info for vvti fellas an ladies

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » July 3rd, 2007, 7:28 pm

ALl 4A gearboxes have a fault in the 2nd gear and 3rd gear synchronizing mesh rings.its a manufacturer's defect. Tp help with it you can buy the kit and repair it.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » July 4th, 2007, 10:39 am

Altezza576 wrote:Why would you use 20W-50 in Trinidad is besides me. I use 5W-40 and 10W-30 here in NYC in my VVTi engine. anything heavier is not reall recommended by Toyota.

The VVTi is only present on Intake Cam in my motor. IF you want to check your VVTi functionality. turn your motor to TDC. (Second timing mark on the crank pulley) remove your upper cam cover. Remove the VVTi oil feed line and union bolt to relieve oil pressure from your I-1 Cam cover and catch oil so it does not drip all over. At TDC there are timing notches on both cam gears. If both timing marks (arrows) are not pointing to the notches in the rear timing cover where they suppose to be you got a small issue. If the Intake Cam only is off you got bigger issues. Remove timing belt, and turn the VVTi intake Cam gear as far clockwise as you can (you may want to turb it back and forth to loosen anything stuck - if it is stuck) Finish by turning it all the way clockwise without disturbing the camshaft. when the VVTi cam gear hits the stop point... make note of the timing mark. if its off. keep the VVTi cm gear turned all the way clockwise and now you have to rotate the camshaft counter clockwise to get the line up notches on the cam gear to match the cam cover.

I dont know if that makes any sense.... but thats how I check it when I build VVTi 2JZ engines.

Makes sense and similar analogy to the 1zz-fe vvti assembly check.

Main difference is that theres no vvti oil feed line....the oil feed system is built into the manufacture of the block, vvti cam assembly and the closest bearing cap. To test it....one has to remove the camshaft sets completely. Then test the range of the vvti assembly with 150 kPa air hoses stuck into the retard and advance side oil feeds. This of course has to be done carefully so as not to break the vvti assembly lock pin. Then check the range of movement by hand without locking the assembly in the fully retarded position. Then lock it in the retarded position and reassemble the camshafts, bearing caps and chain.

I suppose the oil feed design and the locking pin are the difference in the older and newer vvti systems??

hilux junkie

Postby hilux junkie » July 19th, 2007, 12:08 pm

just wondering if i use amsoil 10w30 how often would i need to change oil or would the same 5000k still be a average mileage?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » July 19th, 2007, 6:03 pm

yup^^^^

altec

Postby altec » March 1st, 2009, 2:52 pm

resurrection of a post,
but how will you know if this happens? I getting probs with the fielder.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 1st, 2009, 4:42 pm

engine check light will come on...scan it an see if the code comes up

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » March 1st, 2009, 8:43 pm

ok turbohead since your a toyota service guy right. i just want to clear up some thing here right!. what is it in it viscosity range of the oil that will actually stick the solenoid. i really cant see it theoretically . forgive me but i might be wrong but i have been servicing my girlfriend car (NZE) for more than 4 yrs using the castrol 20W-50 and i did a scan on the car thursday and there was no problem with the VVT-i system. i was activating the solenoid with the scanner on and off and no problem :|

dmitc

Postby dmitc » March 2nd, 2009, 10:11 am

the manual for the NZE corolla has 20W50 listed in the list of engine oil you can use.
I just saying

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 2nd, 2009, 8:24 pm

with which engine?

dmitc

Postby dmitc » March 3rd, 2009, 10:09 am

^^ NZE 1.5

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 3rd, 2009, 9:41 pm

hmmmm :?

scion I

Postby scion I » March 4th, 2009, 10:26 am

no disrespect but TTTL freaking up!!!!!!!!!!.........)
My sis recently did her second free service @ Barataria and dey forget to tighten up the oil sump drain plug :evil: as a result they promised ah free service ,luckily it was spotted n time n only quarter of the oil drained out

relevance to the thread ...........some ah dem tttL mechanics hoodwinking people,n sometimes not even changing oil or filter and if yuh go nywhere else yuh void warranty
and worse yet yuh not allowed in the service bay when they repairing yuh vehicle ................real bull!!!

i use castrol 5W 50 fully syn .........n no problems....change every 3 mths,good 2 go :twisted:

4a70

Postby 4a70 » March 6th, 2009, 11:49 am

turbohead can u explain the number designation for say a 20w50 oil?
i understand that this is the most appropriate oil for our operating conditions in tnt, due to its viscosity, so plz clear this up as i see men recomending 10w30 and lower viscosity oils. woudnt these suffer thermal breakdown faster than a oil with a higer viscosity.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 6th, 2009, 12:22 pm

turbohead,are u speaking about the Gel-ing problems that american toyotas had?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 6th, 2009, 10:09 pm

no Zeriam, ive seen it an changed a few wen i worked in toyota, teh technicians were telin meh about teh problem. it is teh same concept as vtec. honda also recomends 10w30 for their engines.

4a70, wen you say number designation wat do you mean?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 6th, 2009, 10:10 pm

turbohead,just to divert abit whats good oil for normal vvt

4a70

Postby 4a70 » March 9th, 2009, 7:42 am

I talkin bout d api standard numbering as the numbers and leters in [20w50] as in that square box,

govin1231

Postby govin1231 » March 12th, 2009, 9:34 am

i used to use the 20w50 n i got in some problems but the firm sorted it out for me cause the car was under warranty... now i usin the 10w50.. n it works fine..

Return to “TOYOTA”