1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 18th, 2006, 8:25 am

drdroutermaster wrote:I think I have stumbled upon the solution to my fuel economy woes :!: :!: :!:

I bought an original air filter, and I got 430 km from full to 1/4 tank remaining (1zz fe with 3zz fe ECU and Tranny).

I drove at speeds less than 120kph, like 115kph and accelerated gently. This never helped with the generic air filter.

I refilled to $115. That is $10 after the pump cliks. Will keep you guys posted as to my progress :wink:

Never would have thought changing your brand of drop in airfilter would have done so. The previous fiter was a new one? My mileage is with a drop in K&N.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » December 18th, 2006, 9:45 am

I have a k&n drop in too :cry: :cry:

art n motion

Postby art n motion » December 18th, 2006, 12:49 pm

OK guys, two questions
1. I have stock tyres on the car i.e. 185/65/14 and I want to buy new tyres, what size 14's should I go too ah find these kinda thin

2. I would like to know what type of coolant is recommended for the nze engines My mechanic says I should use the recommended one rather than any other ones

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » December 18th, 2006, 2:39 pm

Never would have thought changing your brand of drop in airfilter would have done so. The previous fiter was a new one? My mileage is with a drop in K&N.

I use 2 new generic air filters to replace the OEM that the car came with, and they make noe sence at all.

Irrespective of the cost I think I will only buy genuine TOYOTA parts from now on. :cry: :cry: :cry:

art n motion

Postby art n motion » December 18th, 2006, 10:26 pm

where did you get the OEM from and at what price :?:

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » December 19th, 2006, 7:31 am

where did you get the OEM from and at what price

I buy at TTTL, And I demand a discount. List price: $235 + VAT, I got it for a bit less, $212.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 19th, 2006, 8:15 am

K&N drop in = about $450. Thats only 2 OEM filters. The filter kit is about $80 and good for i doh know how many uses...muss be 10-15 with a drop in.

I find my throttle response is a lil bit better. i didn bother to dyno after just a drop in K&N. But Economics wise, i find its a good decision.

I already pay enough for them TTTL men christmas bonus already, they eh need more money from me.

art n motion

Postby art n motion » December 19th, 2006, 9:24 am

so it makes more sense to go with the K&N filter :?:
I already have a filter kit :!:

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » December 19th, 2006, 3:54 pm

I bought a CAI with a K&N cone filter when I had the 3zz engine, but I passed it on to someone with a 1zz as my throttle body was too small. :cry:

I may get back the pipe or use a drop in some day, but the guys at TTTL suggested I change my air filter so I did and it worked for me. :wink:

However, the drop in K&N is not working for SENTRAMAN :cry: :cry:

The big Mystry is his car is burning cleaner than mine, but consuming more fuel :cry: :cry:

Val

Postby Val » December 21st, 2006, 9:26 pm

513 kms on 38.3 litres (a little bit less than a full tank).

equating to roughly 32 mpg.

Mixed driving - city and highway.

Not too shabby considering I use the A/C all the time.

Sorry about your misfortune Sentraman

sentraman

Postby sentraman » January 10th, 2007, 7:35 pm

drdroutermaster whats the latest

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » January 10th, 2007, 7:56 pm

Happy new year to all :lol: :lol:

I still getting decent milage, so I would ease up any searching for mechanical parts. I turning my attention to the aesthetics of the car.

Found a rear windshield spoiler, fits at the top of the rear wind shield. Will slowly put together a flare kit.

What are you up to now?

sentraman

Postby sentraman » January 11th, 2007, 7:38 am

same bull new year :D I just realised I started this thread since Dec, 13th 2005. WAYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 11th, 2007, 9:54 am

Wott boi.......a whole year in the running! Good job folks on not letting the thread die.

Wagon running good thus far. I think i gonna try a set of IK20 densos this year yes. I have in some IK16s. Wha plugs u running drdroutermaster ? Mileage still in the close to 500km a tank. *senttraman muss be looking to stone me all now*. Real nze on the road yes :shock: ...the other day i was right behind and right next to two Fielder S. Fadda!

