The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Postby gt4tified » September 6th, 2006, 7:58 am

nasscott wrote:hoss i glad fuh de advice

Okay but then why the: "i think your advice is a lil shakey" that follows?

And then your ignorance guides you to further to allude "that CT26 thing you talking about... you musbee tink i want to run dem starlet and dem or wah? i doh even want de engine in my car if it eh running a T3/T4 or somn like that."

And finally: "I know i dont have all the facts the way i know my engine inside out but i doh think u know how much drivetrain reinforcement it will take to get a 20V to work the way i want it too. oh and btw the 3s can be set to rev up to 8000RPM with proper setup and management quite easily and also quite reliably. my $0.02"

Hoss, lemme try to understand the noob mentality a lil bit eh...
First things first, my suggestion was in response to your first set of posts in this thread, about you being into new things blah blah blah (and then you got 3sgte-happy). So if my advice is a lil bit shakey, iz cuz I doan know nuttin..lewwe keep it so aight?

But then you speak in the language of bullcrap about the ct26 and running down starlets or whatever...ignorance is bliss I tell ye!

Lemme ask a (rhetorical) question: Why 325hp? Why not 375 or 345.5?

Many talk the talk eh fellah.....and you seem to be doing a lot of it.

Anyways, I now realize why I does generally stay away from the so-called toyota-tuners on this site....

Once again, me ent know nutting about 20v, 16v-ze or 3s-gte so no need for me to post here.

Peace, love & happiness to all!

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » September 6th, 2006, 11:32 am

saw a 20 valve turbo the other day, never ever believe if done properly they could run that fast. :shock: :shock:

Terran

Postby Terran » September 7th, 2006, 7:21 am

Could you make a comparison of that to a stock ZE?

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » September 7th, 2006, 9:24 am

^ it will blow a gze out bad...remeber a gze is only better in terms of torque when compared in stock form a gze is only 10hp more than a ge and thas only in the last generation gze..now remeber this is only as water said once done properly a 20valve on boost will perform its very similar to a d15 on boost

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » September 7th, 2006, 10:13 am

lol i catch the feller again today, he looking for a smaller intercooler, them stock ones cuz he say "Iz only 6psi i running, i happy like pappy with it" He have a them Apexi VAFC2 or whaever it is, thas all i see. Did'nt ask what turbo but it look nice. Silvertop too, makes me wanna do the same to the corolla we have :twisted: :twisted:

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » September 7th, 2006, 10:54 am

iownacelica wrote:
nasscott wrote:hoss i glad fuh de advice

Okay but then why the: "i think your advice is a lil shakey" that follows?

And then your ignorance guides you to further to allude "that CT26 thing you talking about... you musbee tink i want to run dem starlet and dem or wah? i doh even want de engine in my car if it eh running a T3/T4 or somn like that."

And finally: "I know i dont have all the facts the way i know my engine inside out but i doh think u know how much drivetrain reinforcement it will take to get a 20V to work the way i want it too. oh and btw the 3s can be set to rev up to 8000RPM with proper setup and management quite easily and also quite reliably. my $0.02"

Hoss, lemme try to understand the noob mentality a lil bit eh...
First things first, my suggestion was in response to your first set of posts in this thread, about you being into new things blah blah blah (and then you got 3sgte-happy). So if my advice is a lil bit shakey, iz cuz I doan know nuttin..lewwe keep it so aight?

But then you speak in the language of bullcrap about the ct26 and running down starlets or whatever...ignorance is bliss I tell ye!

Lemme ask a (rhetorical) question: Why 325hp? Why not 375 or 345.5?

Many talk the talk eh fellah.....and you seem to be doing a lot of it.

Anyways, I now realize why I does generally stay away from the so-called toyota-tuners on this site....

Once again, me ent know nutting about 20v, 16v-ze or 3s-gte so no need for me to post here.

Peace, love & happiness to all!

