1.6 roro NZE corolla fuel economy *HELP*

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » November 8th, 2006, 8:11 am

LAWDDDDDD 285kms with 1\4 tank remaining :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :(

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » November 8th, 2006, 8:33 am

Perhaps you and all need a new ecu? You could try the IAT voltage thing eh? But i know you need a multimeter. I eh got one tho. :oops:

art n motion

Postby art n motion » November 8th, 2006, 8:56 am

sentraman wrote:LAWDDDDDD 285kms with 1\4 tank remaining :(

dam...what the hell you have under the hood :?: :shock:
man I getting 600km comfortably with AC on 80% of the times :wink:

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » November 8th, 2006, 9:13 am

art n motion wrote:
sentraman wrote:LAWDDDDDD 285kms with 1\4 tank remaining :(

dam...what the hell you have under the hood :?: :shock:
man I getting 600km comfortably with AC on 80% of the times :wink:

3zzfe compared to your 1nzfe. that was the purpose of this thread...to solve his bad mileage

Val

Postby Val » November 8th, 2006, 9:16 am

I done post the solution already. SR20!!! :lol:

art n motion

Postby art n motion » November 8th, 2006, 11:45 am

3zzfe compared to your 1nzfe. that was the purpose of this thread...to solve his bad mileage

sorry...but lots of ideas/solutions were given...has he tried them :?:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » November 8th, 2006, 1:06 pm

art n motion wrote:

sorry...but lots of ideas/solutions were given...has he tried them :?:

breds nothing working

sentraman

Postby sentraman » November 8th, 2006, 1:09 pm

only one person answered my call to swap MAF's for the week. Trying that now, not expecting much though....

I wonder where has a used 3zz ecu????

sentraman

Postby sentraman » November 8th, 2006, 1:51 pm

art n motion

Postby art n motion » November 8th, 2006, 1:56 pm

have you done a diagnostic on the car :?:
if not do it :!:
Also if you did what error codes came up :?:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » November 8th, 2006, 2:03 pm

I have done 4 diagnostic tests on the car at 4 different places. The last one done last week. Other checks were done to the exhaust and plugs as well with no signs of excess gas burning. Car burning good according to all checks.

all test show NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THE CAR......................

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » November 8th, 2006, 2:17 pm

boi art it kina hard eah but once you do it once you realise how easy it is , I sure takeing off the small clips to get at the fuel gauge assemble was pressure

inside my tank was really clean thanks to redline also and only filling up at quick shops

the strainer in mine was clean but the filter was real dutty reamber i cut meh blasted finger with the hacksaw to post up the pics :evil:

i like doing it , although i admit it not for the casual oil changer

i have to change spark plugs soon so fun fun fun , whats the proper NGK number for 1nz fe ? i bought some but they did not look like the denso i got from the firm

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » November 8th, 2006, 4:30 pm

NGK BKR5EYA
DENSO Iridium IK16

wagonX

Postby wagonX » November 9th, 2006, 8:13 am

I have a question/suggestion might sound weird but its worth a gander...

My friend just bought the new yaris from TTTL, and since she didnt want to pay a whole ton of extra money for the VVTI feature she got the non VVTI engine, same 1.3 just non VVTI, after that marketing blitz about the Yaris being so fuel efficent I wanted to see what she was getting a tank.

I was shocked to see that she only got 375 Kms a tank! And I'm not talking about gas indicator coming on, I'm talking about, Tank almost done (She shut down for gas once testing this) Specs: $120 premium, short to medium runs, AC most times, most time she is in the car by herself, stock music and she only weighs 115 lbs if so much (for the argument of added weight).

I am now wondering if some of the Vehicle suppliers in Japan/Singapore pull a fast one on Local dealers (or they are in on it too) by just putting on a VVTI cover on the engine and a VVTI badge and shipping in non VVTI engines in guise?

