Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

droppa

Re: Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

Postby droppa » July 28th, 2011, 11:10 am

wha gwan boi aidan i say u is some big rockstar gone touring all now......

@sniper i saw the black surf yesterday, look meticulous clean boi, outside in tip top shape, clear bumper lights and surf ssr-x decals, i will go check it out soon...

dey does bring it out after i pass on mornings so thas how i never seen it

@bigcheif, no scene man, will actually be heading up there soon with some folks...but keep ur eyes wide open for any trails up there, maybe u can show us something.......ah wah see that trooper tearing up some dirt man........

droppa

Postby droppa » July 29th, 2011, 11:34 am

passed in by coksies yesterday, apparently its his wife handling the business now......

the black surf is already sold, someone paid down on it....

however yuh know yuh boi will get ah macko still...
its a KZN130, 1KZ-TE 3.o auto, with TV and DVD system doin 138K on the dash, black interior and LSD, will need a repaint, the edges rub up on the container and missing some fender shields and splash guards...was sold for 65K, she brought another one in parts and everything was sold already.....one is coming down soon, waiting to ship......

the woman say real ppl coming and check it so she mite be bringing in more or taking orders.....

aidan

Postby aidan » July 30th, 2011, 1:49 am

^^nice. that was unreg?

droppa, you can get the air filter for the 1kz from Toyota. The guy who has the surf now told me he got it for $420. They have the 2 types, one with a large bore and the smaller one. Ours needed the larger one.

droppa

Postby droppa » August 2nd, 2011, 11:59 am

yep was unreg.....

the filter, u cud get the number for me...what brand that is.....

so this weekend we (Side-B) had a nav rally, it was real fun and sucess i wud say....

however there were two toyota men there, Mr.rx80 and Mr.rottedv....
rx80 came first place and won an auto hamper worth almost $400
rottedv won best lost and got a smaller auto hamper....

btw rotted surf lookin nice and wukkin gud too......

aidan

Postby aidan » August 2nd, 2011, 1:00 pm

^^ill the # for you. Is OEM toyota, and it's washable too, it have the instructions on it. Link some pics of the run nah :D

droppa

Postby droppa » August 2nd, 2011, 2:35 pm

no probs....

rx80

rottedv

and if you wanna go through the rest, here's the entire album : http://s875.photobucket.com/albums/ab31 ... ly%202011/

aidan

Postby aidan » August 3rd, 2011, 12:58 pm

niceeeee. your surf rel gettin on bad. The PBE lookin bess too. That's some slippery mud there. U running MT's? or AT's? Or u still with the street tires lol

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 3rd, 2011, 4:21 pm

Droppa you could move with them rice boy them lol.

I spoke to a police with a T plates surf...he said that it is not a problem.
If that it the case.....well.
Droppa how you does keep the inside clean after a run like that?
what about the engine bay it does get real dirty?

aidan

Postby aidan » August 3rd, 2011, 11:48 pm

^^So how to legally go about a T-plate surf?

droppa

Postby droppa » August 4th, 2011, 9:38 am

@sniper u dont want to see inside the engine bay, its painted in mud water....but then again i rel went splashing around eh...

me and them rice boys good, but they dont like too much ppl digging up their roads.......

i have a policeman padna with a T surf, and he says its not a problem...

@aidan i running MTs, the Kumho KL71, 31x10.5x15, they are really aggressive in the mud,
btw i dont know wat u waiting on to bring that jimny out on a run......u is mr.busy.......

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 4th, 2011, 9:49 am

Droppa have your transmission lights ever came on while splashing around in 4WD High?
With all that work your cooling system is working really well.
Don't forget me about the land.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » August 4th, 2011, 1:01 pm

Yeah fellas...as Droppa said I finally joined the surf family...PBE 4144.......That rally and special stage was real bessssss. I never thought the surf would have performed the way it did. I get so lost there was a point in time I went into a road and the surf drop down in a big pool.....I said to myself..dat is it I stick...I put in 4hi and dat was it...powered out like a beast...I do need to get better tyres though to cilmb that hill in the special stage...When I get them I'll call yuh droppa and we will try them out....The surf really woking...I luv eeet...

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 4th, 2011, 1:09 pm

Good for you man..............

droppa

Postby droppa » August 4th, 2011, 2:46 pm

man say he wanted the PBH boi...........
oh the tranny light never same on, even wen the hose burst and the fluid bled out....
the cooling system works good, i do wish however i cud work on keepin it lower, im gonna do a coolant change and silicon oil change this weeken and also check out the bi-metallic strip of the clutch, to get it to open sooner........

i aint forget u on that thing too eh......

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 4th, 2011, 3:17 pm

Put a tranny cooler and you orn......
Do not trouble trouble by trying to adjust the bi-metallic strip on the clutch that is pressure,just change the oil if you feel it need changing, or put on a land cruiser 8 fin blade. Or you can even lock the clutch where it will be on all the time,but that does rob power big time. Or you can put in a 72 degrees thermostat.Yours came stock with a 82 or 79? You ever did the temperature gauge mod?

The light would not come on if the fluid drains out.It will come on if the temp is high....the sensor for that is on the return line just before it goes back to the sump... if i can remember correctly it can be removed and cleaned.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 4th, 2011, 10:56 pm

Fellas long time no see ... Looks as if everyone is well.

Rotted Congrats .... Post a pic nah.

