top speed of a nze

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 3rd, 2008, 2:20 pm

Just to keep things in check...i think that Outlaw got bout 6-8hp gain from the mods he did to his car. And that was dyno confirmed. As for how much faster it made the corolla is subjective as we didnt do any quartermiles....lol!

But sadly......putting stock corolla and fast car in the same sentance is kinda overdoing it.

As said above........gains from bolt on mods on current cars and pretty much very small. To get a significant gain like 20-30hp...you're going to have to do fuel mapping and possibly forced induction.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 3rd, 2008, 2:43 pm

import tuner

Please. Turbo and High tech perf. had done a "catback exhaust" shootout for the stock WRX. They registered 8 hp for an Apexi catback, and 12 hp for a skunk 2. My dynos on my Apexi catback (estimates at the point in time due to lack of 4wd dyno) hardly yielded any gains other than sound. I think those mags have "magic" dynos (or pump up numbers to get noobies to run and buy parts). :lol:

Just to keep things in check...i think that Outlaw got bout 6-8hp gain from the mods he did to his car. And that was dyno confirmed

Exactly as I thought.

As said above........gains from bolt on mods on current cars and pretty much very small. To get a significant gain like 20-30hp...you're going to have to do fuel mapping and possibly forced induction.

Again....my point exactly. Instead of quoting figures from magazines...study the theory and put it in practice. Take a SRI for instance. In our climate? I'm shocked folks even get 1 hp / 1 wtq from that alone.

But sadly......putting stock corolla and fast car in the same sentance is kinda overdoing it.

Exactly. And you guys should listen to sean. IIRC...he's driving the fastest (stock for stock) NZE in this thread now right? ( 180 hp?)

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » March 3rd, 2008, 2:56 pm

somebody better file a lawsuit against import tuner for publishing false information

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 3rd, 2008, 3:15 pm

^^It's not a matter of false information :roll:

It's a matter of practical application of mods. Something which you clearly have no experience with. :wink:

As for the topic I mentioned about the catback exhausts....well that has been the talk of many forums...and was debunked by leading Subaru tuners like Cobb Tuning, and MRT performance.

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » March 3rd, 2008, 3:59 pm

be that as it may, as u said earlier, the true result will be relfected in a dyno.....so if i read somewhere that x hp gains were confirmed on a dyno, unless i could go directly to the source to confirm, i cant say otherwise.......unless i have practical experience

n e how boss, in the article they did complain that the ecu was behaving erratically!!

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » March 3rd, 2008, 10:18 pm

this ched reminds me of when i first joined tuner

Go econoboxes! :lol: :lol: :lol:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 4th, 2008, 9:54 am

Unfortunately i have the 136hp 1zz-fe and not the 190hp 2zz-ge.

But you guys really have to see Dyno charts before and after small bolt on mods like this.

We've seen guys dyno at Audis after SRIs and Exhasuts and gotten little gains......and even get small gains in Hp and losses in Torque and vice versa. It really is a crap shoot with these kinds of thing. Eventually you see some of the guys make the most difference in dyno-tuning by changing distributor timing LOL!....of course those days long gone with EFI cars now. Unless you have a piggyback or standalone.

I know those magazines state that they got so and so Hp gains after so and so market addons. But seriously.......the effect of this is so negligable now that the Mazda sport 3 got severe losses with the available intake options and it is most tuner shops thoughts that you leave the already very effective Mazda 3 sport intake system alone.

And depending on the magazines you get info that may be biased or even wrong. Last 1zz-fe SRI test i saw gaining a whopping 1hp.....LOL! another mag got 7hp of the same app. Go Figure!! :?

Thaz why I just concentrate on suspension and brake tuning for yes. If you do it right it will definitely gain you more time in the curves.

As far as im concerned my next big HP gain will be when i buy a Legacy Spec B. Har Har!!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 4th, 2008, 2:40 pm

Unfortunately i have the 136hp 1zz-fe and not the 190hp 2zz-ge.

Orrrr....thought you had the 2ZZ!!! Rims look good though :wink:

We've seen guys dyno at Audis after SRIs and Exhasuts and gotten little gains......and even get small gains in Hp and losses in Torque and vice versa. It really is a crap shoot with these kinds of thing

ENT!!!!

Strauss

Postby Strauss » March 4th, 2008, 3:00 pm

If your rolla is 110hp stock and you manage to get 5hp more. Thats a LOT and is something you can feel. Hey and it's going to be beating most of the other sedans in the same class with ease.

Like those Civic guys who have 20hp stock and add another 20hp... they can boast that they doubled their horsepower.

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » March 4th, 2008, 3:33 pm

seanf3000, i agree with what you're saying, and it's true i'm relatively new to this 'hobby'.......although i used to watch my old man & co. pull down his 3.0 v6 and throw on gas flowed heads with lightened big valves, high lift cams, full janspeed extractors and exhaust, h/c pistons, lightened flywheel, 2 barrel holley, etc.......slight stuff nah......n e way, i do not, and will never consider the nze as a fast car - in the sense of competitive autosport - but it is one of the quicker small sedans on the road. It is also true that anything that is read (from whatever source) must be taken with a pinch of salt and be validated by actual proof (on the dyno, forums like this etc)......all in good time.

n e way, i goin an make some money fuh meh boss dey.......

heshere2001

Postby heshere2001 » March 4th, 2008, 8:18 pm

Strauss wrote:Like those Civic guys who have 20hp stock and add another 20hp... they can boast that they doubled their horsepower.