Have real work to do early this year tho........fricking windscreen need replacing.......AGAIN!. Muddersras JUSAMCO trucks! Need to rotate balance and align........flicking 225s! I think i gonna try some amsoil 15w40 oil next change. I think i also gonna bite the bullet and get some eyelids yes.....i have one 2004 smoked headlight and one 2001 smoked headlight......and it PISSING meh orf!! money money money!!!

art n motion

Postby art n motion » January 11th, 2007, 10:43 am

I think i gonna try a set of IK20 densos this year yes. I have in some IK16s. Wha plugs u running drdroutermaster ? Mileage still in the close to 500km a tank. *

Aye Sean can I use those on my car :?:
and btw, I getting closer to 700kms on a tank now :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
K&N filter month end :idea:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » January 11th, 2007, 2:13 pm

art n motion wrote:
I think i gonna try a set of IK20 densos this year yes. I have in some IK16s. Wha plugs u running drdroutermaster ? Mileage still in the close to 500km a tank. *

Aye Sean can I use those on my car :?:
and btw, I getting closer to 700kms on a tank now :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
K&N filter month end :idea:

what forkin sheit I reading here :x :x :x :x :x :

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 11th, 2007, 2:36 pm

^^see see......unrest in the natives!!!! :lol: :lol:

700 a tank eh.....boi that manual real sipping yes. I woulda say yuh lie.....but i pull off 600km once.....ROFL!

I think u can use the ik20s too.....tho the 1k16s are the recommended plug for the 1nz-fe.

art n motion

Postby art n motion » January 11th, 2007, 7:45 pm

^^thanx Sean :wink:

and for the non believers....I have a fuel consumption calculator that I use after each full up....so I have proof :lol:
and yes the manual sipping gas :wink:
I regularly get 600+kms with 3/4 tank of gas :!:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » January 12th, 2007, 3:05 pm

no offence eh but I HATE U :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » January 12th, 2007, 5:42 pm

I am running standard denso plugs, Will try IK16 on next change and I try not to run under 1/4 tank, but my milage indicator are generally around those that give me 430km with 1/4 tank remaining.

art n motion

Postby art n motion » January 15th, 2007, 1:02 pm

Ok...any body wants the car to buy...make me an irresistable offer nah :twisted:
with that kinda fuel consumption you getting a steal :mrgreen:

Val

Postby Val » January 15th, 2007, 2:10 pm

Fellas, they stealing the rearview mirror's glass now eh. It's just a snap on piece, easy to take off. Be careful out there, they stole mine already and when I checked Toyota for a pair, they said it's a common thing. Dunno if you all know or not, but I just say lemme tell you.

Pair of mirror glasses = approx $850

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 15th, 2007, 2:26 pm

^^yeah....thats because of the heated element behind the glass i think.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » January 15th, 2007, 2:26 pm

^that's why i start making a habit of closing in the mirrors after i got the primera one stolen in gulf city around august 2005

Val

Postby Val » January 15th, 2007, 2:30 pm

^^^ Mine is closed and opened manually, nothing to stop them from opening it and taking the glass out again. Worse yet, if it's the electrically retractable, they might just break out/pull out and damage your mirror and it'll end up costing you more in the long run.

art n motion

Postby art n motion » January 15th, 2007, 2:45 pm

^^my boss had his stolen from the car park on work here....his was a primera though....got it back for $60....lucky him :wink:
But I'll be on the look out...thanx guys :!:

linker

Postby linker » January 19th, 2007, 8:40 am

yeah well the rollas with the manual mirrors in trouble, me included.. the ppl who have th e retractable mirrors risking damaging the entire mirror.. glass at toyota is $340 + VAT.. the manual mirror is bout $1928 +VAT. i eh know bout the retractable... i hear that they stealing the covers and all from the mirrors.. we have to watch where we parking we cars....start walking with a mobile garage for we cars... :mrgreen: :lol:

Val

Postby Val » January 23rd, 2007, 11:30 am

Peeps with larger than stock rims on their rollas, any noticeable difference in performance and fuel economy?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 23rd, 2007, 12:03 pm

I only went up to 15s........but the performance better cause these weigh half as much as the stock steelies. Economy didnt change.

Change meh oil to Amsoil 10w40 this weekend. Lets see how it compares to the mobil10w30. Feels lighter......but yuh know how this butt dyno thing inaccurate. LOL!

BTW......checked my rear shoes......aint change them since i got the car in 2004. Yuh know....... those things still have reaaallll meat on them. But if you all interested u can get the rear shoes at Trinidad Brake and Clutch. Also....looks like the front EBCs gonna last about a year. :shock:

art n motion

Postby art n motion » January 23rd, 2007, 12:41 pm

Peeps with larger than stock rims on their rollas, any noticeable difference in performance and fuel economy?

was wondering the same thing :arrow: came stock with 185/65/14 and i wanted to go to 195/65/14 but was concerned about fuel economy :wink:
I'm changing the oil from Quaker to either Amsoil or Mobil or Redline on my next change. Also want to put in a K&N filter :idea: :mrgreen:

Return to “TOYOTA”