I know this sound like a conspiracy theory, but is there anyway to confirm that your engine is actually VVTI? Does Toyota make 1.5, 1.6 and 1.8 non VVTI engines?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » November 9th, 2006, 8:32 am

^^ :shock: :shock:

As far as i know all 1nz-fe are vvti, all 1zz-fe are vvti and all 3zz-fe are vvti. The engine design process was done with vvti in mind. I dunno bout the fraud part with the vvti cover. Its easy to figure out if you have vvti by checkin out the top of the head on the timing chain side.

That gas mileage shocking for a new yaris. Tell her send it back one time!!! But if its alot of short runs....i'm not surprised. Plus that new yaris weighs a ton! Did she change rims?

Now toyota do make non vvti lumps.....but not those engine codes.

The only thing we could think of with sentramans car is the IAT voltage off, the O2 sensor malfunctioning, or the ecu has the wrong maps for the 3zz. These would all give no error codes. And the best solution i can think is to test the car with a wideband and see if the ratios on par. Unfortunately non of us has a wideband.

Postby pete » November 9th, 2006, 8:48 am

I got 430km from a 1nz this week. Maybe if I was driving more conservatively it woulda been more :?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » November 9th, 2006, 9:56 am

wagonX wrote:I have a question/suggestion might sound weird but its worth a gander...

My friend just bought the new yaris from TTTL, and since she didnt want to pay a whole ton of extra money for the VVTI feature she got the non VVTI engine, same 1.3 just non VVTI, after that marketing blitz about the Yaris being so fuel efficent I wanted to see what she was getting a tank.

I was shocked to see that she only got 375 Kms a tank! And I'm not talking about gas indicator coming on, I'm talking about, Tank almost done (She shut down for gas once testing this) Specs: $120 premium, short to medium runs, AC most times, most time she is in the car by herself, stock music and she only weighs 115 lbs if so much (for the argument of added weight).

I am now wondering if some of the Vehicle suppliers in Japan/Singapore pull a fast one on Local dealers (or they are in on it too) by just putting on a VVTI cover on the engine and a VVTI badge and shipping in non VVTI engines in guise?

I know this sound like a conspiracy theory, but is there anyway to confirm that your engine is actually VVTI? Does Toyota make 1.5, 1.6 and 1.8 non VVTI engines?

all u have to do it look for the vvti solinod on the timing chain side of the engine to see it it does have vvt-i.......the 2nz is the only engine in the nz series that has vvti as an optional feature the 1nz comes standard with it (so does the 1zz and 3zz motors....the 2zz has VVTL-i not to sure about the 4zz...but its not like we would ever see that in out life (1.4l euro market). Dat gas milage sucks we have a 1999 yaris......exact same engine with 180k on it and my bro gets someting like ~500 on a tank. Have her carry it back there may be a fault sensor somewhere.

seanf3000 wrote:^^ :shock: :shock:

As far as i know all 1nz-fe are vvti, all 1zz-fe are vvti and all 3zz-fe are vvti. The engine design process was done with vvti in mind. I dunno bout the fraud part with the vvti cover. Its easy to figure out if you have vvti by checkin out the top of the head on the timing chain side.

yeah sean but the 2nz that comes with the yaris has 2 versions.....with vvti and without it. all u have to do it look for the vvti solinod on the timing chain side of the engine. We get the 2nz without vvti.....i dont know y cause that engine is usually sent to regions that still use leaded fuels

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » November 9th, 2006, 4:17 pm

I was wondering the same about the vvt-i, but thought u all had already confirmed that it does have vvt-i.

The Avensis sold locally apparently does not come with VVT-i in the 1AZ-FE, yet from what i understand, the Rav4 has the same engine, with VVT-i. They had no Avensis in the south showroom when I went last week, but there is one in north. If someone has time, or is going to service, can someone confirm this please.

Val

Postby Val » November 9th, 2006, 7:32 pm

Rav4 is definitely a VVT-i engine.

Since when were you a closet Toyota fan Flats?