Somebody call a WAAAaaaHMbulance.... what a crybaby.
whats funny is that after all the tears he shed im still non the wiser as to whether he owns a toyota engine or not. If so what kind and if he has any useful information based on research or experience about the 20V or the 3sgte for that matter. i called his advice shakey simply because any experienced tuner with daily drivability as a priority would tend to favor a setup that isnt as radical as a 20V head ZEblock turbo frank(I do note the trend of thought was to do a frank at first in the thread though). However If in your experience you have come to the conclusion that would be a more durable setup for someone who seems to prefer a high rpm engine i personally think you're wrong. I think im entitled to an opinion especially since he didnt actually give a reason for his deduction. I was up for radical mods when i was exploring the possibility of a 20Vhead on a 3sgte block. as soon as it was established that the bore centers were off that project died. The reason for 325WHP as opposed to 375 etc on the 3s is because 325 seems to be around the limit of the stock fuel system of the slightly more capable 3rd and 4th gens and not wanting to go all out radical with the modification i set 325 as a goal because i decided to go with a 3rd gen and it should be simple enough to install a more capable turbo, intercooler, and an SAFC and do some minor dyno tuning etc to bring power to about ~325 (trust me i've done some extensive checking).
I guess "shakey" is always what im going to conclude if someone offers advice without going on to validate it with why they came to their conclusion. (without "why" we're powerless) i dont even care if you turn out to be wrong but why jump at a post if you dont have anything more informative as an alternative anyway? even if im not dead on about my information on the 3rd gen 3sgte and its capabilities i know im damn close what about you mr celica guy? what do you ACTUALLY KNOW???!!! :!: :!: :!: :?: :?: :?:

Postby AllTrac » September 7th, 2006, 6:19 pm

fellas no need to get hotter dan ah turbine with a clogged cat :lol:
we are all here to learn, everyday i learn someting new about the 3s and Toyota's in general, anyway nas, the stock ct20b on the 3rdgen is capeable of making 300hp with mild bpu mods, no need to give up low end response for lag :) but its your call, just some expected basic mods and throw on a fuel computer(greddy emanage etc), crank the boost up to about 18-19psi(yup the ct20b turbo can put out up to 22psi efficiently) full some raceing gas and dyno tune that sucker, easy 300hp is the norm for 3rd gens :twisted: eg:

ah still love meh second gen tho :mrgreen: but im puting on a stock 3rdgen toyota ct20b turbo on my 2nd gen 3s cause i want to keep the car basically stock with the power advantages of the ct20b whenever i ready to turn up de heat :twisted:

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » September 8th, 2006, 12:05 am

Alltrac who is a good foreign supplier i could check to get the 3rd gen engine and vitals? I still wish i could find a site that could kill me with info about the 3sgte series the way club4ag and bill's websites do but oh well... I really want to get one.

Postby AllTrac » September 8th, 2006, 12:37 am

www.alltrac.net

:mrgreen: no lie, copy and paste 0X

as for reliable engine dismantelers in the US, i would get a list for u tomorrow, but before u go that route u should check D&D Auto(Navin) he could get any gen 3sgte for u, make sure and specify and 3sgte turbo from 1995 and up, and it must be from a mr2 since its better suited for fwd swap, also if u get a rear cut i would buy most every other part from u that u not useing for the engine swap, it would help off set the cost :mrgreen:

Anton

Postby Anton » September 8th, 2006, 1:59 pm

once done properly a 20valve on boost will perform its very similar to a d15 on boost

properly means low comp pistons, management, fuel et al?

Postby gt4tified » September 8th, 2006, 2:12 pm

nasscott wrote: i know im damn close what about you mr celica guy? what do you ACTUALLY KNOW???!!! :!: :!: :!: :?: :?: :?:

Well hooray for you...y de fcuk you still sitting on your arse then... you doan need anyone's help. And you kinda optically retarded and illiterate or what? I already said that I doan know nuttin...why you have to ask again.

I is just a poser on dis site..... :P

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » September 8th, 2006, 3:48 pm

well borrow somebody celica and come up on the 24th nah... i always wanted to run a "girl" with a toyota up at wallerfield ever since i saw fast and furious 1. maybe you could be the first girl i race. makes no sense being a poser. Hope your PMS doesnt affect your shifting too much.

