The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » March 18th, 2010, 5:42 pm

yup its d tappits alrite - as to quieting it down not much u can do, heard a claim of a guy using Royal purple oil and it quiet down...
I cruise to work on mornings shiftin @ 3000rpm, minimal gas consumtion...but as soon as d revvs starts to go high...d gas needle does go in d opposite direction...

lewwe do sumtin nah

will have to miss out.. I cud come macco oh what lol? :cry:

psycostud666

Postby psycostud666 » March 18th, 2010, 7:09 pm

A172, You got a dyno in yur garage?

psycostud666

Postby psycostud666 » March 18th, 2010, 7:18 pm

josh.dookie, Royal purple is ah bit expensive eh? What oil you use?

A mechanic specializing in Toyota advised me to use Castrol GTX 20W50
Another said i need to use a synthetic grade 15W30

When i had my KE70 and the tapit was makin noise, i used Castrol GTX with a QMI Treatment, it stopped completely and then i couldn't get the treatment again for the next oil change.

Aren't these ST 20V's around 10 years old? So the advice for engines over 10 yrs old says to use conventional oil rather than synthetic. It that a true statement?

Saw a Levin on my way home... It was spittin some serious fire through the tailpipe on the shift...I think i need to get mine like that... How can i?

Postby A172 » March 18th, 2010, 7:23 pm

psycostud666 wrote:A172, You got a dyno in yur garage?

:| :| :|

no breds :lol:

we cud organise a dyno day 8-)

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 18th, 2010, 7:34 pm

dyno day,......no way :roll:

Postby Hook » March 18th, 2010, 7:58 pm

The Silvertops are actually around 15 years old, but the choice of what weight to use depends more on mileage and the condition of the engine rather than its age.
Recommended weight is actually 10W-30 because of the VVT (I read this somewhere years ago when I got mine, don't ask me to remember the link nuh) and I know of a few ST engines running this with no oil loss up to 4000km. I use 15W-40 simply because my valve seals are shot to Hell and it actually does feel lazy on the 20W-50 oil (butt-dyno again lol).

Most 20V guys have found that the choice of oil filter helps to quiet the tappet noise. IME, the K&N oil filter works (nothing drastic, but it's noticeable enough and moreso than the Purolator) but I have a problem paying $85 for a filter and then leaving it there every other oil change, so the Purolator works okay (significantly less noise than with the Fram or the Sakura) and u can change it with the oil every 5000km.

psycostud666

Postby psycostud666 » March 19th, 2010, 2:29 pm

Hook, Well when i bought the car the oil seemed to be old, and i was getting a slight puff of smoke at about 6000 RPM, i decided to change the oil and used the 20W 50 Castrol with the Puralator filter and haven't seen any smoke or noticed any oil loss.

I hope my valve seals are good in there. I think i am gonna try the 15W 40..
You mentioned that you use that grade. Does the engine really perform better with that oil rather than the 20W 50? And what brand do you use or recommend?

Then there is the question about using Synthetic blends, are they any good in this engine? And what about using a treatment for the noise on the tapits? I experienced a noise reduction in my KE70 tapits when i used the QMI treatment.

Postby Hook » March 19th, 2010, 2:49 pm

Well, it "feels" better IMO, but that's subjective. I buy it in Esso since it works for both gasoline and diesel engines (says so on the bottle), but it's tricky to get sometimes. If the 20W50 works for you, then that's cool.

I used to use the Castrol Syntec 10W-30, but since the valve seal problem got worse it became a tad expensive to top up in between oil changes.
I've never used the QMI oil treatment, but remember it introduces synthetic "thickening" polymers into the mix, so while it may help the smoke/tappet problem, remember that VVT is oil actuated so you may "feel" a bit of sluggishness in VVT. But if it works for you then go for it. Just that I don't think anyone's ever heard a quiet 20V so you're still gonna get some noise.

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » March 20th, 2010, 11:55 pm

well I know a few BT levin owners who used d 20w 50 castrol syntec, including my brother, saw it disappear as well after 'goin up an down d road several times', lol so d thicker or non syntec oil is wat i use, bad valve seals on my case it helps my condition.
D Royal purple is expensive but it works, I've seen it keep goin an goin on a 3sgte that take alotta jamming by the owner.. but it works..! Quiets down ur engine.

If your valve seals are bad your oil wud be burning, after running my car hard, high revv drivin u can smell it burning an d level drops so dat's how u'd know..
Accompanied by some if it's not sever an alot if u in a bad way (like me lol)..
Toyota sells a denso kit if u need seals, or to overhaul ur engine, wanna find d time to overhaul my own an get it back to factory spec, maybe den I wud use 10w 30 royal purple lol..!

psycostud666

Postby psycostud666 » March 23rd, 2010, 11:33 am

For real, when i rev hard i does smell the oil burning, but it cool down since i change the oil, i am guessing it would burn less with new oil, the level on the dipstick still good, did not have to top up at all...

