1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » February 8th, 2006, 12:43 pm

The TTTL response on the 2zz-ge engine would be that they will not bring in the complete engine. THey will bring in parts and assmble the engine here. I asked about it some time ago and the estimated cost would have been around 35K-40K.

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » February 8th, 2006, 12:51 pm

And seeing as there are questions about modding the current model Corolla..the first question should be..why did I buy the car in the first place??

If any of you researched the vehicle specs and modding options before purchase, then you should have realised that there are almost no aftermarket options for these cars with respect to performance. Kinda sucks, but it is a reality when you buy an ECONOBOX.

My purchase decision was based on the fact that when I bought the car...I would have needed a reliable family car since I found out the wifey was pregnant when I was about to make a purchase decision...so at that time, it was goodbye Altezza, hello Corolla.

In retrospect, I have not had any post-purchase dissonance (aye..ah finally get to use something from Marketing 101) with this car, apart from minor issues with TTTL and their quality of service.

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » February 8th, 2006, 12:53 pm

Plus...I make Gasparillo to Port of Spain every day with a few more highway runs during the day a couple of times a week, and I get between 500-550kms on a tank of premium.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » February 8th, 2006, 1:59 pm

1NZ-FE Powered wrote:The TTTL response on the 2zz-ge engine would be that they will not bring in the complete engine. THey will bring in parts and assmble the engine here. I asked about it some time ago and the estimated cost would have been around 35K-40K.
\

Is this the price installed? You are right it absolutely makes no sense to mod the car. Might as well save and buy the proper thing when i can afford it...ahh *dream* celica...

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » February 8th, 2006, 2:01 pm

1NZ-FE Powered wrote:Plus...I make Gasparillo to Port of Spain every day with a few more highway runs during the day a couple of times a week, and I get between 500-550kms on a tank of premium.

:shock: damnnn thats really good mileage...the best i got from my 3zz is like 450 to a tank of premium. When you say you get 500-550kms you mean you run it until the gas light comes on right?

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » February 8th, 2006, 2:03 pm

as Outlaw says the 3zz is probably the bastard engine of the lot. Anyway i seem to be getting good mileage so far for the week...will keep you posted and well i will still ask TTTL next week when i go in what the mileage on these cars are supposed to be.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » February 8th, 2006, 2:25 pm

DarkClouD wrote:
sentraman wrote:are the local corolla's available in 1.6??

sentraman....one question out of curiousity. When you purchased your car how much mileage was it doing? By the way i seem to be getting pretty good mileage this week. Will let you know by friday what i got

The car was doing 32520kms but I seriously doubt that. I noticed when changing from the ODO to TripA and TripB when it supposed to go back to the ODO I see this ------- then after a few seconds the figure appears :?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » February 8th, 2006, 2:46 pm

So why do you guys carry yuh cars by TTTL to service?

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » February 8th, 2006, 2:47 pm

sentraman wrote:
DarkClouD wrote:
sentraman wrote:are the local corolla's available in 1.6??

sentraman....one question out of curiousity. When you purchased your car how much mileage was it doing? By the way i seem to be getting pretty good mileage this week. Will let you know by friday what i got

The car was doing 32520kms but I seriously doubt that. I noticed when changing from the ODO to TripA and TripB when it supposed to go back to the ODO I see this ------- then after a few seconds the figure appears :?

ummm you do know the ----- allows you to adjust the level of brightness on your dash right? It only shows up when your park or head lights are on though. AM i correct or is this something different you are getting?

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » February 8th, 2006, 2:52 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:So why do you guys carry yuh cars by TTTL to service?

Next week will be the second time i am carrying my car by TTTL to service. The reason I went there in the first place is because I wanted a complete check up...i am not doubting other mechanics abilities but I just wanted to be sure. Its going for one more service by them next week and then i'll probably start using Mastserve.

On another note when major things in the car needs changing like the timing belt etc i prefer to have TTTL service it with the original parts, and worse case something goes wrong they are liable...IMHO i dont think a regular mechanic can give you this kind of warranty/assurance.

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » February 8th, 2006, 3:04 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:So why do you guys carry yuh cars by TTTL to service?

The car still under warranty...so any thing goes wrong...they have no excuse to tell me the warranty was voided.

When warranty up...screw them

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » February 8th, 2006, 3:05 pm

DarkClouD wrote:
1NZ-FE Powered wrote:The TTTL response on the 2zz-ge engine would be that they will not bring in the complete engine. THey will bring in parts and assmble the engine here. I asked about it some time ago and the estimated cost would have been around 35K-40K.
\

Is this the price installed? You are right it absolutely makes no sense to mod the car. Might as well save and buy the proper thing when i can afford it...ahh *dream* celica...

nope..not installed....just the estimated price for the engine

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » February 8th, 2006, 3:08 pm

DarkClouD wrote:
1NZ-FE Powered wrote:Plus...I make Gasparillo to Port of Spain every day with a few more highway runs during the day a couple of times a week, and I get between 500-550kms on a tank of premium.

