type.

trdboy

Postby trdboy » October 29th, 2008, 1:24 am

to whom are u referring to dude???

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » October 29th, 2008, 6:24 pm

o whom are u referring to dude

he was refeering to teh jacka$$ opps i mean honda owner

trdboy

Postby trdboy » October 29th, 2008, 7:49 pm

TRDcorolla wrote:
o whom are u referring to dude

he was refeering to teh jacka$$ opps i mean honda owner

hahah literally rolling on the floor laughing man!!!!

sensiman

Postby sensiman » October 29th, 2008, 9:57 pm

trdboy wrote:to whom are u referring dude???

edited.

And as said, I was referring to the misinformed NY4PD

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » October 29th, 2008, 11:33 pm

I was glad though to see a couple supras coming up the highway sunday night.. one on a truck and one getting on bad infront the truck..lol

In freeport, south of the policestation has a parts place with a crash supra. Might be gone by now, but it was there for a few years up until last year when I was looking for corolla parts.
Was a nice silver MKIV that get hit on the front.. look like small bonx buh the man wanted something like $140K for it :S

Whats the price range on a MKIV Supra these days? thats if anyone is selling theirs in Trinidad

trdboy

Postby trdboy » October 30th, 2008, 6:51 am

well i was calling 120k for mine and ended up selling for 110k, had i held out i know i would have gotten my price but there was a time frame for buying this recent trueno, my supra was non turbo and automatic and was the 1st set of jz80 1993 series and still the price on these babys real high which brings the whole thing back again from the start of this thread, in the case of the supra it is rare and for that reason holds a high price but for the levins they are rare but holds a lower price,not that in any way u can compare a levin to a supra but u get my drift!! a honda man was talking thrash bout the supras and was saying that the supra was just a levin on steroids lol!!!!!!!! but yeah and me personally if i had the cash i wouldnt mind paying 200k for an original 6speed supra, for example the one dream cars had recently now that was real sweet i just sat in that car and didnt want to move!! and they sold that for 220k not bad for a car designed in 1993!! and yet the r34 gtr skyline came 6 years and 2 models later and ppl always compare these cars together, toyotas were always ahead of its time!!!!!!

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 30th, 2008, 10:30 am

sham1984 wrote:is like one of my friends was saying..supras never really caught on in trinidad for whatever reason. is a damn fine car with loads of potential to mash up all competition but maybe there was not enough availability? maybe not enough hype?

The reason for the Supra's not doing as well... there were some business men that were hyping ridiculous prices on parts and was turning in into a "premium" thing.

So people who normally could have easily afforded it, now had to stretch too far into their pockets. So if you wasn't part of the crowd, buss price in your ass. It was the same strategy used by Amar back in the days.

Postby AllTrac » October 30th, 2008, 3:27 pm

i blame F+F

trdboy

Re: toyota

Postby trdboy » November 2nd, 2008, 2:04 pm

NY4PD wrote:
trdboy wrote:NY4PD u outa ur mind dude!!!!! go google toyota and u will see that toyota is the leading car manufacturers in the world taking over the spot from GM....they also have controlling shares of subaru and shares with yamaha and leading through luxury sports sedans with lexus oh by the way why are u on this thread honda have nothing good to talk bout????? lets see when u talk bout supras do u hear anything bout a nsx coming close to that nnnnnnnnnnooooooooooooo they compare that to skylines, amm when u hear bout mr2 do u hear anything bout type r integra noooooo cuz they compare that to ferari, and dont get me started on that fag ride they call s2000 geezzzz!!!

Men MR2 could never come near Ferrari, they can't even come near a honda at least not mines anyway, I beat them all the time on the track and the road, so don't try to tell me about MR2....I have had MR2 before fully loaded and they don't even hold there power at all...as for Supra that was built in a class by it self and Honda just have not built a car to compete with that car yet that's all to it, Remember all cars have there Bracket, Please study first before you compare cars... I was just saying that Toyota sells there cars for to much money, parts are to expensive for the type of cars and they over charge for there maintenance. I have never said that they don't make good cars/Reliable. I just won't own a Toyota again because they feel they are the best and they are not that's all to it.....

this for for that out of place honda man...do ur research before talking kaka...

Second generation / SW20 (1990-1999)
Second generation
(SW20) 1994 MK-II Toyota MR2 SW20
Production 1989-1999 (1991-1995 for United States, 1991-1993 for Canada)
Body style(s) 2-door coupe or T-top
Engine(s) Toyota S engine

2.2L 130 hp (97 kW) I4 (US, UK)
2.0L 165 PS (163 hp/121 kW) I4
(Japan, Australia, UK)
2.0L 180 PS (178 hp/132 kW) I4
(Japan, Australia, UK)
2.0L 200 PS (197 hp/147 kW) I4
(Japan)
2.0L 200 hp (150 kW) Turbocharged I4 (US)
2.0L 225 PS (222 hp/165 kW) Turbocharged I4 (Japan)
2.0L 245 PS (242 hp/180 kW) Turbocharged I4 (Japan)
Transmission(s) 4-speed automatic
5-speed S54 or E153
Wheelbase 94.5 in
Length 164.2 in
Width 66.9 in
Height 48.6 in
Designer Kazutoshi Arima
Tadashi Nakagawa (roadster)

The MR2 went through a complete redesign in 1989, when the new Mark II body was produced. No 1990 MR2s were produced for North America. The new MR2, designated SW20 (in America the chassis codes were SW22 for the turbocharged model and SW21 for the naturally-aspirated model), was longer, wider and heavier than its predecessor and had smoother bodylines. While the AW11 was a pure sports car, made in the spirit of Lotus, the SW20, being quite larger, could be classed as a GT-car. Since the resemblance between the Ferrari 348tb and the Ferrari F355 and the new MR2 was quite striking, the SW20 is sometimes referred to as a "poor man's Ferrari". Indeed, many bodykits became available to make the SW20 imitate the Ferrari F355 with, sometimes, almost indistinguishable results.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_MR2

and u want to talk about power well lets look further......