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » September 8th, 2006, 4:16 pm

Anton wrote:
once done properly a 20valve on boost will perform its very similar to a d15 on boost

properly means low comp pistons, management, fuel et al?

nope meaning proper maifold both intake and exhaust need to be fabricated. at 6-7 psi u wont need to change pistons as yet.as for fuel anything from an afc to a fmu can be used most important thing in the entire set up is a msd btm to control spark so you dont blow the shite out of your engine

Postby gt4tified » September 10th, 2006, 11:29 am

nasscott wrote:well borrow somebody celica and come up on the 24th nah... i always wanted to run a "girl" with a toyota up at wallerfield ever since i saw fast and furious 1. maybe you could be the first girl i race. makes no sense being a poser. Hope your PMS doesnt affect your shifting too much.

Well yuh know what dey does say....when yuh sex somebody gyul is like yuh sex dem too! So stop calling mih girl and call mih by she proper name nah....or yuh cud even use: du-du or choonkoolunks.

Daz never a problem tantie.......would I be seeing you with the 3rd or 4th gen 3s-gte though, cuz anything else is just me wasting my gas and time on u?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » September 10th, 2006, 1:24 pm

nope meaning proper maifold both intake and exhaust need to be fabricated. at 6-7 psi u wont need to change pistons as yet.as for fuel anything from an afc to a fmu can be used most important thing in the entire set up is a msd btm to control spark so you dont blow the shite out of your engine

correct :)

on teh 20valve, it IS recommended that u use the MSD 6BTM once using turbo as well as the HKS Decompression gasket incase u might want to go up to 10-12psi.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » September 10th, 2006, 3:16 pm

ok silly stuff aside i think i found my calling at the track... i saw this red lucino on the cross on saturday night and it was rumoured to have a SR16VE in it. i called him out pronto but he said he was too mighty to race a guy with a stock automatic 20V. seeing that my air filter and spark plugs attended last year's christmas party i didnt press the issue but i did take a pull behind the car twice and realised that for a car that's supposed to be putting out 10 hp more than my engine it was pretty easy for me to stick with him. so i think im heading over to the nissan forum and threaten anyone running a SR16 VVL to a duel at the next track meet :twisted: :twisted:

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » September 11th, 2006, 7:19 am

^^Use the ole talk forums to call out nah, not many go see it here.

I want to time we 20 valve, i fine it does rel run, if i could hook on some 16's for a stock auto 20valve :mrgreen:

Terran

Postby Terran » September 11th, 2006, 7:28 am

nasscott wrote:ok silly stuff aside i think i found my calling at the track... i saw this red lucino on the cross on saturday night and it was rumoured to have a SR16VE in it. i called him out pronto but he said he was too mighty to race a guy with a stock automatic 20V. seeing that my air filter and spark plugs attended last year's christmas party i didnt press the issue but i did take a pull behind the car twice and realised that for a car that's supposed to be putting out 10 hp more than my engine it was pretty easy for me to stick with him. so i think im heading over to the nissan forum and threaten anyone running a SR16 VVL to a duel at the next track meet :twisted: :twisted:

Dude must be gone home wid one vex pan... :lol:

I've tried these, and won't try them again - I'm ready for bigger guns.

1.6 SiR Civic
1.8 Peugeot with 5-fwd
1.8T Audi A4
SR20DE Primera
1.6 Mivec Lancer
2.0 Accord
1.3 4EFTE Starlet

Bring it, put it dong, come gimme! :lol:
Last edited by Terran on September 11th, 2006, 10:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Anton

Postby Anton » September 11th, 2006, 9:58 am

*~TeamH2O~* wrote:

correct :)

on teh 20valve, it IS recommended that u use the MSD 6BTM once using turbo as well as the HKS Decompression gasket incase u might want to go up to 10-12psi.

Can the stock intake plenum take that kinda boost or will it have to be reinforced or remade altogether?