Supplier

Postby Supplier » March 24th, 2010, 2:51 pm

Hi guys i have a20v st in a DX wargon dont know mutch about the engine but u guys seems to have a lot of experience about it HOOK AND JOSH DOOKIE.I would realy like to get a contact number for one of u guys because of the experience u guys have on toyota it self.I would realy like to link with one of u guys to mentain my engine.MY CON.IS 758-4865 THANK U GUYS HOPE TO HEAR FROM ONE OF U SOON

Postby Hook » March 24th, 2010, 3:13 pm

It's been my experience with these things that when you accept invitations like this, they call you for EVERYTHING...they disturb your meals, your meetings, your guts-out...everything.

Supplier, I appreciate your enthusiasm, but I'm no guru or mechanic. I started out the same way you did, just picking up information as I go along and applying it.
Besides, the information shared here could help someone in your current position, later on when you get more familiar with your engine.

There are LOTS of threads here with valuable tech information, maintenance questions, diagnosis and troubleshooting techniques and DIY projects.

Start here: The 4AGE maintainence/mod thread

Supplier

Postby Supplier » March 24th, 2010, 4:44 pm

Thank u hook i understand what u mean i have the same problem in my line of work but still hope we could link one day.Do u know OF a good 4AGE MECHANIC u could recommend ?who have as much experience and knowledge as u do on 4AGE THANKS AGAIN

Postby A172 » March 24th, 2010, 4:47 pm

Scar Concepts in P.Town

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » March 25th, 2010, 12:38 am

^^^ :shock: , just epic

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 25th, 2010, 7:32 am

scar concepts fuh real, they have all the mech and electrical knowhow on these engines :idea:

i've seen countless 4age s come out from there working good :!:

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » March 25th, 2010, 8:13 am

Has anyone ever tried "non-buttox" driving with a ST for let's say about a week?

When I say non-buttox, keeping it in MANU mode (for those with trannies)

cruising with the A/C on

Shifting at 3,000 RPMs etc

Postby Hook » March 25th, 2010, 9:09 am

^^^ Why would anyone want to do that?

When I don't feel like braaaping down the place, I just rev slow and it shifts low. If it senses your throttle position and the rpm swings fast enough, THEN it'll shift higher.

It's automatic, dude, so let it do the work for you :idea:

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » March 25th, 2010, 10:07 am

werd /\

Supplier

Postby Supplier » March 25th, 2010, 11:57 am

Do any of u guys have a number for scar cocepts or address?I would really like to check them out

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 25th, 2010, 1:48 pm

^^7944264
Fiaz from scar concepts : good mechanic

Supplier

Postby Supplier » March 26th, 2010, 2:40 am

Thank u guys for all the help :D :D will give him a call.keep up the good work,man like hayden28,hook and josh dookie u guys have a lot of knowledge to share on this forum

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » March 26th, 2010, 6:38 pm

My car was done by Scarr Concepts, remember seeing it wen d work was being done, no probs since Rottedy had to now.. It took a while though, they really have alotta of experience in terms of 20valve, there dad however is the real Mech..! :wink:
Or supplier I jus like hook as well, I kinda grow up around 20valve powered cars so daz how I know, but tuner is mecca of free advice an invaluable info, browse the 20v maintenance thread, dig up in ur engine ask around man, you will get to learn bout ur car an engine :D

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » March 26th, 2010, 6:41 pm

or n I shift gears at 3000rpm wen I crusing to work or broke lol.. Car sips gas man, remember using a 1/4 tank a gas to work for a couple days lol..! Lol @ non buttocks driving fellas!

20v men WTK ASAP Injector question

Postby A172 » March 26th, 2010, 7:00 pm

aite fellas....clean ched here, need alyuh help

the stock 20v blacktop injectors....what type of feed and impedance are they?

thx in advance for the info

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 26th, 2010, 11:32 pm

side feed

Supplier

Postby Supplier » March 27th, 2010, 1:42 am

Thank u josh dookie will check it out,i should be in p town sometime next week would give those guys a call :)

KTS

Postby KTS » March 27th, 2010, 10:04 am

psycostud666

Postby psycostud666 » March 28th, 2010, 8:32 pm

haydn28, man I know you got the knowledge, I wanna get that pop between shifts but I don't always get it mostly happens between 1 and 2. Seen a levin get it on 1, 2, 3 and 4 and it was spittin blue out the exhaust. It looks awesome, how can I get mine like that. Also let me know if this damages anything too. I hav also seen a yellow AE80 doing that, I want that real badm do really care for speed too much these days, like my paintjob the way it is.

Postby Hook » March 28th, 2010, 9:29 pm

:lol: never thought I'd see the day when mankind wanna tune to pop...although the thread started with the OP asking about fuel economy lol 2nr is a strange place oui :lol:

Return to “TOYOTA”