In order to ensure exclusivity, a high price tag was charged and total of just 35 factory car conversions were completed by Toyota Technocraft Ltd. Each official Technocraft car converted was made using lightweight fibreglass components (in place of heavy steel original parts: front fenders, trunk lid extension, rear quarter panels, gas door, front and rear bumpers, 3-piece wing) and re-classified as completely new cars (with their own specially numbered TRD vin plate riveted to the body to indicate their authenticity and rarity).

The Toyota Technocraft Ltd. TRD2000GT had a 60 mm (2.4 in) wider front and rear track (due to the addition of wider wheels and tires) which improved handling considerably over the original equipment. Virtually every car converted also had other TRD parts fitted too including extensive changes to both the suspension and engine. Most cars left the factory making more power due to TRD bolt-ons, some cars even left the factory boasting up to 500 PS (493 hp/368 kW) and less than 1100 kg (2425 lb) for a very impressive power to weight ratio.While TRD Japan only offered a small number of kits with all body parts required for third-party conversion, Toyota Technocraft Ltd. offered complete car conversions.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_MR2

and throw away that thing they call the nsx and get one of these........

SARD MC8-R
SARD MC8-R SARD MC8 Road Car
Category GT1
Constructor
Designer(s)
Technical Specifications
Chassis
Engine Toyota 1UZ-FE 3968 cc twin turbo
Transmission Hewland VGC (1995), March (1996) 6 (1995), 5 (1996)
Competition History
Notable entrants SARD
Notable drivers
Debut 1995 24 Hours of Le Mans
Races Wins Poles FLs
2 0 0 0
Constructors' Championships 0
Drivers' Championships 0

The Sard MC8-R was a modified and lengthened version of the SW20 built for GT racing by Toyota's works team SARD (Sigma Advanced Research Development). The MC8-R housed a twin turbo version of the 1UZ-FE V8 giving out 600bhp.[4] Eligible for the GT1 category http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:SARD_MC8_SW20.jpg

trdboy

Postby trdboy » November 2nd, 2008, 2:08 pm

fellas i real sorry for clustering up the thread so but this man want to compare an mr2 to his civic!!!!!!!!!!!

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » November 2nd, 2008, 3:09 pm

ok what would probably put and end to this is the realization that both the toyota men and the honda guys are both absolutely correct in this argument. the missing factor is the era of which you speak. the world belonged to toyota NA motors in the 1990's and it now belongs to honda point blank. there's no sense in arguing beyond that because there isn’t even any basis for an argument since toyota's NA platforms no longer even match honda's NA performance platforms. so please no more talk about the 2zz vs the k20 its a pointless argument that will only end up in the resultant fact that the k20 is the best 2 ltr 4cyl NA motor ever to hit production. so why compare it to a 1.8?
The reason why our awesome AE111 sports cars have a lower resale value than other similar platforms that are absolute crap is simply attributed to the fact that toyota motor corp has COMPLETELY lost any interest in continuing to be a leader in producing tuned production cars and they blatantly state this fact to anyone who dares to email them concerning the topic. What this obviously results in is a void in performance marketing and hype geared towards continued improvements in new successive models to existing sports cars that are already respected and loved by toyota fans and as long as that fire dies so does the value of the car.
The mitusubishi EVOIII is still a sought after car not because it is such an awesome vehicle but because you are still bombarded everyday by newer models that claim to be dominators in its class. therefore you would be willing to own an older model because it's a more economical way to be a part of what the EVO represents. If toyota had a 2008 model levin or trueno with a 2zzge engine or something of the sort that was well received by the general public the price of the AE111 would have had more respect. most ppl who see my car ask me WHAT IS THAT? if you didn’t know what a nissan skyline GTR was you probably would laugh your head off if someone offered you one for $300K this is exactly what current AE111 owners face when trying to sell their cars.

trdboy

Postby trdboy » November 2nd, 2008, 4:54 pm

sad but true, when comparing now toyotas have no high performance vehicles... but yet still man we smoke them with our old out of date beat up old technology engines hahaha!!! but kerron u missing it, this dude claims the mr2 is sheit and that the 3sgte cannot hold its power and compared to his civic the mr2 cannot match, and that my friend is absolute rubbish u most of all should know this cuz u coming out to decimate lol!!! but u did anwer the important question off why so cheap and i agree with u 100% there!!

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » November 2nd, 2008, 5:11 pm

i not getting involved in the civic vs mrII battle since nobody knows what his civic has or what his mrII had i dont even think he does.

trdboy

Postby trdboy » November 2nd, 2008, 6:22 pm

hahahahah good one!!

timz

Postby timz » November 3rd, 2008, 8:19 pm

wut i kno for sure is tho is..

2jz = <3

:twisted:

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » November 3rd, 2008, 8:50 pm

if toyota would only fit the 3SGTE engine into a 4dr passenger sedan you would see the difference in public opinion about toyota's vs the competition. if i were them i would go for a 4wd passenger car equipped with a VVTLi developed head for the 3SGTE platform and a higher reving 3sge VVTLi front wheel drive option of the same car. that ALONE would change the standings for toyota performance as it is right now.

Return to “TOYOTA”