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » November 9th, 2006, 7:34 pm

My query is for the local Avensis, not the Rav 4. There was no avensis in the south showroom for me to check. Saw the Rav4 though. I didn't know i was a closet Toyota fan ;)

Val

Postby Val » November 9th, 2006, 7:40 pm

http://www.toyota-trinidad.com/applicat ... les&id=322

That's the best I can do for you on Dial-up.

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » November 12th, 2006, 8:29 am

SeanF3000, armed with the tranny information you gave me, I swapped ECU with a 1zz fielder on Thursday :idea: My ECU tumbled that engine on first touch of the key, so my 1zz brain works :D

Found a U341E tranny on Friday :D :D :D Will have the swap done next weekend :wink:

Cant wait to feel this 1zz in its "natural habitat" uninhibitted by the captivity of a 3zz ECU :twisted: :twisted:

Will Keep you guys posted on Fuel Economy. I am now getting 310 - 340km from full to 1/4 tank of premium :wink: Better than my 3zz though :cry:

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » November 12th, 2006, 10:00 am

^^ RIP 3zz

sentraman

Postby sentraman » November 13th, 2006, 8:23 am

drdroutermaster wrote:SeanF3000, armed with the tranny information you gave me, I swapped ECU with a 1zz fielder on Thursday :idea: My ECU tumbled that engine on first touch of the key, so my 1zz brain works :D

Found a U341E tranny on Friday :D :D :D Will have the swap done next weekend :wink:

Cant wait to feel this 1zz in its "natural habitat" uninhibitted by the captivity of a 3zz ECU :twisted: :twisted:

Will Keep you guys posted on Fuel Economy. I am now getting 310 - 340km from full to 1/4 tank of premium :wink: Better than my 3zz though :cry:

WAYYY nice. Hope this is the answer to your prayers. Where u finding these parts boy????I wanna get another 3zz ecu to try.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » November 13th, 2006, 8:52 am

drdroutermaster wrote:SeanF3000, armed with the tranny information you gave me, I swapped ECU with a 1zz fielder on Thursday :idea: My ECU tumbled that engine on first touch of the key, so my 1zz brain works :D

Good stuff man.....glad to know you got those parts. Woulda figured a 1zz ecu and a u341E tranny would have been a lil hard to find but say what. All for the better.

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » November 13th, 2006, 5:54 pm

Some guys are just lucky :) others are blessed :wink: I lucky and blessed :D :D

My mech said if Idrop in the car Friday, I'll get it back by Saturday, so once this experiment works, I would have an A246E tranny for sale :mrgreen:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » November 18th, 2006, 9:28 am

OK after a good tuner (name not mentioned) finally answered my call to lend me a MAF for a week I managed to pull 370kms to a tank up from a struggling 300kms.

Thanks again buddy :D

art n motion

Postby art n motion » December 16th, 2006, 1:45 am

^^still way below what you should be getting :wink:

OK guys, two questions :arrow:
1. I have stock tyres on the car i.e. 185/65/14 and I want to buy new tyres, what size 14's should I go too :?: ah find these kinda thin :lol:

2. I would like to know what type of coolant is recommended for the nze engines :?: My mechanic says I should use the recommended one rather than any other ones :o

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » December 16th, 2006, 8:33 pm

I will email you my tyre size calculator, but the results I gotten are:
195 65 R14
205 65 R14
215 60 R14

About coolant, I use castrol antifreeze.

Cheek Chaguanas Auto Supplies. they have toyota fluids.
There is a Toyota specific coolant, but I don't know who have it locally.

drdroutermaster

Postby drdroutermaster » December 16th, 2006, 8:51 pm

I think I have stumbled upon the solution to my fuel economy woes :!: :!: :!:

I bought an original air filter, and I got 430 km from full to 1/4 tank remaining (1zz fe with 3zz fe ECU and Tranny).

I drove at speeds less than 120kph, like 115kph and accelerated gently. This never helped with the generic air filter.

I refilled to $115. That is $10 after the pump cliks. Will keep you guys posted as to my progress :wink:

Return to “TOYOTA”