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » September 11th, 2006, 1:09 pm

^nope you need to have an aluminum one built thats why i said proper manifolds are important both intake and exhaust

Anton

Postby Anton » September 11th, 2006, 2:30 pm

Scene.
So when we doin d group turbo?
:D :D

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » September 11th, 2006, 2:53 pm

AllTrac wrote:www.alltrac.net

:mrgreen: no lie, copy and paste 0X

as for reliable engine dismantelers in the US, i would get a list for u tomorrow, but before u go that route u should check D&D Auto(Navin) he could get any gen 3sgte for u, make sure and specify and 3sgte turbo from 1995 and up, and it must be from a mr2 since its better suited for fwd swap, also if u get a rear cut i would buy most every other part from u that u not useing for the engine swap, it would help off set the cost :mrgreen:

navin sold the 3rd gen and i went as far as to get a contact for the guy he sold it to and that guy also sold it to someone else :cry: :cry:
i heard that it was a really good 3rd gen too. im beginning to lose hope on this project. In the mean time toyota refuses to stock parts for the blacktop so i dunno if im gonna reuse my old tensioner and run on the 24th or if im gonna wait till they get in stock and change both the timing belt and tensioner. and now some "useless" info. since toyota hardly has these parts im going to try to post the part numbers for everything i change in my engine from now on so those of u who got the engine by itself and dont have a frame and model number to give to toyota can still outsource the parts based on their part numbers. i know K&N drop in replacements work on this part number basis and i dont know who else so i guess knowing the part numbers does help. so you guys can chip in and lets form a part number database sorta then we can get correct aftermarket replacements if necessary...(i hope i dont get in trouble for this)
Part NO/ Description /price$+VAT(check)
90311-35040 / camshaft seal(bigger) / 61.75
90311-32020 / camshaft seal(smaller) / 58.25
90311-40015 / crankshaft seal / 51.75
13568-19185 / Timing belt / 430.25
13540-16010 / timing belt tensioner / 364.00
13505-16030 /timing belt tensioner pulley / 563.75
17801-02030 / Air Filter / 320.00
12204-11050 / PCV valve / 118.12
90915-10004 / oil filter / 105.00
90919-21592 /plug wires /922.98
90919-01178 / spark plug(1) /120.00 (ea)
90916-03090 / Thermostat / 135.47
16325-63011 / Thermostat washer / 25.02
Last edited by TESTED performance on October 19th, 2006, 9:10 am, edited 3 times in total.

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » September 11th, 2006, 4:22 pm

das a very good idea buddy^
all ive bought was a oil filter for my blacktop at toyota so far and i lost the reciept so i dunnow hwere it is

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » September 11th, 2006, 9:28 pm

wow well that is a descent project ..all the best in it ....i would like to hear what happens on it...

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » September 13th, 2006, 10:56 am

havent had a chance to dig through my old receipts yet hopefully i'll post the oil filter brakes and spark plug part numbers later i think i might have changed an alternator belt too dunno... doesnt anyone have anything to contribute?

Terran

Postby Terran » September 13th, 2006, 1:11 pm

Wish I had something to offer, but I haven't had to change any engine parts just yet.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » September 13th, 2006, 1:15 pm

what is the milage on your blacktop engine?

cars

Postby cars » September 17th, 2006, 12:44 am

its good to see that ppl are actually thinking in this country
the 20valve head doesn't make sense over the 3sgte 16 valve per cyl as the valves are much larger than the 20 valve. Great for normally aspirated engines but with forced induction the 16 valver wins. Unless you increase valve size significantly.

Postby AllTrac » September 17th, 2006, 9:36 am

place before Zaps in the bamboo has a 3sgte for sale, its from the celica RC/CS(carlos sainz) model cause it has a water to air intercooler, that means the ecu is modded by toyota(TTE) it comes with fuel and timing maps for up to 18psi, stronger engine overall and better gear ratios with dual syncro gbox(eliminates the 2nd gear crunch) $10g's neg :shock: GO FOR IT!

Terran

Postby Terran » September 18th, 2006, 8:45 am

Return to “TOYOTA”