Btw what filter are you all talking about.

droppa

Postby droppa » August 5th, 2011, 8:52 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Put a tranny cooler and you orn......
Do not trouble trouble by trying to adjust the bi-metallic strip on the clutch that is pressure,just change the oil if you feel it need changing, or put on a land cruiser 8 fin blade. Or you can even lock the clutch where it will be on all the time,but that does rob power big time. Or you can put in a 72 degrees thermostat.Yours came stock with a 82 or 79? You ever did the temperature gauge mod?

The light would not come on if the fluid drains out.It will come on if the temp is high....the sensor for that is on the return line just before it goes back to the sump... if i can remember correctly it can be removed and cleaned.

@rottedv, u see the man who know surf here boi......
well i will replace the clutch oil, a tranny cooler is on the to do list and i never did the dash mod, i jus put in a external guage...if i cud get the 72deg thermo i wud surely put that in....

aye sweeks boi, jus this mornin i coming to work an my mind ron on ya, how things man, u get the hilux up and running......hit we ah photos nah.....

rottedv

Postby rottedv » August 5th, 2011, 1:31 pm

I seeing....I think the tranny cooler would do nicely in my van. Yeah sweeks....I'll check you for some stuff soon....pics up dey man

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 5th, 2011, 5:24 pm

Fellas I here ... Good but quiet since fasting started.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 5th, 2011, 7:43 pm

Sweeks, you know the battery you reconditioned for me the Mitsubishi one remember? I have that parked up home so a couple days ago my battery from the car gone...it was a MTF YUASA THE LIGHT STILL SHOWING GREEN. So i thought it was the starter so 1am in the morning i took out the starter and clean it up, brushes looking like new, stator and commutator cleaned,it still did not start. I put in that battery and it started in one....i was like WOW DUDE! Ran it for a day in the car.

I still bought a battery though...scared to shutdown. Paid $1250 for an "Advance" battery from AM marketing....was not my first choice but was press for time.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 5th, 2011, 7:49 pm

Rotted the "A Bar" look good on the surf.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 5th, 2011, 10:33 pm

Snipper yeah I remembered ... Glad to know it held the charge after it was reconditioned/recharged.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » August 11th, 2011, 1:26 pm

Fellas...any one of you guys ever did the egr mod? I'm getting a little smoke when I use the turbo. Also I'm getting a little rattle on my front left side but I did a suspension check at MM and they said everything is good but the actuator for the shocks is a bit loose...Is this supposed to be loose? Lastly, I'm getting some oil leaking through the rocker arm cover...Took it out seal it with some silicon and replaced it but it seems one bolt to the rear was not tightening...Maybe needs to be tapped....But not losing oil but pressure I would like to keep in the crankcase...What you guys think???

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 11th, 2011, 5:56 pm

rich.g.williams wrote:And here is a photo of the mod. Raw Vacuum comes direct off the feed on side of air inlet.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 11th, 2011, 5:57 pm

Take a read here.
http://www.toyotasurf.asn.au/techsite/egr.htm
http://www.toyotasurf.asn.au/forum/view ... hp?t=22338

Why did you think EGR, a little smoking is normal when you mash out.....
check basic first, air filter, fuel filter.

Also an ecu reset does wonders for the engine....give it a try before you do the mod.
You should experience smother idling and smoother gear shifts.
What rpm does the engine idle at?

If you want to go a little deeper, check for DTCs,see if there is any.Read here if there is any you can clear it it's a simple thing you can do on your own
http://www.toyotasurf.asn.au/forum/viewtopic.php?t=729

rottedv

Postby rottedv » August 11th, 2011, 8:39 pm

idles at 800rpm and 850-900rpm with ac....was just doing some reading...egr seems to me to be only useful if you have unburnt fuel in the exhaust or if you are trying to heat something like preheating water before it goes into a boiler to prevent warping....How much unburnt fuel can you have???? a/f ratio must have been mapped before....Maybe needs more air...hmmmm snorkel.......Just seems a waste of design and contributing to smoking.....

droppa

Postby droppa » August 12th, 2011, 10:02 am

from my personal experience what caused alot of unnecessary smoke on my 1KZ was some gunk or build up in the intake manifold...when i was doing the head job i pulled this off and cleaned it with gas and purple blaster, u would not believe the amount of sheit came out that.....that greatly reduce black smoke on cruising and kick down......

also what i did over the weekend when i serviced was a diesel flush using amsoil diesel concentrate and prestone diesel treatment......that also did a great job, im getting a slight dribbling on the injectors which has now been resolved or reduced, not seen any signs since.....

another thing ive learned boi imtiaz is that be careful of where u fill ur fuel, the unipet stations make a difference, wen i cant get to one i usually full on the beetham or by the quik shoppe on the cross, and are much better than the np station 2mins from me.....

rottedv

Postby rottedv » August 12th, 2011, 1:35 pm

Yeah hoss droppa...Since I bought it I have been filling up at unipet....I started at 420km per 75 dollars then went to 435km and since I started using the concentrate and the cetane boost.....482km on the same 75 dollars to fill up...Maybe needs to be cleaned...ie the tank and the intake.....

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 12th, 2011, 1:52 pm

But that is some best mileage you getting there rotted!
What is the level on the diesel gauge before you refill?

rottedv

Postby rottedv » August 12th, 2011, 3:40 pm

On E before I refill. The light has never come on. Just a little smoke that I want to reduce..Didn't know that that mileage would be good...But highway running most of the time...Maybe different in traffic conditions..

Return to “TOYOTA”