Lol @ Honda joke. :D

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » April 9th, 2008, 9:49 pm

i have a question... how ulyuh go compare the top speed of the nze to the new 2008 one from the firm (yes i have one and i cya remember d number) lol... we have d 1.5 and i find it does rel move for a 1.5.. we had an almera and i was shocked.. that almera had no pull off or top end... it was jus crap!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 10th, 2008, 8:27 am

^^Well I think you should be comparing the new Corolla 1.5 against the Tiida 1.5/1.6.

The newer Corolla 1NZ-FE engine comes with a front mounted intake plenum which is plastic, and is more akin to the HR15/16DE like in the Tiidas. The Almera carries an older engine, which is clearly, older tech.

After having driven the two (New Corolla vs. RORO Tiida 1.5 w/CVT)...the corolla FEELs like it has more pull due to it having a standard "geared transmission", whilst the RORO Tiida has the CVT for seamless RPM variations.....

...but truth be told, they both accelerate about the same. The Tiida seems to have better low end response, with the Corolla having decent-ish top end.

(N.B> the local Tiida has the HR16DE with a normal A/T)

D3monic

Postby D3monic » April 10th, 2008, 8:37 am

hmmmm
:bump:

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » April 11th, 2008, 2:58 pm

The 1NZ-FE is a 1.5 L (1500 cm³) conventional Otto cycle variant of the 1NZ-FXE. It has the same bore and stroke, but the compression ratio is lowered to 10.5:1, and it features VVT-i. Output is 80 kW (106 hp) at 6000 rpm with 140 Nm (103 ft·lbf) of torque at 4200 rpm.

v_persad@hotmail.com

Postby v_persad@hotmail.com » March 18th, 2009, 10:14 am

dats a fact .. rippin eeezayy!! :)

v_persad@hotmail.com

Postby v_persad@hotmail.com » March 18th, 2009, 11:07 am

++

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Last edited by v_persad@hotmail.com on September 7th, 2009, 11:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby A172 » March 18th, 2009, 7:30 pm

steups

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 18th, 2009, 7:51 pm

dats a fact .. rippin eeezayy!!

106 hp FTW.

Everybody needs an excuse to feel special :lol:

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » March 19th, 2009, 7:26 am

Fellas,
Some of our noses are elongating !
220 kms in a NZE Corolla !! Stock ?
We are talking 137 mph here.

The Lotus Elise with a supercharged 2ZZGE, approximately 225 HP (a lighter car than the NZE) top speed is 148 mph !
What is the HP rating on a NZE 1,3,1.5, 1.6 or 1.8 ?

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » March 19th, 2009, 11:47 am

truth be told.....

the car pulls good (FOR A 1.5) up to around 160. After that, you need to be on a decline to do anything extra.....needless to say, the car is not a race car, but for an econobox, performance is impressive.....even more fun if it has a M/T

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 19th, 2009, 12:50 pm

205km

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 19th, 2009, 7:37 pm

the car pulls good (FOR A 1.5) up to around 160. After that, you need to be on a decline to do anything extra.....needless to say, the car is not a race car, but for an econobox, performance is impressive.....even more fun if it has a M/T

Yep...drove on once....and it had a really impressive powerband for a non-performance engine (that was a local one I think). Pulled consistently throughout the RPM range.

But I wouldn't put fast and NZE in the same sentence. Then again...'fast'....is a matter of perspective.

Val

Postby Val » April 2nd, 2009, 11:25 am

v_persad@hotmail.com wrote:i maxed out mines.. hit 220 normal basic cool air intake n minor tune-up (plugs etc)

descending a long hill perhaps?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 2nd, 2009, 11:53 am

Autocar has tested the 1.6l Corolla and got the following:

0-62 mph 10.2 secs
Top speed : 118mph

This of course is with the 5 fwd

So yeah...220kph ... I'll put that down to speedo error

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » April 2nd, 2009, 11:55 am

A172 wrote:steups

Postby eliteauto » April 2nd, 2009, 12:37 pm

v_persad@hotmail.com wrote:i maxed out mines.. hit 220 normal basic cool air intake n minor tune-up (plugs etc)

does your speedo go up to 220?? are you auto or manual? where was this done? what fuel did you use?

tte

Postby tte » April 2nd, 2009, 2:03 pm

ramishrrr wrote:Fellas,
Some of our noses are elongating !
220 kms in a NZE Corolla !! Stock ?
We are talking 137 mph here.

The Lotus Elise with a supercharged 2ZZGE, approximately 225 HP (a lighter car than the NZE) top speed is 148 mph !
What is the HP rating on a NZE 1,3,1.5, 1.6 or 1.8 ?

The lotus is electronically limited to that speed.

neoise

Postby neoise » April 2nd, 2009, 11:58 pm

stock 3zzfe (1.6) with K&N oil and Air filter, Redline oil and Bosch platinum 4 tip plugs riding on 15s - approx 200KPH ....... nice daily driver with just enough power to satisfy cravings and faster than most other stock cars in its class but nothing to really brag about.

kerndgordon

Postby kerndgordon » July 23rd, 2009, 7:24 pm

honestly i ran a subaru by elsocorro traffic lights and for nothing he could have passed me i reached 205 and climbing is a local 2006 from toyota on 15" original wheels i dont know much about speed cut off but that was fast for me

Return to “TOYOTA”