:shock: damnnn thats really good mileage...the best i got from my 3zz is like 450 to a tank of premium. When you say you get 500-550kms you mean you run it until the gas light comes on right?

It's usually between 515-550 when the gas light comes on...depending on how the car was driven on that particular tank.

Worst I ever got was around 485km on a tank...but that was after a couple days of relatively spirited driveng rushingaround from meeting to meeting.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » February 8th, 2006, 3:10 pm

1NZ-FE Powered wrote:
DarkClouD wrote:
\

nope..not installed....just the estimated price for the engine

OMG well thanks for the info. Thats definately not worth it. But did you all ever realise this..how come you could never find a 2zz-ge engine in the bamboo or even a celica front cut? Those GTS new gen celicas started in 1999 and you cant find the engine to buy :shock: Is the engine that popular?

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » February 8th, 2006, 4:44 pm

or just maybe the car

I guess that bamboo dealers bring down what is in demand...and for the past few years the demand was heavy for nissan sr & rb engines and on the toyota front the 4a's

It would be possible to get a dealer to source one or get you a reasonable price estimate for gettign a celica front cut

sentraman

Postby sentraman » February 8th, 2006, 5:23 pm

ummm you do know the ----- allows you to adjust the level of brightness on your dash right?

well if this is so then how do u adjust it sir?

sentraman

Postby sentraman » February 8th, 2006, 5:28 pm

HMMMMM DarkClound you are right :oops: I just tried it

when ya aint know eh :lol:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » February 8th, 2006, 5:59 pm

I now talk to a pertner of mine whose father bought a rolla with the 3zz and he so in love with the milage. He said like the needle does not want to move. I HATE HIM :lol: :lol:

So u know I have he checking his milage for me too soon as his never ending tank finishes

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » February 8th, 2006, 9:46 pm

sentraman wrote:HMMMMM DarkClound you are right :oops: I just tried it

when ya aint know eh :lol:

lol no problem man...now you could play with your dash and make it real bright :lol: :lol: :lol:

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » February 8th, 2006, 9:47 pm

sentraman wrote:I now talk to a pertner of mine whose father bought a rolla with the 3zz and he so in love with the milage. He said like the needle does not want to move. I HATE HIM :lol: :lol:

So u know I have he checking his milage for me too soon as his never ending tank finishes

please let us know what mileage he gets.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » February 9th, 2006, 1:04 pm

i tried that dash dimmer thing. when you press the knob once, it jumps to the next display in this order....

1. A 2. B 3. - - - - 4. odo

as you know once youre in the correct "mode", when you push and hold the button, it resets. the same for the dimmer, once tou hold the button, it increments the brightness. i like my panel a little dim. i wish i could have made the needles brighter.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » February 9th, 2006, 2:50 pm

^^ I have that mudda foxer on BRIGHT :mrgreen:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » February 9th, 2006, 3:11 pm

Do sheit me up nah! Serious? Wonder if the 1ZZ is the same? Sean?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 9th, 2006, 3:35 pm

Nah...i just check it.....doh work for the electrolucent dashes like ours.

In fact i almost buss meh head running down the stairs to try it.
Last edited by seanf3000 on February 9th, 2006, 3:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » February 9th, 2006, 3:37 pm

seanf3000 wrote:Nah...i just check it.....doh work for the electrolucent dashes like ours

Yeah you are right...if i am correct you guys have the dash where only the needle and numbers light up correct instead of the whole back display right?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 9th, 2006, 3:41 pm

^^correct......even daytime running the dash is lit.

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » February 9th, 2006, 3:59 pm

sentraman wrote:^^ I have that mudda foxer on BRIGHT :mrgreen:

That's probably the reason why your mileage is so crappy.... :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » February 9th, 2006, 3:59 pm

if you guys are looking for a 2zz-ge, you should also start checking fielder front cuts since the Z-Aerotourers came with 2zzs

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » February 9th, 2006, 5:41 pm

*devil speaking...buy it buy it
*angel speaking.....what the flock yuh waitin for

:mrgreen:

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » February 9th, 2006, 6:13 pm

1NZ-FE Powered wrote:
sentraman wrote:^^ I have that mudda foxer on BRIGHT :mrgreen:

That's probably the reason why your mileage is so crappy.... :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

ROFLMAO!!!

Return to “TOYOTA”